We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Great John Street Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$134
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$122
US$112
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$97
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$184
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$95
US$92
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$76
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$127
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Manchester Upper Brook Street(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$55
Travelodge
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,400)
Filter reviews
1,400 results
Traveller rating
1,046
202
67
48
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,046
202
67
48
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terracehot tubafternoon teagrand roommezzanine flooroyster barroll top bathbathroom upstairslate availabilitysplit levelcoronation street setboutique hotelwedding venuegranada studiosbeautiful hotelsmall hotelmain bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
978 - 983 of 1,400 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This is one of the best small hotels I've stayed in in a while. The unfussy but luxurious rooms are wonderful and the hotels communal areas pleasant and relaxing. Nice roof terrace and hot tub :) Staff are professional but laid back and unfussy. This hotel has a lot to teach others. Plus how many hotels do you know would give you free toothpaste if you've forgotten yours?

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night in a King mezzanine room.
The room was just stunning with a roll top bath in the room and a great 'wet room' bathroom.
We had drinks and nibbles in the bar which were pricey but pleasant and breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We travel regularly to Manchester to visit family and friends and have therefore stayed and sampled the majority of hotels in central Manchester. There are undoubtedly some nice good quality hotels there and we’ve never had anything to complain about but after staying at Great John Street Hotel we won't be staying anywhere else in Manchester in the future!!!!!!

We stayed here for 4 nights at Eastser. THIS HOTEL IS OUTSTANDING AND IN A CLASS OF ITS OWN. We had the most awesome time. The rooms are to die for with stand free baths and over large beds with boutique style décor – they really are gorgeous!!! We were given handmade biscuits in our room which were delicious and our room had its own lounge area where we could relax and watch tv, read or listen to the radio.

The hotel bed was by far the most comfortable hotel bed we've ever slept in!!!!

We had afternoon tea in the roof top lounge with friends and spread was exceptionally impressive, mini hot cross buns, macaroons, fairy cakes, scones - all home made and they tasted fantastic. The atmosphere in the roof top lounge was relaxing and comfortable and the waiting staff were extremely attentive - what a wonderful way to spend time chatting to friends!!

One of our friends in Manchester has just had a baby so we are due to go back up again in a few weeks……….I will write a further review after this stay as we did not get a chance to eat dinner in the restaurant or drink in the bar in the evening. Am also hoping to sit outside next time on the roof top and might even get a chance to try the hot tub! (weather permitting)

Can't wait for our next vist!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We booked this hotel as a last minute as we were visiting Manchester. We don't live far away but we were off to Theatre (Rocky Horror) and decided to have a last minute night away. We were not disappointed!! This hotel was a fraction of the cost than usual and well worth the price. To be honest we wouldn't have paid the full amount as we couldn't justify spending the usual amount when we don't live far. However if travelling into Manchester for a special treat and you don't live here it is a true treat. The staff were helpful, friendly and informative. We stayed in room 27 and the room was of an excellent standard and on two levels. Large free standing bath, separate shower and great styling in bathroom, the style of the hotel was just our cup of tea. Modern boutique hotel with good standard, close to Opera House, Spinningfields, bars and restaurants. The hotel bar was relaxed, if a little expensive £12.00 for glass champagne, but worth the treat. The hotel had a nice relaxed quiet feel to it and it was great as not too loud, considering this is a city centre hotel. All in all would go again, wouldn't pay the usual price as we live too close but would recommend if you want to splash out!! by the way it has a roof top terrace and apparently a hot tub up there, unfortunately we didn't get chance to take a look.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I wanted to treat a very caring helpful friend to afternoon tea in Manchester and chose the Great John Street Hotel above the corporate Hotels - It really is a hidden gem - tucked away off Quay Street facing Granada Studios - being a Boutique Hotel it is cosy and intimate - the staff on arrival greetd us and took us to the Oyster Lounge and comy sofa seating. I had chosen one champagne afternoon tea and one afternoon - and the champagne was served quickly along with a huge pot of tea. Sandwiches were served similarly - egg mayonnaise, ham and mustard, beef and horseradish and smoked salmon and were very fresh - a cake stand had beautifully presented cakes - too many although we managed all - it was a lovely way to spend a couple of hours and was very relaxed with fresh tea provided on request. I will definately return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dizzylinzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews