We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great John Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Great John Street Hotel
Ranked #2 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Really enjoyed staying here - the staff were brilliant, attentive and friendly and the hotel is beautiful (especially the roof top garden and the accompanying hot tub!). Our room had a lovely bathroom and everything was fab. Got a room on late availability which meant it was quite cheap with all things considered; nice part of Manchester too!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahE456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    920
    174
    61
    44
    35
See reviews for
164
592
25
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

This hotel really is a little gem tucked away down a side street, the staff as soon as you walked in were so welcoming and carried on to be so throughout our stay. Our room was gorgeous,
immaculately clean and really was so beautifully designed, the bed was extremely comfy and one of the best nights sleep I've had in a long time :0) The breakfast was divine and they catered for vegetarians. And as for the roof terrace (the playground) it is a fantastic place to sit and watch the world go by and if you're a Coronation Street fan there is plenty of character spotting to be done! So all I can say is thank you to all the staff you made our stay amazing!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

We booked an Eclectic Grand Room for an overnight stay in Manchester. The hotel is compact but very impressive. The split level room is a really nice concept especially with the bathroom on the upper level with the double bath tubs. The bed was big and very comfortable and I liked the little touch of the cookies welcoming you to the room,

Drinks were priced as you'd expect in a city centre hotel of this standard. The bar food was OK but there was a very good selection at breakfast and the food was cooked to order.

A couple of very minor criticisms, but nothing that would prevent me returning.

The hotel was boiling hot, even the staff were suffering. Its an old building with what looked like original windows, so I'm sure there is a constant battle to manage the temperature. There is air con and the windows do open so there was the opportunity to make the environment in our the room cooler.

I'd say little more thought needs to be put in to the lighting arrangements for those of us who need to venture upstairs in the dead of night. The bright automatic lighting in the entry vestibule lights up the whole room so will disturb a sleeping partner. There was some low level lighting on the stairs that could have been left on if controlled by a separate switch and the ability to turn off the auto lighting in the vestibule would have been nice.

Overall a really nice stay and I wouldn't hesitate to book again. Special shout out to Christine who served in the bar and took care of us at breakfast - really nice lady with excellent customer focus

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grrrl_friday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Superb, stayed here on a Saturday night, brought some friends with us too. Stunning service, superb split level room, with the bathroom upstairs. Great breakfast. Lovely rooftop lounge and hot tub, would thoroughly reccomend to all. Ideal for city centre and all the attractions.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Retrospective Review

I have stayed here on several occasions and always find the staff to be incredibly friendly and attentive. The rooms are gorgeous and the bathrooms are lovely - for a hotel I find it very homely and luxurious at the same time! I especially like the split level rooms. I have never tried out the hot-tub on the roof but its a lovely extra touch!

Although it can bit a little pricey I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LJ676_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Stayed at the end of the year for a birthday gathering.

There were 7 of us in 3 rooms and we were all on the same floor. There was a wedding reception on the first night and a wedding on the second day but you wouldn't have known but for the hairstyles and the poster announcing the same.

We dropped our bags off and headed into town for some shopping and a drink at the top of Selfridges. We came back to the hotel to chill out and went into the bar area. We were extremely envious of the afternoon tea that was being served but this has to be pre-ordered so we had no chance! We went out to eat at an Italian fairly close by. When we came back we headed to the rooftop hot tub. This whole area is usually open to guests but the wedding was taking up half the area but was discreetly sectioned off. We took our fizz up and used the plastic cups provided. Had a great night up there listening to the wedding DJ!!

Breakfast in the morning was not as good as usual. There was clearly some tension among staff and I didn't dare ask for a warmer egg (it was almost cold) for fear of a similar look of daggers from the supervisor.

Apart from that it was a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clareabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
126 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

I had afternoon tea here with two friends, which was a very enjoyable and relaxing way to spend an afternoon.

Although arriving early, we were shown to the bar area, where we sat on very comfy sofas. The waiting staff were all professional, helpful and friendly. We were asked several times if everything was OK and if we'd like more sandwiches or tea. One friend had already e mailed our dietary requirements so that one vegetarian and two fussy eaters could be catered for! The sandwiches were good, the scones were scrumptious and there was a good selection of cakes. A number of different teas are available.

Just a few points that we all felt could be improved:

- It would be helpful to be told at the start about the tea selection and for the water to be
poured onto the tea bags. None of the staff was British, so may not have known how to make
tea the way British people like it, but the hotel training should ensure that they do.

- It would be a good idea to describe each of the cakes without customers having to ask.

- Customers should be given a drinks menu so that they are aware of what wines and soft
drinks are available rather than the waitress just saying what there is. I also think that
charging someone £1.50 for soda to go in an orange juice is excessive. Additionally, I would
expect consistency in the size of soft drinks served.

Despite these reservations, it was still a good experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariecurie_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,674 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#3 of 20 in Salford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great John Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great John Street Hotel

Property: Great John Street Hotel
Address: Great John Street, Manchester M3 4FD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#3 Family Hotel in Manchester
#3 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Great John Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a stone's throw from Manchester's most exclusive shopping areas, restaurants and theatres, this original Victorian school house has been transformed into a chic townhouse hotel with unique, individually designed bedrooms and suites alongside stylish lounges and Oyster Bar.The Old School House also boasts stunning entertainment rooms and features Manchester only Eclectic Roof Terrace available for exclusive use for your own tailor made event.Being madly eclectic, all of our rooms have a personality of their own, giving the guest a unique experience every visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Lastminute so you can book your Great John Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great John Street Manchester
Hotel Great John Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing