We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great interior design and very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great John Street Hotel
Ranked #2 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2013

loved the bar and downstairs restaurant - glamorous art deco style. Our room was two floors with a double ended bath and walk in shower on top floor. Very close to the shops as well. We attended a wedding on top floor terrace which has great views and a hot tub, if you fancy

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hammmondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

883 - 889 of 1,336 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2013

Loved this hotel, its super romantic. Can't fault anything, rooms were beautiful and full of thoughtful details. Staff were great, we even got a upgrade and chocolates in the room as it was my birthday. Would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juicylucy110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I stayed here in early May for business, fantastic rate on the room, great location and the rooms were stunning.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for business and leisure stays, one of the best hotels I have stayed in Manchester.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

Booked afternoon tea here rather than the usual Harvey Nic's because they have such great reviews and the gentlemens tea sounded ideal for our other halves!!
We were not disappointed and it was worth the money!!!
The food was amazing, the gentlemens afternoon tea is delicious as was our champagne tea! The rose wine served was very nice too!! We could have sat there Ll afternoon!!!
The location of the hotel is off the main drag so its lovely and quiet!
We will defo be back to stay here next time !!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank COrme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We had booked online for an anniversary treat afternoon tea. We were shown up to the sun terrace on the roof. The Manchester sun was actually shining brightly so it was lovely. The service and food were good. Nice range of sandwiches, cakes, scones and tea. Would recommend. Only downside was the price of cocktails which looked lovely but I declined due to price

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rubyrimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

A friend first told me about this fab little hotel hidden away just off Deansgate and it has become a home from home that you must go to and experience. A collection of fantastic rooms, amazing service, decor and moods in this unique building create a fantastic escape from it all - we have become 8 time veterans and have been so impressed I rented the rooftop and took my whole company as a Christmas treat and we are based 200 miles away! More so however this is a romantic hotel for couples so go unwind with a glass of wine and relax relax relax in this little jewel - website does not do it justice. Yours Trueduo

Room Tip: Get the Eclectic Grand room as a treat.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trueduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This was our second visit to the GJS hotel and it was just as good as the first. Price is very high her but I left it until a couple of week before and got the room for £107. The room was a baby grand which was beautiful. Lovely comfy bed, fantastic bath and shower on the mezzanine,huge fluffy towels, home made cookies in the room and lovely spa toiletries. If i had to grumble I would say that to charge nearly £300 at the normal price for a room i would expect free mineral water in the room not £5.50 in the mini bar. Also the toiletries were lovely but with a freestanding bath in the room why was there no bubble bath/oil.
All in all though we love this hotel, the service was excellent although we did not eat there so cannot comment on the food. We would certainly stay again but only if we could get the discounted rate again as our budget would not stretch to the full prices.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
681 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 120 in Manchester
1,381 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.6 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 120 in Manchester
1,370 reviews
0.8 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#9 of 120 in Manchester
1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great John Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great John Street Hotel

Address: Great John Street, Manchester M3 4FD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#3 Business Hotel in Manchester
#3 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £137 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Great John Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a stone's throw from Manchester's most exclusive shopping areas, restaurants and theatres, this original Victorian school house has been transformed into a chic townhouse hotel with unique, individually designed bedrooms and suites alongside stylish lounges and Oyster Bar.The Old School House also boasts stunning entertainment rooms and features Manchester only Eclectic Roof Terrace available for exclusive use for your own tailor made event.Being madly eclectic, all of our rooms have a personality of their own, giving the guest a unique experience every visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Great John Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great John Street Manchester
Hotel Great John Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing