We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Eve 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great John Street Hotel
Ranked #2 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Nice boutique hotel, Valet parking was £25 but could park outside hotel for free as Xmas Eve after 6 and free on Christmas day morning :). Although a lovely suite, would have been better to have the bed upstairs as opposed to the lounge being upstairs as the bedroom underneath felt very low down and compressed. Very comfy bed with a beautiful bathroom and roll top bath (middle taps so no tap end!) Excellent! and quality toiletries provided. The staff at the reception and the bar were extremely polite and helpful, offering to take our bags for us which was great as we had a lot of presents for each other (2 of us)! Had a great stay apart from in the morning we were told breakfast was served until 12 noon so we had a gorgeous lie in and ambled down for 11 only to be told that the kitchen may be shut. We went through and were told we could have breakfast but it definitely felt awkward like they didnt really want to as if they were doing us a favour by staying open which was really off putting and felt a bit uncomfortable. Having said that, the breakfast was extremely good quality and definitely worth it as it tasted very fresh, organic and high quality to match the hotel's reputation. We loved the radio playing beautiful choir classical Christmas songs on arrival. Upon departure, a lady on reception was truly warming and very much customer focused. Very attentive and chatty which sealed the trip for us for hospitality, especially since she had only been there for a few months, I think she is definitely an asset to the hotel for sure and should be recognised for her welcoming reception, even if it was upon checking out. I think her name was Natalie(?). Thank you for making our Christmas eve stay a memorable one and no doubt we will recommend and return ourselves during 2014 for future stays in the city centre. The hot tub was not on which was a disappointment nor the spa but we did manage to peek at the rooftop terrace bar which has a stunning panoramic skyline view over Manchester. I think this will be a stunning setting for us in Summertime to host our future drinks receptions and would recommend staying here for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michelle w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,324)
There are newer reviews for Great John Street Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

772 - 778 of 1,324 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

The G.J.S is a truly wonderful and unique, boutique hotel in the city centre. We held our office Christmas party here last weekend and it was our best party yet. The venue was perfect as it offered a more intimate and cosy setting unlike what you get in a big chain hotel and the decor is beautiful, it is more like being in a house than a hotel. There were only 25 of us at the party this year so we were allocated the dining room, the mezzanine and kitchen area which was ideal for the size of our party and it enabled us to seperate the dining for the dancing. There are many different sections to the hotel which are smaller/bigger so they are able to accomodate smaller/bigger parties too.

The food was very good, everyone enjoyed their meal and the Christmas menu offered was varied and different from the usual mundane food you are normally offered for a Christmas party. I ordered beef sirloin for main expecting that I would be given a couple of slices off a beef joint but I actually received a big piece of sirloin steak which was a nice surprise! The wine was fantastic, I would highly recommend the Pinotage, it really was sublime.

Although I did not stay at the hotel on this occasion, I have stayed at the hotel several times previously. The bedrooms are lovely, very luxurious and split over two levels with the bathroom upstairs, again it is like being at home. The beds are extremley comfortable and we always have a great night's sleep and the breakfast has always been very tasty. I would definitley choose to stay here when staying in Manchester.

Lastly, I have to make a mention to the staff who were excellent. They are all so accommodating and cannot do enough for you. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble and they were all so friendly and welcoming and very efficient. A big big thank you to the team for all your hard work and patience :-)

I would 100% recommend this hotel whether visiting on business or pleasure and I am very much looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stayed at Great John Street again and had another super stay. Valet car parking was a big help, and the Champagne was very tasty in the bar! Our room was the usual excellent standard with lovely high quality toiletries and a fabulous shower with two baths in the room, which we didn't use but only because we didn't have time. Location brilliant, really close to the centre, and décor trendy and well thought out. The radio was turned on for our arrival into our room which I thought a lovely touch and showed great attention to detail.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldLodgeOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

booked afternoon tea for my mum’s birthday with my sisters and daughter, five of us in total. We were seated in the Oyster Bar which is just stunning. Rita from Corrie was there and Jeremy Kyle was on the table next to us! Wow!! We were then treated to the most amazing array of cakes and biscuits after a great selection of finger sandwiches. My dietary requests were delivered discretely and we all felt that the service was relaxed and friendly but if we wanted someone the waitress was there. We were treated to a complimentary glass of champagne each when they realised it was mum’s birthday, what a lovely touch! The whole day was fantastic, the food, the service and the venue. For under £100, 5 of us had a wonderful day. Great value !

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siennaLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Fantastic boutique hotel in the city centre. Well actually right by the Coronation Street set. Stayed in a suite which was very spacious and eclectic. Big windows allowing in lots of light. Two big freestanding baths in the upstairs bathroom plus shower room. Cosy ground floor bar; breakfast on mezzanine level was fine; cool rooftop bar. Very friendly staff which really made my stay a memorable one. Definitely the best hotel in Manchester in my book.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdamameLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

my partner had to go to manchester for business so we all decided to go (me and 2 kids under 5) was stunned with the room it was amazing,
they set our room up lovely ..huge like a little apartment...decor was sooo amazing, very modern but homely and warm. also the hotel appeared to upgrade our room for free which was lovely of them.we didnt use any of the functions rooms ect as there was a few party's going on. but room service and reception was great. all in all i loved this hotel and if im ever in manchester again i will 100% choose to stay here again. they even let me order food to the hotel from outside as i have 2 very fussy eating kids!! the breakfast menus are great and the hotel would be great for a romantic getaway, but just as great with the family. location in amazing practically in the center. prices are good to
would 100% say if you are going to stay in manchester this is the place to stay :)

Room Tip: if you are traveling with small children the opus room is the best...as they are spacious
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kay k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We love this hotel. We held our party for 95 people on Sunday afternoon, 8 December.and the whole event was wonderful. The staff were great, the afternoon tea was elaborate and yummy, the tables were set with mismatched china and three tier silver cake stands, all adding to the sophistication of the occasion. The hotel has a warm and intimate atmosphere which everyone who attended commented on. The whole thing was better than we had anticipated. Everybody needs to visit this place - they will return time after time. Thank you all at Great John Street Hotel for a fantastic experience..

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Battybigbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
659 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 120 in Manchester
1,356 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 120 in Manchester
5,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.6 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 120 in Manchester
1,362 reviews
0.8 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#9 of 120 in Manchester
1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great John Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great John Street Hotel

Address: Great John Street, Manchester M3 4FD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#3 Business Hotel in Manchester
#3 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £160 - £358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Great John Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a stone's throw from Manchester's most exclusive shopping areas, restaurants and theatres, this original Victorian school house has been transformed into a chic townhouse hotel with unique, individually designed bedrooms and suites alongside stylish lounges and Oyster Bar.The Old School House also boasts stunning entertainment rooms and features Manchester only Eclectic Roof Terrace available for exclusive use for your own tailor made event.Being madly eclectic, all of our rooms have a personality of their own, giving the guest a unique experience every visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Great John Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great John Street Manchester
Hotel Great John Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing