We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Great John Street Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pad Hotel(Manchester)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Midland(Manchester)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,406)
Filter reviews
1,406 results
Traveller rating
1,052
202
67
48
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,052
202
67
48
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terracehot tubafternoon teagrand roommezzanine flooroyster barroll top bathbathroom upstairslate availabilitysplit levelcoronation street setboutique hotelwedding venuegranada studiosbeautiful hotelsmall hotelmain bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
831 - 836 of 1,406 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Had a wonderful stay here in a beautiful room with excellent service and a peaceful yet central location. The breakfast was extremely good. The room was really hot in the morning and the air conditioning unit was ineffective (essentially not working). It was so hot it was dificult to put make up on without it melting off. Mentioned it to the reception who agreed it gets hot in the rooms but they blanked our comments that the air conditioning was faulty. Obviously it's not the first time they have been told that. I feel sorry for the people who get the room after us as we did try to get it put right so it would not be necessary to stand at the open window gasping for air! Not good for £200 a night. That said it didn't spoil our stay and I would go back - but I would check the air con was working before I accepted the room in future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Looking for a night of romantic luxury to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary (and first without our daughter in tow) we booked a Michelin Star restaurant and the Opus Grand Suite at GJS.
We were not disappointed.
Fantastic duplex room, with a bath in the bedroom on the upstairs level, and a large lounge area and beautiful bathroom on the downstairs level.
The whole hotel was beautifully appointed, dominated by original building features, but all with a modern twist. Small touches made all the difference, rose petals on the bed, chocolates with greeting piped in icing, etc.
Roof terrace is stunning - wish we'd used it earlier in our stay, a real haven away from the world.
Staff were similarly outstanding, friendly and attentive but not visible when not 'needed'.
A real and genuine boutique, individual, very personal hotel.
Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: Take a drink in the top floor lounge AND the outdoor 'playground' roof terrace.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryC2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

we stay in hotels at least once a month all over the UK, however, we have never stayed in a hotel as fantstaic as The Great John Street.

The staff are fantastic, the food is gorgeous and the room was just incredible. From the second we walked through the front door we were greated with warm, friendly staff who could not do enough for us. The room was just gorgeous, we usually stay in the suites in The Midland, The Hilton or the Crowne Plaza but never have we ever had a room as stunning as this (classical grand suite).

It's the little touches that made it unlike any other, such as the fabulous homemade biscuits.

The room was SPOTLESS and coming from someone who has OCD this is a big compliment.

i just wanted to congratulate you on the fantastic service, staff and food of your hotel.

Room Tip: all rooms are fantastic apparently, we met a few couples there and everyone raved
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Very stylish hotel with beautiful clean rooms.My partner had organised a surprise weekend away which i was very excited about and thanks to this hotel it made our weekend just perfect. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Almost felt at home. Would recommend to anyone for any occasion! Thank you for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LillyFlower2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Really impressed with this quirky, centrally situated, hotel. All the staff were so incredibly friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful. Room was excellent. Didn't have an evening meal at the hotel only a drink before heading out for the night. Had continental breakfast which really was 'just right'. Not often I would think about going back to a hotel for the second time but I would certainly stay here again. Might be an idea to show all the rooms on the web site (apologies if you are now doing this)

Room Tip: They are all different rooms and when I looked the individual rooms were not shown on the web site.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pablo1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews