We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great John Street Hotel
Ranked #2 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed here for a romantic weekend; Great place friendly staff and cozy bed. Will recommend this to all my friends. The Food menu can be improved on with a few more dishes to be aded however the general food was good

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simond d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    933
    177
    61
    44
    35
See reviews for
173
593
25
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Fabulous location close to Museum of Science and Industry, and Coronation Street tour, and within easy reach of the Castlefield metro station. We loved the rooms, and had the most comfortable bed imaginable. We always find hotel rooms hot, and this was no exception, although thankfully the duvet wasn't overwhelmingly heavy.

Unlike an earlier reviewer, we had planned to breakfast elsewhere, but the last minute changed our minds and thought the breakfast fine (and it lasted us all day). Yes, the orange juice was a little 'sharp' so probably not freshly squeezed, but the fresh fruit was great, and I really enjoyed my eggs benedict. While coffee is unlimited, you have to ask for it - a pet hate of mine; I'd prefer a cafetierre on the table so I can help myself when I want. That said, the coffee was awful - very strong, bitter and quite unpalatable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Unique hotel. Great rooms (although hot) and superbly comfy beds. Characterful bar and memorable rooftop garden. Everything was as I would expect from an absolutely top quality boutique hotel, except for breakfast. This was let down by an utterly charmless waitress, low quality ingredients (not freshly squeezed orange juice, cheap toast) and minimalist portions (one v small mushroom on the £16.95 cooked breakfast?). Advice: stay here but have breakfast at Starbucks.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller3042914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan E, General Manager at Great John Street Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your review. I am sorry you did not enjoy our breakfast, one which holds a reputation as being amongst the best in Manchester as testified by many reviewers on this site. Unfortunately, your experience coincided with a transition in suppliers and several of our regular ingredients were temporarily unavailable. This situation is now rectified and I am certain that should you return, your opinion will be very different.

Kind regards,

Dan Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Perfect hotel.... Great room.... Can't fault anything... We loved every thing about it we couldn't fault anything... Beautiful room, spotless clean... Gorgeous guest lounges.... Roof terrace everything was amazing made a great birthday treat for my husband..

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarissabadonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at Great John Street around 5 times now, having lived in Manchester for a few years we are familiar with the city so know the location well.

This beautiful, original boutique hotel is the best hotel in Manchester!

A little pricy but worth the money, quirky and fabulous - recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We loved this place. It's a conversion of a ?Victorian triple-decker school (in London you'd maybe guess LCC or LSB or something) which has cleverly and sympathetically been turned into a lovely, chic and quirky hotel.

If you ever went to or worked in a school like this you need to see this place!

Making a virtue of necessity, the vast height of the classrooms is absorbed by giving the bedrooms a mezzanine floor with the bathroom, including a massive and magnificent walk-in shower. This made for a truly interesting and pleasant room.

The public spaces are fantastic. The main bar is in what I guess was the downstairs hall and it has a beautiful mezzanine where we had a very fine breakfast - we can strongly recommend the Eggs Benedict. Upstairs, on the roof, is the "playground" with lots of lovely sofas and a small bar. Oh and a hot tub too.

The location is great - close to the centre, and surrounded by all sorts of nice museum and heritagey, canally stuff. A good corner of Manchester.

The finishing touch to our comfortable and happy stay was provided by the very pleasant, helpful staff.

A great place.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vogel421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We had our wedding at GJS Hotel in March 2014 and cannot rate the venue or staff highly enough. This is a lovely boutique hotel, the perfect venue for a chic and intimate event. Everything was done to make the day as stress free and enjoyable as possible. Bronwen, the wedding coordinator was very efficient, professional and reassuring and organised everything effortlessly. On the day event manager Francesco and his team were amazing, welcoming our guests, putting them (and us!) at ease and engineering the whole day seamlessly. The food was of very high quality which many of our guests commented on - definitely recommend the trio of desserts!. We were blessed by a beautiful sunny afternoon which meant the roof terrace with its amazing views of Manchester was absolutely perfect!
Friends and family who stayed at the hotel all loved the quirky, unobtrusive ambiance - and had a good nights sleep.
Thank you to all the staff, Bronwen and Francesco in particular for making this such a wonderful wedding.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare0314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,731 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#8 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#3 of 20 in Salford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great John Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great John Street Hotel

Property: Great John Street Hotel
Address: Great John Street, Manchester M3 4FD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#3 Business Hotel in Manchester
#3 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Great John Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a stone's throw from Manchester's most exclusive shopping areas, restaurants and theatres, this original Victorian school house has been transformed into a chic townhouse hotel with unique, individually designed bedrooms and suites alongside stylish lounges and Oyster Bar.The Old School House also boasts stunning entertainment rooms and features Manchester only Eclectic Roof Terrace available for exclusive use for your own tailor made event.Being madly eclectic, all of our rooms have a personality of their own, giving the guest a unique experience every visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Great John Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great John Street Manchester
Hotel Great John Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing