We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great John Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Great John Street Hotel
Ranked #2 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2009

I booked the Great John St hotel having already stayed at their sister hotel, Didsbury House.I did a late booking for my birthday and am so glad I did. The service was excellent, with everyone being friendly, polite and helpful.I got an excellent late deal including breakfast and even got a complimentary upgrade. They even left a birthday card left in my room on arrival! The food (breakfast and room service) was delicious. The room was lovely with a roll top bath in the bedroom itself and a wetroom as well. After an evening out we returned to the hotel for cocktails in the beatiful Oyster bar. We are already planning our next stay!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank younglyndsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    920
    174
    61
    44
    35
See reviews for
164
592
25
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2009

Organised this for my boyfriend and I as a belated Valentine night. We were not disappointed!

Our bedroom was on a mezzanine floor with a huge bed, roll top bath (yes in the room!), plasma TV, CD player, mini bar and refreshment making facilities.

There was an ensuite bathroom, which had a lovely traditional “rainwater” walkin power shower.

In the mini bar along side the wines, beer nibbles etc was a complementary bottle of fresh milk, which was a nice touch.

We had dinner at a near by restaurant but came back to the hotel for some drinks at the well stocked bar, which has a lovely atmosphere. Disappointed there was no draught beer!

The breakfast was delicious and there was lots of choice – good to see free range eggs are used at the GJS!

There is valet parking available but we parked in a regular car park in the city. You can drop off and/or leave your bags at reception on check in/out day until you wish to collect them.

If you venture on to the roof in your robe as supplied by the hotel, you can view the city including the famous cobbles of that well known soap Coronation Street, whilst taking a plunge in the 'hot tub'!

The staff are very friendly and welcoming. We will try the afternoon tea next time, as it will not disappoint if the breakfast was anything to go by!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SophiePaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2009

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for a romantic night away - it was heavenly! Friendly, incredibly polite staff who couldn't do enough to help. Gorgeous room with lots of added extras - cds and dvds available in reception to use in room.
The wine selection in the bar was great, and breakfast was delicious as well.
Thoroughly recommend it - we will be returning!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilmisspurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2009

Booked the Great John Street Hotel for my girlfriends birthday, it was recommended to me by my Sister's Boyfriend. He told me to look at the website for the hotel and by looking at how nice it is and off how much he and my sister enjoyed their stay a few years ago i would not be disappointed.

We stayed for one night on a Sunday, the hotel staff could not do enough for us. So helpful and really made us feel welcome. On check in our room was upgraded for us without asking, we where thrilled with this and the room was amazing!

Huge bed that felt like a marshmallow, so comfortable. Plasma screen TV with built in DVD player and a CD/Radio player where in the room. The bathroom was my personal favourite part of our stay, massive roll top bath, had run it and was in it within 5 minutes of first entering the room! walk in wet room shower aswell, plenty of clean towels where provided.

Breakfast was included with our booking, this was delicious aswell.

I would highly recommend the Great John Street Hotel to anyone staying in Manchester, it is only a matter of time before i have to stay again!!!

  • Liked — Everything, could not fault anything
  • Disliked — Could not fault anything
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Matty-G84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2009

We decided to stay here to celebrate our wedding anniversary and were not disappointed. We got upgraded on arrival and put into a fabulous room, with double baths. The Oyster bar was very welcoming and served lovely cocktails. Breakfast was plentiful and relaxing. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Liked — Fabulous Boutique Hotel
  • Disliked — Nothing!!!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyof4Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2009

Booked a night's stay for just after Christmas for a birthday treat. We took our two young children and were upgraded on arrival. It is a small hotel but we probably only saw 5 people during our stay and none at breakfast, which does add to the boutique feel. Room was on ground floor with a hallway and stairs up to the main room. Room was very big and the bed was huge so we only needed a further bed. There was a bath in the bedroom and you could watch the tv from the bath. It was totally relaxing.

Breakfast was nice and included buffet and full English.

We have stayed at this hotel before and it does feel like a little private place. We have still not ventured up to the hot tub but maybe next time.

If you want to relax, this is the place.

It is also close town and Deansgate.

  • Liked — The size of the room and the bath.
  • Disliked — No biscuits in the room
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clareabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
112 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2009

Just returned from a last-minute getaway at the GJS. This is a beautiful hotel. The public areas and cocktail bar are very inviting and the rooms (we stayed in room 25 which was a split level suite) are superb. Downstairs there was a very pleasant sitting area with sofa, armchair and TV/DVD/HiFi system etc. Upstairs there was a king-sized bed (very comfy) and a bathroom with a roll-top bath (with plenty of room for two) and a walk-in shower. All tastefully decorated and well presented. The roof-top hot-tub is a great way to relax - although the camera pointing directly at it was a little disturbing!

The only issue that we had was noise. The wooden stairs that connect the parts of the duplex from adjoining rooms are very noisy and the soundproofing in the rooms is non-existent. There is not much you can do about being woken up by the couple next door having an argument at 3am in the morning, but also to hear every slight movement of those around you is quite off-putting.

Breakfast is served in the mezzanine about the cocktail lounge and it was very good. Overall, we had a great stay and could be tempted back if the noise issues can be sorted out.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,675 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#3 of 20 in Salford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great John Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great John Street Hotel

Property: Great John Street Hotel
Address: Great John Street, Manchester M3 4FD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#3 Business Hotel in Manchester
#3 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Great John Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a stone's throw from Manchester's most exclusive shopping areas, restaurants and theatres, this original Victorian school house has been transformed into a chic townhouse hotel with unique, individually designed bedrooms and suites alongside stylish lounges and Oyster Bar.The Old School House also boasts stunning entertainment rooms and features Manchester only Eclectic Roof Terrace available for exclusive use for your own tailor made event.Being madly eclectic, all of our rooms have a personality of their own, giving the guest a unique experience every visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Great John Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great John Street Manchester
Hotel Great John Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing