We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great John Street Hotel
Ranked #2 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2010

We splashed out and booked the Opus Grand Suite. We were not disappointed at all during our 2 night weekend stay.
The staff were friendly and attentive. The room was perfect, romantic, clean and comfortable.
We enjoyed use of the hot tub and were lucky enough to have it to ourselves.
The breakfast was fantastic. We would love to stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvfoodantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,325)
There are newer reviews for Great John Street Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,161 - 1,167 of 1,325 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2010

Stayed here with my Wife for 1 night on a Friday last Month, when we arrived we where not shown to the suite, when we got in the suite another suitcase was already in there so they moved it, the suite was average with a mezanine bathroom, quality of furniture wasnt very good, hifi was broken for instance. breakfast was ok but not cheap, what i didnt like was having to pay £25 to park my car in the car park,

Would i return, i may, but i think i would try other places first given we paid a total of £250 for 1 night.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

i have stayed in this hotel many times it is just luxury in every way, all rooms are very individual many duplex with monsoon showers and roll top baths, fabulous for a little romance or buisness, the bars are very well stocked with all specialist bourbons and vodkas etc. They are also very good at the little touches personal messages on my pillow on arrival etc, if you like hotels such as hotel du vin you will adore it!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotoelsnobandproud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

We held our wedding here , over 2 days in early March. Every single detail was handled perfectly by the hotel. From planning 12 months in advance, all the way up to the big event. We stayed in the Opus Grand suite, which quite simply was gorgeous. All of our friends that stayed on the the first night were thrilled. It really is a hidden gem in Manchester! Our big celebration was on the Saturday night and again, nothing was overlooked. The ONLY negative was adding a service charge to each and every drink bought from the bar. With about 150 people in the main bar and most buying several drinks, it was a little bit embarassing when friends raised this with us. It's not a cheap place but it definitely offers something different and special. The staff come from a number of different backgrounds and all are charming and friendly. I see other comments regarding them not being 'chatty'. They were fine with us and I could only see it being a language barrier. They really could do no more for us!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

Stayed here in 10th April in room 38. We booked on the 9th last minute. I had seen this hotel before and thought it would be nice to stay. The hotel is very well kept and is plush and very different.

The down side is that I could hear every word that was being said next door to the point where I could have joined in the conversation. I tried to have a shower at 7.30 pm and the water was tepid. I filled the bath and fancied a soak in the role top bath but because it was metal, it was freezing therefore the soak was out. We had the air con on when we went to bed as the room was very warm and stuffy but every 30 seconds there was a droaning noise coming from it. It took a while to find out where the noise was coming from but we assumed it was the air con. My hubby switched it off but the droan continued. He rang reception and a man there knew immediately what to do and he somehow turned the air con off at the mains without even coming to our room. It was obvious that this is a regular complaint. The only problem with this is that we now had no air con and the room so we were hot all night.

This hotel rates itself 4 star. If it sorts out the above then I agree it could be four star. I should have stayed at the Crown Plaza which was my secod choice with the same rating, £10.00 cheaper with breakfast included. I won't be going back the Great John Street Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulaLittleborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

This is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. Our room was unique and everything in it was of the highest quality. The staff were exceptionally friendly and attentive. I cannot fault anything about this hotel and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank speakout014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

this hotel is a beautiful boutique hotel ideally located with lovely and unique rooms with great features. only two faults, 25 quid to park my car round the corner!! come on, i know i could park elsewhere but for the price of the place free parking would be a nice touch!! secondly the staff are dull as dishwater!! im irish and i like a bit of banter but the staff are like cardboard!! oh well maybe they just didnt like my craic, not to worry!!

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kpyoink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
661 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 120 in Manchester
1,359 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 120 in Manchester
5,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.6 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#5 of 120 in Manchester
1,362 reviews
0.8 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#9 of 120 in Manchester
1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great John Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great John Street Hotel

Address: Great John Street, Manchester M3 4FD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#3 Business Hotel in Manchester
#3 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £162 - £358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Great John Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a stone's throw from Manchester's most exclusive shopping areas, restaurants and theatres, this original Victorian school house has been transformed into a chic townhouse hotel with unique, individually designed bedrooms and suites alongside stylish lounges and Oyster Bar.The Old School House also boasts stunning entertainment rooms and features Manchester only Eclectic Roof Terrace available for exclusive use for your own tailor made event.Being madly eclectic, all of our rooms have a personality of their own, giving the guest a unique experience every visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Great John Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great John Street Manchester
Hotel Great John Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing