We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Everything we needed for our stay.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 197 Yew Tree Road

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
39 reviews
Code controlled access to secure car park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Manchester, Greater Manchester, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Robert H
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Everything we needed for our stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Perfect for what we needed as daughter racing at Manchester velodrome all week. Communication with the owner Alistair was always responded to quickly.
Everything we needed was available.
Thanks!

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJV444
Montevideo, Uruguay
1 review
“Very nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The home is very suitable for four people. It is comfortable, and the kitchen was well stocked with all the needed items for us to make our own dinners when we wanted. We are walkers, so the 10 minute walk to the Oxford Road area was no problem for us, and we could leave the car in the nice, secure parking lot. The neighbors were friendly also, something we weren't expecting.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pvblivs
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Great for a short stay in Manchester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We were at the place for a short week with our 2-year-old son because my wife had a training near the airport. So we wanted to have the airport and the city center in reach. Both were reachable within ca. 30 min, the city center especially easy with the 111 bus every 10 minutes.

The house is equipped with modern furniture, has a dish washer, a washing machine and a dryer. The bathing rooms and especially the shower were modern and nice. There are two sleeping rooms, one with a double-bed and one with two singles. Our son was sleeping with us, so the bed was a little bit small with only about 4 feet and 7 inches (1.4m). But it worked.
The house is a little bit aside Yew Tree Road so the traffic doesn't disturb much at night if you like open windows. But if the wind comes from the east some of the planes from Manchester airport are turning over the place quite low during their start. It was ok for us, though.

If you want to go shopping you have to take the taxi or a 15min walk. There are two big supermarkets nigh that stay open long.

We loved to stay there.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zamanmaji...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“It was really great staying here!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

To be honest, I have stayed at few other residential apartments but this was best of the lot. Neat and clean!! Getting there looks a bit tricky but it is not at all. Book this with confidence and enjoy your stay in Manchester!!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanley D
1 review
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We had a lovely stay at Yew Tree Road. The house was well decorated, clean and well equipped. Easy access to bus routes. A bit of a walk to nearest Grocery Store.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahareen...
Batu Pahat, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I travelled recently to Manchester with my husband and 2 sons to visit our daughter. We were indeed very fortunate to have found 197 Yew Tree Road. Thanks to the clear directions from the landlord, Alastair, the taxi driver found the house quite easily, which is about 20 minutes from the Manchester Airport. The house itself is an immaculately kept terrace house, complete with a well fitted kitchen. I cooked a great deal, even having our daughter's university friends over for dinner one night. A lot of family chatter took place in that kitchen too. Getting to the city center was very easy too, with the bus stop a 2-minute (at most) walk from the house when you exit using the side gate. The 111 bus takes you straight to Piccadilly Gardens, where the main shopping area and bus station are. The train station is about a 10 minute walk from Gardens.
My elder son and I even managed to get some morning exercise in, either walking/running in the neighbourhood or at the Platt Fields Park, which is about a 10 minute walk from the house.
At the end of our stay, as we drove away to the airport, our younger son (aged 11) remarked that he would miss the house. He is absolutely right. To this day, we still speak very fondly of our stay at the house and look forward to returning to it on our next visit to Manchester. And why not? It was, after all, our home away from home.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The ambience, very homey & cosy.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim L
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great vacation home and good value in Manchester”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We stayed at the house with a toddler and 3 adults. The house was great and all supplies that you need are already there. Any problem you would have the landlord is just around the corner and will help immediately. There is a supermarket and gas station just around the corner for the all necessary supplies that you would need. Public transportation connection to the city is quick via the 111 bus that leaves in front of the house.

I would rent the house again when family comes to visit. Save location and very quiet.


We did have a problem with the heating but that may have been caused by accidentally switching off the boiler in the kitchen. The owner promised to take care of the problem by changing the switch.

All in all great stay in a cosy, beautiful house.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The value for money.
Liked least: The heating.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$136
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing