We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel
Ranked #33 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Central but noisy”
Reviewed 20 May 2011

The reception staff were very friendly, but the housekeeping did not service our room on the first morning. Enquired at the front desk as to why and was informed that all housekeeping staff had gone home. The hotel is placed on a very busy road so noise continued all night. The room was hot as no air conditioning, small fans were provided to cool - but to little effect.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaMJ51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2011
Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and we guarantee this. We do sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured that all your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to meet all our customer’s needs. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    825
    611
    167
    57
    36
See reviews for
373
644
67
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Stayed here for a hen night. Check in staff very helpful & friendly. Bar staff ok. Taxi to our restaurant on deansgate cost between £8-£13 depending on which driver you get. Rooms clean & comfortable. Only 1 bath towel in a room booked for 2. Had to collect another from reception. Good location if you don't want to be central. A good 15-20 minute walk to Arndale centre & surrounding shops. Breakfast good value for money. Costa coffee machine nice bonus.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FUZZYPOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

the staff at the hotel welcomed us and continued to be friendly throughout our stay, a little slow at cleaning the coffee machine when we were waiting for drinks.beds clean and comfortable. fully occupied due to the marathon i guess but surprisingly peaceful, breakfast is decent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rouge88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

In my opinion, a premier Inn is a premier inn...there's not much between them! This one was relatively centrally located - took us a wee bit of time to find the place, but when we did it was nice. Looks out onto a building site so not hugely attractive views and its next to quite a busy road, so it was a bit noisy. The room was very hot, so I didnt sleep great. Restaurant is quite nice - quick service. For my purposes it was more than adequate

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellowkipling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

I stayed at this hotel with my wife over the May bank holiday weekend. After travelling from North Wales it was very convenient to find that the motorway eventually lead directly to the street outside the hotel so finding it couldn't be easier. The main reason we picked this hotel over some others a few minutes closer to Manchester city centre was that it offerred free surface parking. While things got very busy on Saturday this was very convenient when we didn't plan to move the car a lot. There appears to be plenty of all day €£5 car parks around but other hotel carparks might cost more and may have capacity issues. Its an easy walk to Manchester city shopping areas and there is a free city shuttle bus that passes the hotel on a circuit of the main areas if the shopping gets too heavy.

The hotel itself is a multi-storey building that does appear in need of updating in parts. The narrow corridors and fire doors show its age. However, the rooms themselves are clean and reasonably spacious. The beds are very comfortable. However the biggest drawback of this hotel is the traffic on the road past the hotel. On at least two nights we found it difficult to sleep. The problem might be removed if the sound was insulated better but unfortunately the windows weren't up to the job at all and could probably do with being upgraded. Perhaps a room facing the carpark might be quieter. One other point to note is that our room wasn't airconditioned. This wasn't a huge problem in May but it might be in high summer unless the room is air-conditioned.

We got our first night for £29 which is a bargain. Overall the hotel was good value for a weekend. The hotel breakfast is worth getting with plenty of hot and cold options. There is also a bar on site. We found all staff very friendly especially on reception and at breakfast, maybe the royal wedding put everyone in a good mood. There was no problem combining bookings from two different websites to stay in the same room.

As for Manchester I'd recommend the museum of science and industry (MOSI). Its free and kids and adults alike will enjoy the exhibits including old railcars and aircraft (its on the site of a former railway station).

For anyone travelling from Ireland, this hotel is about 2 hours driving time from Holyhead.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dfenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
238 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

I have stayed in this hotel several times now. The staff are so welcoming it is hard to believe - from the manager to the cleaners! It is within easy walking distance of most city centre locations, and has great car parking which is free. As well as being comfortable, it is remarkably quiet as well - I've never been disturbed even staying on a weekend when there has been plenty of evidence of hen parties and the likes. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theologyprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Close to the center of the town about 10 Min's and a nice walk too.
Staff all very helpful all the time.
Only had breakfast but all you can eat..cannot go wrong!
Room a little warm some nights but after that winter who cares.
If ever back to Manchester will be my only choice of hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trooper007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
0.5 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel
Address: Medlock Street, Manchester M15 5FJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Manchester
#11 Best Value Hotel in Manchester
#13 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#16 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated close to Old Trafford and just a short walk to main attractions and transport. Ideally positioned next to the free 7 day city centre shuttle bus service. Our Manchester (Deansgate Locks) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect - incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel Manchester
Premier Travel Inn Manchester
Manchester Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing