We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location for the price, but nothing special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel
Ranked #30 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location for the price, but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

I rented this room with my partner for a romantic getaway 'in the city'. The room was drab, too small, old fashioned in furnishings, not well lit, without any specialties except tea and coffee. The TV channels were minimal but okay. No CNN. The BBC basic channels. The bathroom was small and cramped. Staying IN the hotel was not a luxury in any way or shape. This is a hotel for students or cheap travelers. Unlike the Premier Inn at Deansgate, which feels luxurious just by virtue of its room size, lights on dimmers, larger bathrooms, dark wood furnishings...I'm afraid this was a let-down, despite the location. On the positive, where the view by day was exposing, the view out the window at night of the Midland Hotel was pretty in the dark. The staff were helpful; some were friendlier than others. The restaurant next door is lovely with the fireplaces, although the 'health and safety' covers are cheesy. Loved the couches and warmth of the place. Never ate there, but for a cheap restaurant, it was fine. Costa Coffee is putrid as ever, but it's nice to have the coffee shop next door. Walk two blocks to Starbucks instead. We ate at the bustling Gio's Italian restaurant one night, and that was fine. The hotel stored our luggage for us the day we left, as we had some shopping to do. Overall, I wanted a relaxing hotel visit, and could not get past the ugliness of the furnishings. The bed was very comfortable, but there are no queen sized beds in this hotel at all. The best you can get is a single pushed up against a double. If you simply want a room that you sleep in and don't need any extras, this is fine. For anyone wanting to rest in a room here and feel good, it's a bit on the slim side of nice. I don't want to slag the good Premier Inn, but this one needs some loving by the chain. Let's hope it gets it. Otherwise, it's suitable for short stays.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFDIandGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    744
    527
    176
    56
    38
See reviews for
304
517
96
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

I had the pleasure of staying here two weeks in a row on business. Nice, tidy and clean hotel with generously sized rooms. All equipped well with comfortable bed, decent sized bathroom, good storage space and flat screen TV with Freeview. The attached restaurant provided good service again both at breakfast and dinner time.

Only criticisms would surround the noisy air conditioning (which I discovered can be switched off, small panel in the room to adjust) and also the fact that rooms facing the road out front can be noisy thanks to the trams going past.

A good hotel, very central to Manchester and I would stay again either on business or if I was visiting the city personally.

Room Tip: Try and get a room which isn't facing the main road - much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobFerrari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

Staff very friendly on arrival in that they used first name terms. Were told of a problem with the air conditioning in that it was working but it was very noisy. The only way to rectify was to turn the air con off in the room and the hotel provided a portable heater. When we got to the room (on the second floor) it was very clean, light and airy. The aircon was extremely noisy so we switched this off as soon as we were able to find the controls! The heater was very efficient but the bathroom was freezing! Our room was at the front of the hotel, nice views but unfortunately double glazing wasn't too great as there was a lot of noise from traffic and the trams with the window closed. On the whole though, Premier Inn does what it says on the tin! Ideal for our xmas shopping trip to Manchester where we just needed a bed for the night. Would definitely recommend Manchester Central - within a few minutes walk to all the shopping areas. Perfect!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FinallyMrsD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

Very comfortable stay. Not as good as the Portland Street one but it didnt spoil our stay. We came across a few problems. Our room was pretty small and the bathroom door literally opened into the bed. Our heating system was broken and we were unable to turn it down and had to sleep with the window open. Apart from these minor problems we enjoyed our stay and only paying £29 you can't complain. Great location, near christmas markets. Premier Inn fails to disappoint especially in value for money. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank love_summer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

Very central for Manchester. Very friendly, efficient and helpful staff. Lovely clean, comfortable room and food very good. No problems and a great place to stay at very reasonable rates.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzies_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Staff very friendly and helpful. rooms basic but clean. We stayed in a room at back of hotel,which was very noisey due to kitchen fans. I need to sleep with window open and so noise was awful resulting very little sleep. Would stay there again but would ask for different room.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room at back of hotel,which was very noisey due to kitchen fans. I need to sleep with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nhs14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek Staffordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

The reception staff were extremely helpful The room was large, spotlessly clean and had everything required for a short stay. The only complaint is that I found the mattress on the bed too hard possibly because the matresses were very new.I was going to a concert at the Bridgewater Hall which is literally just a few hundred yards down the road.I thought the food and drinks in the restaurant were reasonable considering it was a hotel in the centre of the city. I ordered breakfast which I thought initially was a bit pricey but in actual fact it was self service and you could help yourself to good selection of cooked items, cereals, yoghurt, beverages,and fresh toast(you use the toaster yourself a bit slow when they are busy but didn't find this a problem as it was great having hot toast)
Look forward to staying here again when I next visit the theatre in Manchester.The room was quiet .A word of warning though make sure if you get a cab the taxi driver stops at the right Premier Inn as there is another Premier Inn further down the road and I was dropped off at the wrong one.The helpful reception staff sorted the problem out however

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel are perhaps quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel
Address: 7-11 Lower Mosley Street | Bishopsgate, Manchester M2 3DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Manchester
#16 Family Hotel in Manchester
#19 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre, opposite Manchester Central Convention Complex (formerly Gmex) and within walking distance of Bridgewater Hall, Town Hall, Oxford St, Deansgate and city centre shops bars and restaurants. Our Manchester Central Premier Inn has everything you'd expect and also boasts a Costa coffee shop, Touchbase business centre with free to use business lounge,free use of the Fitness First Health Club within the hotel and an onsite Table Table restaurant for a fresh new twist on eating out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel Manchester
Premier Inn Gmex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing