We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central budget hotel with great gym”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel
Ranked #21 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

If you've stayed in a Premier inn before, you always know pretty much what you're going to get. It's not abject luxury nor is it a design hotel but it is a very practical and comfortable low cost option,

Location has to be the biggest draw for this hotel, right opposite the convention centre and central library just away from the very centre of the city. There's a tram stop within sight, St Peter's Square, and it's an easy 5mins walk from Oxford Road station or 15-20mins from Picadilly.

I asked for a quiet room on a high floor having read others reviews about noise from the trams at the front of the building. I was relieved to get a 7th floor room at the back with really good skyline views across the city. I was woken at 5.30am by the refuse collectors but this is a city centre location so I wasn't upset by this...

The room itself wasn't huge, just enough room to move about and one corner is the shower room. The furniture felt a little dated (very 90s!) and the bathroom was very tired and in need of some love, with a very old shower and taps reminiscent of my childhood.

The bed was a very comfortable double and I slept like a baby. I had the aircon on, not to stay cool as it was cold and wet despite being June, but to drown out random sounds from the corridor, which then didn't disturb me at all.

One big draw is that there's a Soho Gyms on the first floor of the building which you can access from the hotel lifts. Guests can get day entry for £5 and it's a very well equipped gym on two floors, great for free weights or cardio. I will definitely stay here again just for this reason!

Breakfast was served in their pub and was their usual well cooked buffet (poached eggs etc can be ordered) which offers good value for the quality and range available - certainly much better value than the rubbish you get at a Wetherspoons.

Overall, it's a pretty generic budget hotel but for the price (I paid £64 midweek) and location, it's ideal.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room at the back and on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiangarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daljet S, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear kiangarin,

Thank you for reviewing Premier Inn Manchester Central. We are in great central location close by to plenty of shops, bars and restuarants. There are many transport links close to the hotel which you can use to expolore the city. i am glad that you chose Premier Inn Manchester Central for its convenience and its facilities.

Thank you for your feedback regarding your bedroom. We are currently in the process of renovating our reception area and we do hope that in the near future we can renovate our bedrooms to compliment the new reception area. Thank you for your feedback regarding our premier breakfast, there is a wide choice of food items available and at excellent value.

Thank you for taking your time to review Premier Inn Manchester Central. We do really appreciate any feedback recieved and do take all your comments on board.

Regards

Daljet Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,050 - 1,056 of 1,741 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here for one night while visiting Manchester for One Direction concert with my daughter. The staff were extremely friendly and very welcoming. Good location, clean rooms perfect for what we needed. Lovely breakfast. Would stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daljet S, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Joanne M,

Thank you for reviewing Premier Inn Manchester Central and thank you for your nice comments regarding the staff and our bedrooms. I am glad that you enjoyed your breakfast in the Table Table restuarant, which is great value for money and has plenty of choice.

I hope that you had a great time at the One Direction concert and that you will come and visit us again in the near future.

Regards

Daljet Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

first time at a premier inn. the title says it all, best stay we've had anywhere even top hotels, clean, modern, quiet rooms and so comfy, staff are a credit to company, lovely people, was concerned about parking but it was so accessible no problem.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daljet S, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Susan M,

Thank you for reviewing Premier Inn Manchester Central. Thank you for your positive comments about your first stay with Premier Inn hotels. I am glad that you chose Manchester Central and your stay was better than expected. Thank you for your nice comments about our staff, i will pass on these comments to the team.

I hope that you enjoyed your stay with us in Manchester and that you will come and visit us again in the near future.

Regards

Daljet Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed for one night with my 10 year old daughter and 2 other friends, also with their young daughters. Location was great and close to tram stop.
Facilities were all good, and well maintained. We each had a triple room consisting of double bed & single bed. Rooms very comfortable, very clean and well kept.
We ate breakfast and dinner at the hotel for convenience. Both were excellent value and very nice. Kids eat free at breakfast with a full paying adult. Restaurant was also clean and well kept.
All staff were friendly and very efficiently helpful.
Really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daljet S, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Nicola M,

Thank you for taking your time to review Premier Inn Manchester Central. Thank you for your feedback about our comfortable, clean and well kept bedrooms. Premier Inn promise that our guests will have a great nights sleep, in a comfortable and clean bedroom, so i am glad that we was able to fullfill our promise to you. Thank you for your nice feedback regarding our staff and i do hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Regards

Daljet Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights for a nearby conference. Hotel could do with some refurbishment, bathroom was a little dated and tired. Staff friendly and polite. Breakfast OK. Rooms not as noisy as expected from previous reviews. Great location. Shame they wash the floors outside lift and into breakfast room, during breakfast!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artgeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daljet S, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear artgeko,

Thank you for taking your time to review Premier Inn Manchester Central. We are undergoing a refurbishment in the next couple of weeks to our reception area and we do hope to get a refurbishment to the bedrooms in the near future. We do take all your feedback on board and look at ways in which we can impove the hotel and its facilities.

Thank you again for your review and we do hope that you will come and visit us again in the near future.

Regards

Daljet Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

With my son for a Stadium tour at Old Trafford. Hotel was Perfect! Good Food, Great Accommodation, Very Helpful staff and close to public transport walking distance to Oxford Road Rail, St. Peters Square Metro

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eab40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daljet S, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear eab40,

Thank you for taking your time to review Premier Inn Manchester Central. Thank you for your comments regarding the hotel, staff and food. We do really appreciate any positive feedback recieved from our guests and hope that all our guests enjoy their experience with us.

I hope that you enjoyed the stadium tour and your stay in Manchester. We hope that you will come and visit us again in the near future.

Regards

Daljet Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel when it was full, One Direction being in town. On the good side the welcome was friendly and the rooms typically great and quiet. However, the hotel struggled to cope at full capacity. Checking in at 3.30, we had quite a wait and others had rooms that were not ready. Breakfast was poor. There were insufficient tables leading to waits. Also, there were long waits and queues as food was not ready and, when it came, it was not cooked well. The bacon and hash browns were underdone and we were left waiting for plates. Friendly staff and great location, but struggles at full capacity.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Charona3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daljet S, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Charona3101,

Thank you for taking your time to review Premier Inn Manchester Central. You are correct, the hotel was running at full occupancy over the weekend of the One Direction concert and it was extremely busy for check in as people wanted to attend the concert early. I can only aplogise about your wait to check into your room.

Thank you for your comments about our friendly staff and yes we are in a great location, close to all attractions and emenities in Manchester city centre.

I am sorry about your experience during breakfast. I can only apologise about your wait and not enough food being ready. If you do wish to discuss this further, please contact the hotel and ask to speak to a manager.

I do hope that this does not deter you from using Premier Inn, in the future. Thank you again for your feedback.

Regards

Daljet Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#65 of 120 in Manchester
37 reviews
0.2 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#4 of 120 in Manchester
1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 120 in Manchester
1,370 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#17 of 120 in Manchester
2,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel

Address: 7-11 Lower Mosley Street | Bishopsgate, Manchester M2 3DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Manchester
#16 Family Hotel in Manchester
#19 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £53 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre, opposite Manchester Central Convention Complex (formerly Gmex) and within walking distance of Bridgewater Hall, Town Hall, Oxford St, Deansgate and city centre shops bars and restaurants. Our Manchester Central Premier Inn has everything you'd expect and also boasts a Costa coffee shop, Touchbase business centre with free to use business lounge,free use of the Fitness First Health Club within the hotel and an onsite Table Table restaurant for a fresh new twist on eating out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel Manchester
Premier Inn Gmex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing