We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bargain price, two nights at 60£!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Ranked #22 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“bargain price, two nights at 60£!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

Very clean, big rooms. Pretty close to the central.
Helpful stuff. My friends luggage was lost and this friendly receptionist helped us to call to the airport etc!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kika1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 24 March 2011
Thanks for your review, we are pleased to hear that our hotel and facilities met your expectations and your stay was a comfortable one. Thank you for your feedback regarding our team members. The receptionist along with the rest of our team will be delighted to receive your comments as our team are committed to delivering the highest level of service to our guests. Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,256
    833
    260
    85
    59
See reviews for
538
801
183
378
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

came to this premier inn because I was using the Labour Party Archives. Having previously stayed in a hostel for £10 more I was shocked to discover that this premier inn was much better. The room was really spacious and absolutely spotless. All the furniture was new and decent quality. There was a desk so that I could do work in the evening, and a comfy chair from which to watch Freeview on a flat screen TV. There was a kettle, a hair dryer and a really decent sized en suite bath/shower. The bed was big and the mattress of a perfect firmness. I had an absolutely brilliant night's sleep despite my initial concern about being by a main road. The staff were really friendly as well. This isn't the place to come if you're looking for 'character', but it provides way more than just the basics. The value for money is just extraordinary. Its location was in walking distance both from the People's History Museum where I was working and Manchester Piccadilly Station. There are plenty of bars, restaurants and shops around too.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolcat672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 11 March 2011
Many thanks for your kind comments, which I will ensure are relayed to the team at Portland Street. It is always pleasing when someone takes the time and trouble to post a compliment. We look forward to welcoming you back to Portland Street when you are next in Manchester. Nick Babrovskie - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

Stopped here once again and was still happy. Staff are friendly, hotel clean, food great.
Premier inns are much of a muchness but you know what your getting.
Only problem i have with all premier inns is the cost of drink. The bars are very dear.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moletrappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donegal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

We stayed here for the united game , the staff were so nice and helpfull when we arrived and helped us with the self check in . Our room was spotless with everything you need in it . The breakfast was lovely , maybe a bit more expensive than places in the city centre but there was a big range of food . The hotel is only a 5-10 min walk in to the arndale shoping centre . We would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winniedonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights and i don't have a sigle complaint! We had a very large corner room, lovely and clean with a nice double bed and a single.
The location is really good for concerts and theatre visits with a good transport system around.
I would recommend this hotel without a single doubt.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahamley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

Had been looking at some other hotels in the area and some of the prices were ridiculous at £180-280+ for a night! I had stayed at a Premier Inn before and took advantage of a £29 a night rate which wasn't to be sniffed at.

Arrived at Piccadilly station a couple of hours before check-in and caught the number 3 bus that had been mentioned in another review. Took about 5 minutes to the bus stop just around the corner from the hotel in Oxford Road (just cross the road and walk a few metres up Portland Street to the hotel).

The Premier Inn is indiscreet to say the least. A small sign above the entrance is the only thing I saw to reveal it's location and the entrance is slightly in off the street.
Inside there's a reception desk and 3 check-in screens plus a few vending machines and some furniture. As i had arrived early, my room wasn't quite ready so I left my bag in the luggage room. Very friendly girl on the desk who made me feel welcome.

Came back later and was given a card for my room. You need this to get in the main entrance after 11pm and there are 2 doors just off reception to the guest areas that also require the card. You may need it at the top of the stairs too if getting in late.

Room was as expected and was at the front of the hotel on Portland Street. Double bed, desk and chair, lamps, tv, armchair, storage unit, kettle and sachets and a bathroom with a shower, sink and toilet. Towels were provided as was a soap dispenser inside the shower cubicle.
Only downside to the bathroom was some sort of compressor / vacuum pump type thing that kicked in whenever water ran down a plughole. Sounded like a foghorn for a couple of seconds and the stopped for another couple of seconds before repeating. No idea if anyone outside the room could hear it or what. Could have just been my 1st floor room - not sure as I didn't mention it to reception.

Room was clean and tidy and a little bit of street noise but nothing that really disturbed me when trying to sleep. Portland Street is fairly busy with cars and buses going up and down it all day. Plenty of bars and restaurants all around, with Chinatown a couple of minutes tops up the road; the Arndale Centre less than 5 minutes walk away; Piccadilly Station 10 minutes walk away (pretty much step out the door, turn left and walk up the street to the bus/tram stops and follow the road around to the right) etc.

Didn't use the restaurant as I had plans already and was leaving early so didn't eat breakfast there.

Wi-Fi available for around £7.50 for 24 hours.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will_Stewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Louise Marriott at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 9 February 2011
Thanks for your review we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We welcome your feedback as it is very important to us that our guests enjoy their stay with Premier Inn and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

Stayed one night and it was perfect for the GMEX over the road. Rooms great and staff helpful. Excellent for a one night stay or weekend break. Well done Premier Inn!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephandabbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Property: Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Address: The Circus 112-114 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4WB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#12 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Manchester, Piccadilly train station is just a 10 minute walk and there are tram links to Manchester Old Trafford stadium, Manchester City stadium, and Media City Uk. Attractions nearby include Canal Street, Oxford Road, Palace and Opera House theatres and lots of bars and restaurants. Passes for nearby gym facilities are available please enquire at reception. Parking is available at a discounted rate (approx £14.50 per over night stay) at the Q Park on St James St - M1 4LX. Voucher is available from hotel reception upon departure. Our Manchester (Portland Street) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Portland Street) Hotel Manchester
Premier Inn Portland Street
Travel Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing