We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the theatreland.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Ranked #21 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for the theatreland.”
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We stayed at the Premier Inn, Portland Street back in January for 1 night on a cheap deal as we decided to see We Will Rock You in Manchester. Staff were friendly and as with many hotels. a card system is used as a room key and to let you in after a certain time in the evening. Room was clean and tidy. It had both bath and shower, and body wash/shampoo in the bathroom so if you forget it don't worry. There is a hair dryer in the room. Wardrobe space is limited, but as we only stayed one night it was adequate. We did not have breakfast in the hotel but in the nearby Debenham's in town. I found the bed to be a little uncomfortable to be honest. There is an option to leave luggage if you decide not to want to leave town straight after check-out time of 12pm. Check in time is 2pm but we arrived a little earlier. However our room was ready for us at no extra cost.
All in all, we're hoping to return later in the year. Hopefully I'll get a better night's sleep. Other than that, no real complaints.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjayem1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,271
    856
    267
    86
    60
See reviews for
549
821
185
385
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Very quiet, clean and good value for money base to stay for a trip to the theatre. We went to visit Ghost the Musical at the Manchester Opera house which was about a 10 minute easy walk. Very secure (Card operated lifts), well maintained and incredibly helpful staff. We received a warm welcome.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Titch101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2011

An Excellent Premier Inn. Comfortable room, cool air when needed and a good sleep !

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squinthorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2011

We stayed here for one night with our 11 year old daughter. Good location in central Manchester, room was quiet - we all got a goods nights sleep. Good breakfast - though there is a McDonalds over the road if you don't want to pay £7.99/head

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BIGrob63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2011

First time stay at this Premier Inn location as was not disappointed. Hotel is very central and within easy walking distances of pubs, clubs and a SubWay a few doors away.

Although check-in is a little later than liked we had the option to leave luggage which was good as we could crack on with shopping and not hump our bags around with us.

As we had two rooms the helpful reception staff allocated two rooms close to each other when we dropped off our luggage so we could check-in much later in the day. First time we have used the computerised check-in which was very easy and excellent.

The room was very clean and as always beds are really comfy. Our room was on the fourth floor which and was really quiet.

Visiting Manchester again in May but having to stay elsewhere as the lower priced rooms have already sold out.

Sorry don't have any pics on this occasion.

Room Tip: Clean, central and exceptional value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Boglemart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

hotel was spot on the staff couldnt do enough for us all so friendly and fun. great location. very clean & comfortable. if i go back to manchester this is were i would go back to again

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aka57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
Thanks for your kind comments, so glad we halped make your stay in Manchester a happy one, and look forward to welcoming you back for future stays - Nick Babrovskie - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

we stayed at this premier inn for 2 nights on the 22nd of march. the staff were fantastic I hope the manager does read this and passes these comments on to his staff. this is the 2nd time we have stayed and it was fantastic for a value inn. I am just sorry I didnt get the staffs names. the young irish chap isa credit to the company so very pleasant and helpful also a young dark haired girl working on the night of the 22nd when we were eating fantastic. service. only one thing the pillows one not enough two awful hope these change before we stay again,nd we certainly will the food was lovely breakfast good value. very clean and very quiet. 2nd floor was great. thanks to all concerned.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodbank66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 28 March 2011
Thank you for your kind comments, which I will certainly pass on to the team. We hope to welcome you back for future visits to Manchester, and should you require extra pillows in your room, please don't hesitate to mention this to the reception team, who will be only too happy to arrange. Once again, thanks for taking the time and trouble to compliment the team, it is always gratifying to know that our guests enjoy their stay and leave with a positive impression. Nick Babrovskie - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Property: Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Address: The Circus 112-114 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4WB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#12 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Manchester, Piccadilly train station is just a 10 minute walk and there are tram links to Manchester Old Trafford stadium, Manchester City stadium, and Media City Uk. Attractions nearby include Canal Street, Oxford Road, Palace and Opera House theatres and lots of bars and restaurants. Passes for nearby gym facilities are available please enquire at reception. Parking is available at a discounted rate (approx £14.50 per over night stay) at the Q Park on St James St - M1 4LX. Voucher is available from hotel reception upon departure. Our Manchester (Portland Street) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Portland Street) Hotel Manchester
Premier Inn Portland Street
Travel Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing