We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location and quiet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Ranked #19 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“good location and quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

stayed here for one night with my partner, had a family room on 3rd floor was clean and rooms good size we always stay on portland street as it is close to city centre shops and at night we go out along canal street and its only a ten minute walk away. the only thing i was suprised at that their was no iron/board in our rooms but that wasn't a big problem but i could have done with one that time. We would go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lahh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,246
    816
    249
    81
    55
See reviews for
524
781
182
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

Premier Inn offer a Good Night guarantee, suggesting they have all the key ingredients for a good night sleep. Being a very poor sleeper, I was certain to put this to the test.

Check in was rapid with a very helpful chap providing my key, taking payment and sending me on my way with information on breakfast very quickly. The second floor room was an inner one (the hotel has an atrium set up) and the room was incredibly quiet for a city centre hotel.

Combined with what is a classic and very positive feature of Premier Inn, a very comfy mattress and pillow, accompanied by a very warm snuggly duvet, all the ingredients were there for a great nights sleep. And that is exactly how it worked.

The bathroom and fixtures were fine, if in need of a little TLC, but for the price, truthfully you could not argue and my pre-booked breakfast was generous (a buffet) with a very nice selection of goodies.

It is a 15 minute walk from Piccadilly Station and 5 from Oxford Road, so is close to the action in Manchester.

Negatives, well, there are not really any of note, just book early for the best deals and you'll have a very enjoyable fuss free stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the inner courtyard, very quiet, although you don't have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitchurchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maynooth, Ireland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

I have stayed in a few hotels in manchester during the last few years and found this one to be as good as any of the others. I stayed just one night . The room was of good size for 1 or 2 people and the bed/pillows was comfortable and pillows were plenty .Everything was as I would have expected it to be. Staff in all areas were warm ,friendly and helpful.I had no complaints and have recommended the hotel to some of my friends. I was there to go to a match in old trafford.Check in/check out was quick .Breakfast was good,you have a selection of different things and can go back as many times as you like.As location goes it is well situated close to the city centre and also just up from St. Peters SQ where you can get the metro. close to the theatre and china town so ideal for what i needed it for.I would use this hotel again when i visit manchester.

Room Tip: i had a room facing the court yard at the back and it was quiet.Also my room was near the lifts .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crewe
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

We visited Manchester for the Children in Need gig on Thursday 17th November. Ideal location-2 minutes walk from Chinatown and 4 minutes walk from the main Christmas markets. Car park round the corner-£13 for an overnight (discounted) space. Room was basic but clean and all that was required for a boozy night. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the new automated check in was very speedy. If it's no frills night then £39 for a city centre room for 2 can't be bad!

Room Tip: Room 376-great view of the bins but much quieter than those facing the busy main road!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank craigybabyCrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LANCASTER
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

We stayed just one night . Everything was as we would have expected it to be. Staff in all areas were warm ,friendly and helpful.We had no complaints and have recommended the hotel to family and friends. We were there to visit the theatre ,usually we go to a mattinee ,however this show was a one night only production.This hotel was in a perfect location for were we needed to be.We will certainly be using this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JEANETTE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Friendly staff. Comfortable bed and pillows, had a good night's sleep. Warm duvet. Couldn't open the windows for fresh air as the handle had been taken off for "safety" reasons. Slight problem at check-in - I was allocated a room that was paid for by another guest as a "late departure", but this was rectified by the staff on reception and I was allocated another room. It was a bonus to have a "luggage room" available on departure, whilst we did some last minute shopping. Within walking distance to the shops. Also on the "free" Metro Shuttle Bus route. Would recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMJones13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Stayed at Premier Inn on Thursday 17th November as we were going to MEN Arena for Children in Need. We had two family rooms booked and paid £29 for each room. Although the hotel was very busy when we arrived check in was very efficient. Parking was around the block and we were told we would receive a discount voucher upon checking out (can't grumble at that). We were not disappointed both rooms were large, the beds were comfortable and both bedrooms and bathrooms were very clean. On requesting some ice from the bar we were very pleased when our son returned with an ice bucket. No issues in calling a cab as there was free phone in the lobby. Breakfast - there was a great choice something for everyone, the only complaint was from the men in our group - they would have preferred a larger plate (although you could go back for more if you liked). Will look out for bargain stays with Premier Inn in the future.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BASTEANDBAKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,674 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Property: Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Address: The Circus 112-114 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4WB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#9 Best Value Hotel in Manchester
#12 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Manchester, Piccadilly train station is just a 10 minute walk and there are tram links to Manchester Old Trafford stadium, Manchester City stadium, and Media City Uk. Attractions nearby include Canal Street, Oxford Road, Palace and Opera House theatres and lots of bars and restaurants. Passes for nearby gym facilities are available please enquire at reception. Parking is available at a discounted rate (approx £14.50 per over night stay) at the Q Park on St James St - M1 4LX. Voucher is available from hotel reception upon departure. Our Manchester (Portland Street) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Portland Street) Hotel Manchester
Premier Inn Portland Street
Travel Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing