We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“whats wrong with this premier inn?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Ranked #29 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2011

i am a fan of premier inn's for quick city breaks (1 night) and have stayed in a few, many times in Manchester. I was there last wednsday and booked through thier system, and this hotel came up much cheaper than the others, now i knwo why.

I don't think this was origionally a premier inn? Its not that central, has a desk (a small desk) for check in, plus auto check ins, which werer actually quite good. the rooms are much smaller and furniture not standard, and teh bed is a small double rather than the customary king size bed. Bathroom tiny and tired and overall not very nice.

would not use again, no matter how cheapo!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmandoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,771)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,474 - 2,480 of 2,771 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2011

We booked this for a Christmas shopping venture as it was cheap and hopefully cheerful! We were not disappointed. We booked through the Premier Inn site as it was cheaper - just over £50 a night, which, for a city centre hotel was really good value. The check-in process was a little different - you checked yourself in at a computer, entering your booking reference and surname - but there was staff there who were more than ready to help or advise (or in my case, do it for me). Room was clean and comfortable, there was tea/coffee facilities (though they could have provided more - there were a couple of tea bags and a couple of coffee sachets, it would have been nice if they also provided a hot chocolate or 2 (or 3!), ooo, and maybe a biscuit or 2!). Beds comfortable, not too noisy (our room at least). The hotel itself is on a main road, about 5 minutes walk from Piccadilly train station, and, while it didn't have it's own car park, there was a multi-story a minutes walk away (remember to get the discount card from reception when you leave!). As for location, it's right on the edge of Chinatown and about a 5 minute walk to the shops. We didn't eat there but the food prices seemed reasonable and they offer a coffee (Costa I believe) and croissant take out service. The only real complaint (if you can call it that) was the bar - not much ambience and a little flat. Other than that, a great cheap(ish) hotel in a great location!

Room Tip: We were lucky and our room overlooked a side road - the hotel itself is on a busy main road so I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freddief99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Stayed here recently for one night. Check-in was fast with self-service check-in. Room was clean and spacious. Hotel in great location. No complaints at all especially not about the price!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babes-Ire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Booked the hotel ages ago to stay overnight for a concert at MEN. We had a twin room & it was great value for money - nice spacious room, good bathroom with lovely powerful shower, freeview tv, tea & coffee making facilities etc. Couldn't fault it. We paid extra for a breakfast which was fantastic - eat as much as you want & all the food was great, tables cleared quickly etc - very efficiently run. Location's good as it's central, but I have to say our room was on the front of the hotel & it was really noisy at night - seemed to hear sirens all night, but then it was a very very busy Friday just before Xmas so maybe noisier than usual!
Check in can be done on automated screens in reception which I've never done before - made it very speedy with no hassle at all. The hotel also felt very safe, you couldn't access the lift or stairs without your room card which as 2 females we liked very much.
Would defo recommend and would use again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debzebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Satying at Premier Inn was really a good experience was very welcomed by staff.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAYMOND A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Friendly staff, very helpful, wasn't keen on a room I could not open the window my self. The breakfast set up was not helpful for a disabled person like my self, not one member of staff offered me any help struggling with a tray and walking stick.
Rooms basic but clean, bed comfy, I will stay again as it is convenient to where I need to go,Staff down stair couldn't do enough to help, just restaurant staff need to learn about giving service.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

2 adults, 2 teenagers, we stayed 10th-11th dec 2011, very good location, 5 min walk from manchester oxford rd train station. 5 min walk one way to albert square, 5 min walk to picadilly gardens the other way. breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: a room away from front of hotel, it is very noisy :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn16_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#55 of 120 in Manchester
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Address: The Circus 112-114 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4WB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#12 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £45 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Manchester, Piccadilly train station is just a 10 minute walk and there are tram links to Manchester Old Trafford stadium, Manchester City stadium, and Media City Uk. Attractions nearby include Canal Street, Oxford Road, Palace and Opera House theatres and lots of bars and restaurants. Passes for nearby gym facilities are available please enquire at reception. Parking is available at a discounted rate (approx £14.50 per over night stay) at the Q Park on St James St - M1 4LX. Voucher is available from hotel reception upon departure. Our Manchester (Portland Street) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Portland Street) Hotel Manchester
Premier Inn Portland Street
Travel Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing