We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Ranked #20 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“bill74”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

Always stay in this Premier Inn when in Manchester. It's well situated for the trams to Altrincham, Bury, Salford Quays etc, Manchester Art Gallery and lots of pubs and theatres withn walking distance. The bedrooms have always been good, the staff very good and I find it difficult to find fault with it, It is after all a budget hotel and gives great value for money, on most dates, Have stayed here about 8 times and will continue to do so!, For people arrivng by train at Piccadilly station there is a free Metroshuttle bus, no, 3 which drops you off on Oxford Street opposite the Wetherspoons pub which is below the Premier Inn, or use the tram (current fare £1 ) to St Peter's square just about 100 yards away, Highly recommended,

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bill74_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,246
    817
    252
    81
    56
See reviews for
524
782
182
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The leek
Level Contributor
108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

Stayed here for a night on the 28/9/12. Great loction. Facilities as usual clean and comfortable. Had a good nights sleep apart from being woken early by crashing bottles which I presume were being collected. Think Premier need to look at better windows they don't exactly control the noise t felt like our's was open yet it was secondary glazed. The staff at thi premier inn are wonderful, the most attentive, polite staff we've come across and willing to go that extra mile to ensure you have a good staff. Booked the meal deal, evening meal was disappointing give the steak a miss. Breakfast as usual was great although it could have been re-stocked a little quicker. Amazing staff, if there are any awards then they deserve it. Will definately stay again

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Constructive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Spent 2 nights here.
The Reception really could do with a revamp as if looking for hotel and you blink you would miss it. Smokers all stand outaside the main entrance which wasnt pleasant to walk through and the cig butts were all over the pavement, not a good point.
The Room itself was fine and had everything needed and was clean.
Breakfast was SUPERB, its a buffet set up with Cooked and cold stuff.
Staff Excellent and we arrived at 12 and asked on the off chance if room available and it was which was great after a long train journey.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muchbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed here while attending a conference at Manchester Central. Slightly wary of using a city-centre Premier Inn as recent experiences at other city centre Premier Inns when booked as a single person had resulted in me being put in a box-room with an en-suite but the fact that I had friends staying here coupled with a very good deal made me give it a go.

Entrance to hotel very unassuming but staff very welcoming and hotel clean and clearly looked after. Hotel very centrally located - 5 minute walk from Oxford Road Railway Station and not much further to conference centre. Tourist attractions and central Manchester shopping all within easy reach. Wetherspoon's pub with excellent food and drink options directly underneath with Chinatown just a few minutes along Portland Street and lots of other eating options in easy reach

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed over the bank holiday. Room/bathroom very clean. Courteous, friendly and obliging staff who are quite knowledgable about the area and what it has to offer, even providing maps to help out. Quick check in/out. Near to safe, well lit , clean car park. Great location for city centre. Meal deal package well worth the cost. Despite hotel being quite full, had a great night's sleep with no noise. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MyviewMansfieldUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

My husband and myself stayed here back on the 18th October 2010, we was staying here as I was having my labour induced at St Mary's. On arrival we met Rob, who is the reason I am writing this review!! He was absolutely fantastic, as a fellow receptionist at another Premier Inn, I feel I could learn a lot from Rob. I would just like to thank him for all the support he gave and took care of my husbands bookings whilst I was in hospital. It was much appreciated and we will see you again in the next few weeks. Many many Thanks.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donna w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

my wife and i stayed here gay pride weekend. With us being two gay girls from Northern Ireland we never expected the reception we recieved. Mancunians are the most welcoming people on the planet...Hotel staff and i mean ALL the staff that whole weekend were the best that i have ever come across.( we have over the years stayed in a lot of hotels)We walked through the streets holding hands and felt welcome in the street by passer bys and in the shops .The police men and women that policed the event/ and the event helpers etc were also the nicest people everl. we are already in the process of bookink this hotel for next year 2013 gay pride just waiting on confirmation of the exact date....
Thanks Premier Inn Manchester portland street.........from lindsay & susan

Room Tip: 1st floor beside restaurant and bar....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#15 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,687 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Property: Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Address: The Circus 112-114 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4WB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Best Value Hotel in Manchester
#12 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Manchester, Piccadilly train station is just a 10 minute walk and there are tram links to Manchester Old Trafford stadium, Manchester City stadium, and Media City Uk. Attractions nearby include Canal Street, Oxford Road, Palace and Opera House theatres and lots of bars and restaurants. Passes for nearby gym facilities are available please enquire at reception. Parking is available at a discounted rate (approx £14.50 per over night stay) at the Q Park on St James St - M1 4LX. Voucher is available from hotel reception upon departure. Our Manchester (Portland Street) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Premier Inn, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Portland Street) Hotel Manchester
Premier Inn Portland Street
Travel Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing