We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an excellent stay at Premier Inn, Portland Street, Manchester City Centre” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Ranked #19 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“an excellent stay at Premier Inn, Portland Street, Manchester City Centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

We were both very happy with our 2 nights stay, all staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was delicious, all in all a great stay. We were there as a Ruby Aniversary Gift from our daughters, tickets for the Theatre, which was just 2 minutes walk from Premier Inn.

Room Tip: never easy to book a specific room in any Hotel, because you always get the inconsiderate guests who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,246
    816
    249
    81
    55
See reviews for
524
781
182
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

We arrived early so left our suitcase with the receptionist who was very friendly. Check in was quick, room was large. Twin room was a big double bed and a single. Had only paid £29 so for the price it was extremely good value for money. We were at the back of the hotel down a side street so it was quiet. Slept fine, heard a couple of noises during the night but only what you'd hear in any hotel. Breakfast was excellent. Huge choice and all fresh. One thing that stood out was that receptionists, breakfast staff and even the maids who we passed in the corridor were courteous all said "hi" and "good morning" and "have a nice day". The place seems very well managed. Great stay. Would go back and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank localgirl030780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel while visiting some few places of interest in Manchester it was a uniquely ideal place. The room is cozy and warm....myself and my children found their beds comfortable. If you visiting the town for fun it an ideal an ideal place as it is walkable distance to Attractions like Ryland's Library, Royal Exchange theatre etc. The Tram station is also a trekable distance from the hotel also the staff are friendly and helpful...in addition you can get a functional map of the city from the Hotal at no cost to you.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidT933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

Well done Premiere Inn once again for a brilliant location right in the heart of Manchester. I cannot fault it whatsoever I have stayed many times. The star of the show have got to be the super king size beds. Rooms are always clean and fresh. Look out for the £29 a night offers and pay extra for the full English eat what you can..Bargain!! Its a 15 minute walk from Piccadilly Station and a 10 minute walk from Canal Street. 10 minute walk to Piccadilly gardens and 15 min walk to the Arndale shopping centre.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank femme37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

We were a party of Five and when we arrived at the Hotel we were greeted with warm smiles and great service, there is not one thing that i could fault with you guys , Oh maybe just one thing, u never had any Tabasco sauce. That was nothing really, Thank you to all the staff from the bottom of my heart you made us feel very welcome and we had a great stay.

From Rory Armstrong (South Africa)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoryA_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

Portland street premier inn is a wonderful hotel. Ideally situated by 2 theatres . The quay side for comedy club and weather spoons just round the corner for cheap food and booze. It's 15 min walk from the Arndale centre for major shopping . And the night life continues through the night from casinos for the budding gambler to clubs and pubs. The staff are very friendly the hotel is warm and clean . And the rooms are all a very high standard of comfort and cleanliness . I will definitely 100 % be going back for more future stays .

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chefallday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

stayed at the hotel in Dec 2012 as we were going to see Lion king at the Palace theatre. This hotel is ideally situated right in the middle of town ad a stones throw away from the theatre. The rooms were spacious and surprisingly quiet considering your in the middle of Manchester. the staff were warm and friendly and the food in the restaurant was amazing. My only moan was the self services checking in which didnt work but the person on reception was good and sorted it out would have just preferred a member of staff to check us in not a machine. would stay there again if staying in Manchester.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louise1802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,674 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Property: Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Address: The Circus 112-114 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4WB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#9 Best Value Hotel in Manchester
#12 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Manchester, Piccadilly train station is just a 10 minute walk and there are tram links to Manchester Old Trafford stadium, Manchester City stadium, and Media City Uk. Attractions nearby include Canal Street, Oxford Road, Palace and Opera House theatres and lots of bars and restaurants. Passes for nearby gym facilities are available please enquire at reception. Parking is available at a discounted rate (approx £14.50 per over night stay) at the Q Park on St James St - M1 4LX. Voucher is available from hotel reception upon departure. Our Manchester (Portland Street) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Premier Inn, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Portland Street) Hotel Manchester
Premier Inn Portland Street
Travel Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing