We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Room With A Chill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Ranked #27 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Nothing wrong with this hotel apart from the need to secure a portable heater when staying here during cold weather. The standard radiator can only be set to a maximum temperature of 23 degrees and cuts out when the unit reaches that level, regardless of the room itself having failed to do so.

Room Tip: If it's cold weather when you check in, ask for a portable radiator there and then before they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotsjimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,996 - 2,002 of 2,714 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed last year for a weekend and came back again to take our son to see Manchester City. Both visits were great. The rooms very clean and we all slept great. On both stays we recieved a warm and friendly welcome. Breakfast was really good and again customer service 100%. The location is great and we found Manchester a really nice city to visit with a lot to do and see. We look forward to our return visit. Thanks......

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smokies1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Stayed on a Monday night, easy check in service using one of the machine - so quick and easy. Staff really friendly, room really clean and comfortable. Breakfast was really good value for how much it cost. Really good location - we were going to the MEN arena - only a 20 min walk.
Excellent nights stay - thanks :-)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WendyO78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Stayed here with my wife on good Friday. From the moment you walk in your met with a smile, the people who work there are fantastic, great customer service. The rooms are fine and you really do get a good nights sleep. Breakfast was excellent and yet again met with smiles. The location is really good too, close to the theatre and some good bars and restaurants. When we stay in Manchester again, this is the place we will come too, a job well done. PS if your going out for a cocktail do not go in the Tempus bar (palace hotel) service was shocking and so were the prices.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobboBlackburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We stayed at the hotel on the 28th as we were watching a show in Manchester. The room had everything we needed and the hotel is close to the theatres, train stations and bars. What made our stay memorable though was the fantastic customer service. Every member of staff was friendly and nothing was too much trouble.....such a refreshing change. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel on 27th march 2013 as we were in the city just to visit old trafford with our 4 boys. We found the staff to be very friendly and welcoming. The rooms were basic but clean. Hubby loved the big screen tv! Service at breakfast was also friendly and efficient. Definitely worth staying at if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this Premier inn on Monday 25th for one night. We went for a gig. We were in room 144.

The room-
It was okay having stayed in a Premier inn before we thought the rooms would be a bit better, but its just a bed for the night. You could not open the windows. But there was air con which was fab. If you like your tea or coffee, you're best of bringing your own milk. We had 2 coffees, 2 teas and 2 milk... So only one of ua had a drink. The downside to the room, there was spider webs on the roof above the bed and the toilet was dirty.

The breakfast-
We opted for the buffet breakfast, the food was okay but for the money you pay for us it wasn't worth it. If you're not greedy, then the cheaper option is to have a full English at wetherpoon for 3.99 rather than the buffet for 8.95 each. Although the staff that were there Monday morning were fantastic.

The location-
Its great if you don't mind walking. From the train station its just straight down the left but about a 20 minute walk. To the arndale you can go through China town it probably takes 15 minutes. Unfortunately due to the location I couldn't sleep because of the noisy roads and was woken up about 8 am because the housekeeper knocking on the door.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#37 of 120 in Manchester
33 reviews
0.3 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 120 in Manchester
1,367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Manchester Centre
Novotel Manchester Centre
#39 of 120 in Manchester
1,612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#18 of 120 in Manchester
2,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Address: The Circus 112-114 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4WB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Best Value Hotel in Manchester
#12 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £51 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Manchester, Piccadilly train station is just a 10 minute walk and there are tram links to Manchester Old Trafford stadium, Manchester City stadium, and Media City Uk. Attractions nearby include Canal Street, Oxford Road, Palace and Opera House theatres and lots of bars and restaurants. Passes for nearby gym facilities are available please enquire at reception. Parking is available at a discounted rate (approx £14.50 per over night stay) at the Q Park on St James St - M1 4LX. Voucher is available from hotel reception upon departure. Our Manchester (Portland Street) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Portland Street) Hotel Manchester
Premier Inn Portland Street
Travel Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing