We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“is this really only a 2star???”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Ranked #29 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“is this really only a 2star???”
Reviewed 8 May 2008

I was quite astonished to find a hotel/Inn of this quality in the centre of Manchester for the price I paid on a Bank Hol Weekend!!

The staff on welcoming me and my partner were very helpful and certainly a pleasure to deal with. They gave us our swipe keys and on to the room.

Have to say, it was really spacious and having stayed the last two nights in a travelodge, i was not expecting much but wow.

The bed is certainly high off the ground, but very very comfy. Philips flat screen tv, with a host of cable channels. Big windows let in a good deal of light in to the room. There is certainly enough closet space for a family of four.

Room can be a bit warm but the great air conditioning soon fixed this. But given it was like Monsoon weather in Manchester, cant fault the hotel for being warm.

The bathroom, was great too, sorry i just cant find fault with this place. Really nice shower....powerful too i might add, and if you forgot your shower gel, there is one there for you! Also there was a neat reminder on the bathroom mirror, if that you forgot anything, just ring the front desk and they could supply you with toiletries. Also about the room, there is even a hairdryer on the wall, which did come in handy!! As it rained on the way back from the Chinese restaurant.

Although the bar closed at 9.30 which was a bit disappointing, but understandable as we were the only two in there. But nicely decorated all the same!

Also I had lost my credit card unknown to me, but we had received a letter under the door, saying that I had lost something and to go to front desk....and there was my credit card.

Thanks Premier Inn for a wonderful stay.

  • Liked — The overall cleanliness and helpfulness!!
  • Disliked — Bar closed at 9.30pm on Sunday evening.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LimerickMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,294
    877
    284
    93
    63
See reviews for
565
840
191
399
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2008

Well a Premier Inn is a Premier Inn I guess, but not if you get allocated one of five rooms with damp stains on the ceiling and brown marks (wear not dirt I was told) on the bath. So if you are minded to stay here ask to be put in one of their many other rooms!

No longer cheap for the business traveler on a budget either. What's £9 for wifi access about? Not only that but this access is limited. If you have large file transfers to make that's another £3 for business access!

Location is fine and the food is cheaper than some comparable chains (City Inn for example) but this one needs handling with care it seems.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Marketing of sub standard accommodation and expensive wifi
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank davidhchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2008

Although I was told by the receptionist that “good night sleep is guaranteed”, I had horrible night suffering from people roaring around, nose of bin collection and lorry coming in numerous time below my room which was facing towards St. James street.

I am honestly speaking not particularly fussy about the nose such as the one from the door in the corridor. However, the soundproof against outside was absolutely substandard (very different from previous comments about soundproof) and the nose was almost like the room near a construction site (glass sounds, metal drugged, big engine sounds etc).

Up to 3:30AM: noise of people shouting and roaring. Some were shouting from speaker of car.
6:45 AM: Lorry came in for sounds like bin collection.
7:20 AM: Lorry for glass collection
7:40 AM: Lorry with big Premier Inn advertisement
8:00 AM: Lorry with full of Linen

Since I could not sleep, I went out for walk for 1 hour between 8:00AM and 9:00AM to make me tired and came back for short sleep. But unfortunately, different type of Lorries with other goods (foods?) came in and out and I could not sleep at all.

I thought there two problems here; one is substandard soundproof system & ventilation which cannot be closed, the other is the timing of Lorries coming in.

If rooms are facing towards inside of the building there seemed to be no noise problem. But rooms facing outside worth half the price and the guests should be notified about the risk of noise. (Unless otherwise they are happily drunk people--I noticed that many guests in Premier Inn Portland st on that night were drunk.)

The room was very clean but cold. I would not recommend especially if you have important meeting or presentation following day.

  • Liked — Clean room and Location
  • Disliked — Noise and some of the staff who does not familier with the Internet of their accom
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tarkovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
county londonderry, northern ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2008

We stayed at portland street from fri 28th march till sun 30th, when we were on a trip to see manchester united play! We were very happy with our room and I have to say the staff were so friendly and they went out of their way to help! The food was nice too with the breakfast being a super deal where you could eat as much as you wanted from the self service buffet! We had never stayed in manchester before so this location couldnt have been better as it was only a short walk to the metro and bus stops in piccadilly gardens or st peters square, also the shopping centres near by are fantastic with the arndale having over 65 shops!!!! We only had one drawback and that was the noise from the streets in the early hours with people going home from the pubs and clubs, this and the sound of police sirens right below us at 4.30 am didnt help but this would not put me off! next time we will request a back room and take earplugs lol..Im already planning my next trip back in july and im takin my kids this time too..

  • Liked — location and staff
  • Disliked — noisey pub goers!!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chunky_chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2008

this was in fact my third stay of 2007 in the Portland St Premier Travel Inn and to be honest its like home from home.
Ideally situated in the Town Centre with the nightlife literalyl down one road and the shops and restaurants a walk away.
Also ideally situaed to walk from Manchester Picadilly Station.

The Reception Staff here are through and leave a lasting impression, they constantly communicate with you and give you everything you need.

The Rooms are brilliant, clean, comfortable, whilst out the staff always ensure you have clean towels....always make your bed for you..if you dont!

The restaurants food is brilliant, brilliant prices!

whenever we stay we always stay here and roll on february when we stay again

  • Liked — Staff, food, location
  • Disliked — - nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Aimee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 118 in Manchester
2,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#5 of 118 in Manchester
1,342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Manchester Centre
Novotel Manchester Centre
#42 of 118 in Manchester
1,567 reviews
0.3 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#7 of 118 in Manchester
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Property: Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Address: The Circus 112-114 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4WB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#9 Best Value Hotel in Manchester
#12 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Manchester, Piccadilly train station is just a 10 minute walk and there are tram links to Manchester Old Trafford stadium, Manchester City stadium, and Media City Uk. Attractions nearby include Canal Street, Oxford Road, Palace and Opera House theatres and lots of bars and restaurants. Passes for nearby gym facilities are available please enquire at reception. Parking is available at a discounted rate (approx £14.50 per over night stay) at the Q Park on St James St - M1 4LX. Voucher is available from hotel reception upon departure. Our Manchester (Portland Street) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Portland Street) Hotel Manchester
Premier Inn Portland Street
Travel Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing