We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Princess St. Hotel(Manchester)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Midland(Manchester)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
New Union Hotel(Manchester)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Le Ville Hotel(Manchester)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (2,904)
Filter reviews
2,905 results
Traveller rating
1,420
976
324
108
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,420
976
324
108
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalace theatrecity centreq parkmeal dealall you can eatcomfy bedbudget hotelgood nights sleepexcellent locationquiet roomold traffordnight's sleepexcellent stayfamily roomcar parkmin walktrain station
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,148 - 2,153 of 2,905 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Ideal location for an overnight stop in Manchester. At £25 for the room it was a bargain. Room was small but fine for one night and bed was comfortable. Staff were excellent. Breakfast area very pleasant and food was good. Will definately use it again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjk58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

stayed here for one night while seeing The Lion King at The Palace Theatre and I couldn't find fault anywhere. I am a head housekeeper and the cleanliness of both rooms and hotel were excellent ! Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff we dealt with (even my request for extra teabags at 1.30am was dealt with extremely promptly) Breakfast was plentiful and with so much choice it was hard not to be greedy. I have never stayed at a Premier Inn before but myself and my daughter would definitely use them again - top marks !

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuttyc0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Centrally located with a helpful, friendly staff. The rooms were large but sparsely furnished and a note on the bathroom door requested that we shower with the door shut so as not to set off the over-sensitive fire alarm. While the location was central, our room looked out over a fairly busy street and activity (sober or... not so) continued well into the wee hours, which made it hard to get a good night's sleep. Breakfast was very good, with a buffet and cooked-to-order eggs.

Room Tip: A room facing the inner courtyard might be quieter. Rooms facing the street are definitely not!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmiller128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Stayed at the Portland Street Premier Inn for one night only and having stayed at Premier Inns frequently in the past, knew what to expect. However, I wanted to review this one because every member of staff I encountered (probably around 8 in total in reception and breakfast room & night security) was exceptionally friendly, professional and helpful. Premier Inn's recruitment team are doing a great job hiring people for this hotel as no amount of training would deliver the genuine warmth I felt from each member of staff. The breakfast room was light and clean and the "all you can eat" breakfast included fresh fruit salad, nuts and seeds, porridge + the usual "full English". All the staff seemed to be enjoying their work and nothing was too much trouble. I paid £60 + around £8 for breakfast. I felt a genuinely valued customer. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lathey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Big welcome, fantastic location, dirt cheap but room in need of a refurb!
Appreciated being able to park almost next door and that at 30percent discount.
Good restaurants in the vicinity, particularly China Town .
Don't bother with the Premier Inn breakfast- there are better places to eat just outside the door!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews