We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Ranked #19 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Well situated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

I have stopped at this Premier Inn twice now for 2 nights each time. I had room on 1st floor which was handy as the restaurant is also on this floor. My room both times was overlooking the middle of the hotel and I had no problem with outside noise.
The entrance is quite small directly onto the street but the security is good. As usual with the Premier Inns breakfast and meals were good quality and the staff were very helpful.
I stopped in June 2012 and June 2013. It was close to the old railway station which is now a conference centre. A good choice for a city centre.

Room Tip: If you want quiet try for a room which faces the centre as the hotel is like a square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvhols25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operations manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Manchester City Centre Portland Street Premier Inn. It’s always great to hear such positive feedback and we are happy that we could make your stay a comfortable one.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,246
    816
    249
    81
    55
See reviews for
524
781
182
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cottingham
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

I chose this as it is very close to (but not in) China Town.
The staff are all skilled and friendly, the rooms clean and functional, the price seemed good value for a town centre hotel booked late, good breakfast, comfy bed.
I was woken up early by too much noise from a nearby building site and chose not to close the window as it was already stuffy in the room due to a few days of heat wave and no aircon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TedCottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Centrally located and convenient. We stayed with family although the hotel is better suited for business travellers. However, we were eating at Jamie's Italian nearby and it was a comfortable walk.
I liked the concept of self-service check-in.
Rooms are spacious, modern TV's, comfortable beds and pillows.
Full bed for our son (family room) as opposed to the uncomfortable fold out beds one often finds in these hotels. My brother also took a family room which was as big as a ballroom.
Breakfast was a bit of a let down, but more than adequate. One of the male staff at breakfast was rather unpleasant,but the staff at the front desk and check-in were excellent (especially Lyndsey?)
Excellent value for money however.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, General Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I will pass your compliments onto Lynsey. I am very glad to hear your rooms were more than suitable for you and your family. I will of course pass all your feedback to each department for you.
We do hope to welcome you back to Portland Street again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

we have stayed at many premier inns this is not our first choice in manchester but was a better location for what we wanted. we stayed here for 2 nights for Robbie concert and shopping.First impressions on arriving at the hotel were not good just a small doorway were people were smoking right next to it.
The staff were really friendly and helpful even though i checked in online still had to queue and be checked in manually.
the restaurant was clean plenty of food and staff made sure you had everything you needed. think the child eats free is an excellent idea.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ast39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, General Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. I am very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a very busy weekend! I will pass your compliments onto our restaurant for you and I am pleased to hear you felt our teams took good care of you.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

My friend and I stayed here for one night after going to see a show , it made our little break special. We had separate rooms, and because we booked early it only cost us the price of one double room. Breakfast was good ,plenty to choose from and reasonably priced. We are planning another trip to a show in September and we will definately book Premier Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, General Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It’s always great to get such positive feedback and we are happy that we could make your stay a comfortable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Recently stayed in this hotel with my partner and child. Could not fault the room but why oh why do they put families at the furthest point of the hotel? We had to hike what seems like miles from the lifts, it must have been 4 or 5 corridors away.

Breakfast was brilliant for the price, as was the evening meal.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welsh-warrior-wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

i recently stayed at this Inn for two nights. The staff were wonderful.

The breakfast was adequate and I was able to pay for a cheap WIFI connection.

The room was OK. The bedsprings were a little squeaky which was a little annoying. Basically the stay for fine as I was exploring the city and not spending a lot of time in my room anyway. The location was very good but it was very noisy with sirens screaming all night. Not much they can do about that though.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelchick05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, General Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us feedback. Wonderful to hear all our teams made you feel welcome. I will feedback to our housekeeping teams the issues raised with the comfort of your stay, and of course they will investigate for you. If you require a more quiet room please do give us a call before your next stay and we will do our best to assist you.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Property: Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Address: The Circus 112-114 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4WB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Best Value Hotel in Manchester
#12 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Manchester, Piccadilly train station is just a 10 minute walk and there are tram links to Manchester Old Trafford stadium, Manchester City stadium, and Media City Uk. Attractions nearby include Canal Street, Oxford Road, Palace and Opera House theatres and lots of bars and restaurants. Passes for nearby gym facilities are available please enquire at reception. Parking is available at a discounted rate (approx £14.50 per over night stay) at the Q Park on St James St - M1 4LX. Voucher is available from hotel reception upon departure. Our Manchester (Portland Street) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Portland Street) Hotel Manchester
Premier Inn Portland Street
Travel Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing