We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Ranked #22 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Overnight stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

On the 20th July myself and two friends came to Manchester to compete in the Great Salford one mile swim. We stayed at the Premier Inn Manchester Portland Street. We were very happy with our rooms which were clean and spacious. Kerry on reception made us feel very welcome and took time to ask us how our swim had gone and then in the evening again asked if we had had a good night. Kerry booked all our taxis and looked up directions for us. She was very helpful and polite and made our stay very pleasant. We would definitely stay here again. Angie, Cerian and Claire

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, General Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. Kerry will be very happy to hear she made you feel so welcome and taken care of.
We look forward to welcoming you back next time in Manchester and our congratulations on completion of your swim!

Kind Reagards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,256
    837
    261
    85
    59
See reviews for
540
801
183
379
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Positive points : big room/bathroom ; comfortable bed ; speedy wifi ; within walking distance to Piccadilly station paid only £60 rm only for 2 nts

negative points. : outside building could do with a clean up looks messy, staff should be more clear how things work in room since no one shows the guests to their room

Room Tip: I had a room at the back no noise from the street forthcoming
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Room 350 on the third floor.

Size of room was good. but couldnt sleep most of the night, due to an uncomfortable bed. to make matters worse and this shouldnt reflect on Premier Inn too much. but there was torrential rain and thunder early morning and water starting leaking in through, i think, an already covered up hole in the ceiling from a previous incident. I dont know if this is true or not. but either way the floor was wet.

The staff I spoke to on check in/out were very good. The girl I spoke to on checking out remembered me from informing them about the leak in the roof.

hopefully this is a one off, but if there is a next time of using this hotel, i certainly will be asking for a room on a lower floor!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morley3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Excellent service from the staff making sure everything was ok during checking in and check out processes. Also excellent size room and very clean. Extremely comfy beds with 2 pillows each. Very well located to Manchester central as it only took 10 minutes to walk if that. Can only say that I strongly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medway Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

This is a must to stay here. the staff are so welcoming and friendly and nothing is to much trouble. We have booked eight rooms for January to return with friends. Best one we have stayed in so far. A member of staff by the name kim was so helpful. Cant wait to go back its so central to Canal Street and five minutes in a taxi to The Bird cage. So many places to eat in walking distance.ten minutes walk to the Arndale Centre as well a must for the ladies.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Hotel is great, connecting to WiFi is a problem though. Air con in rooms is brill, really works werll, noise is very minimal seeing as it's right in centre on Manchester. Nice rooms, good food, easy to find.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here last night and from start to finish the staff and service was excellent. Everyones welcoming and so polite and will help you with anything. It was my boyfriends birthday and the two ladies who where on in the restaurant last night were brilliant I think there names where liama and selina (sorry if I got it wrong) they even brought out a cake with candles and a balloon! We will definitely ve staying here again 5* service from start to finish.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairedoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, General Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. I will personally pass your compiments on to Liama and Sherina. They will be over the moon to hear they made you both feel special and helped you celebrate.
Thank you for all your compliments!

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Property: Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Address: The Circus 112-114 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4WB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#12 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Manchester, Piccadilly train station is just a 10 minute walk and there are tram links to Manchester Old Trafford stadium, Manchester City stadium, and Media City Uk. Attractions nearby include Canal Street, Oxford Road, Palace and Opera House theatres and lots of bars and restaurants. Passes for nearby gym facilities are available please enquire at reception. Parking is available at a discounted rate (approx £14.50 per over night stay) at the Q Park on St James St - M1 4LX. Voucher is available from hotel reception upon departure. Our Manchester (Portland Street) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Portland Street) Hotel Manchester
Premier Inn Portland Street
Travel Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing