We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Ranked #28 of 119 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I'm a bit of a 5 star person so was a bit worried that a last minute business trip to Manchester found me at a premier inn, and when the taxi dropped me off outside the entrance my heart sank at the tiny reception. However, I was greeted by a cheery receptionist who couldn't do enough for me, my room was spotless, the bar was fine the food cheery and the breakfast better than the Hilton standard and half the price. I had a solid nights sleep too which as a light sleeper was a bonus. I will definitely insider a premier inn on all occasions when I just need a room rather than a holiday treat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerUsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,678)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,843 - 1,849 of 2,678 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

On the 20th July myself and two friends came to Manchester to compete in the Great Salford one mile swim. We stayed at the Premier Inn Manchester Portland Street. We were very happy with our rooms which were clean and spacious. Kerry on reception made us feel very welcome and took time to ask us how our swim had gone and then in the evening again asked if we had had a good night. Kerry booked all our taxis and looked up directions for us. She was very helpful and polite and made our stay very pleasant. We would definitely stay here again. Angie, Cerian and Claire

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, General Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback. Kerry will be very happy to hear she made you feel so welcome and taken care of.
We look forward to welcoming you back next time in Manchester and our congratulations on completion of your swim!

Kind Reagards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Positive points : big room/bathroom ; comfortable bed ; speedy wifi ; within walking distance to Piccadilly station paid only £60 rm only for 2 nts

negative points. : outside building could do with a clean up looks messy, staff should be more clear how things work in room since no one shows the guests to their room

Room Tip: I had a room at the back no noise from the street forthcoming
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Room 350 on the third floor.

Size of room was good. but couldnt sleep most of the night, due to an uncomfortable bed. to make matters worse and this shouldnt reflect on Premier Inn too much. but there was torrential rain and thunder early morning and water starting leaking in through, i think, an already covered up hole in the ceiling from a previous incident. I dont know if this is true or not. but either way the floor was wet.

The staff I spoke to on check in/out were very good. The girl I spoke to on checking out remembered me from informing them about the leak in the roof.

hopefully this is a one off, but if there is a next time of using this hotel, i certainly will be asking for a room on a lower floor!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morley3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Excellent service from the staff making sure everything was ok during checking in and check out processes. Also excellent size room and very clean. Extremely comfy beds with 2 pillows each. Very well located to Manchester central as it only took 10 minutes to walk if that. Can only say that I strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This is a must to stay here. the staff are so welcoming and friendly and nothing is to much trouble. We have booked eight rooms for January to return with friends. Best one we have stayed in so far. A member of staff by the name kim was so helpful. Cant wait to go back its so central to Canal Street and five minutes in a taxi to The Bird cage. So many places to eat in walking distance.ten minutes walk to the Arndale Centre as well a must for the ladies.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Hotel is great, connecting to WiFi is a problem though. Air con in rooms is brill, really works werll, noise is very minimal seeing as it's right in centre on Manchester. Nice rooms, good food, easy to find.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#36 of 119 in Manchester
2,855 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 119 in Manchester
1,362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#18 of 119 in Manchester
2,543 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Address: The Circus 112-114 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4WB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#12 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £53 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Manchester, Piccadilly train station is just a 10 minute walk and there are tram links to Manchester Old Trafford stadium, Manchester City stadium, and Media City Uk. Attractions nearby include Canal Street, Oxford Road, Palace and Opera House theatres and lots of bars and restaurants. Passes for nearby gym facilities are available please enquire at reception. Parking is available at a discounted rate (approx £14.50 per over night stay) at the Q Park on St James St - M1 4LX. Voucher is available from hotel reception upon departure. Our Manchester (Portland Street) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Portland Street) Hotel Manchester
Premier Inn Portland Street
Travel Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing