We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Ranked #29 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Great location within walking distance to Arndel shopping center, Canal street, China Town and everything else in the Northern Quarter. They have the friendliest staff I have ever met at a hotel, budget or otherwise!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kojiro12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us here at Portland Street. We are glad to hear that the staffs here at the hotel have made your stay even more enjoyable. Your feedback will be passed onto the staff.

We hope that you visit us again soon in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,709)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,763 - 1,769 of 2,709 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here recently for one night - first time we have stayed in Manchester city centre. Excellent location - very near the main attractions and Christmas Market and just a few mintues from pay car parking.

Staff were great - nothing was too much trouble - a special mention must go to Tom on reception.

The only gripe really would be the very hard bed with springs very near the surface. Must admit we didn't really sleep well as they poked us in the back and ribs all night. Even considering the bed problem, we would stay here again - hope the next time we get a softer, more comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMBER24121993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thanks for taking time to review your recent stay here at Portland Street. Firstly we would like to say that we are glad that the location was ideal for you and that the staff mentioned stood out for you. All your feedback will be passed onto the staff member you have mentioned above.

Secondly, I would personally like to apologise for your quality of sleep that you endured during your visit with us. If you decide to stay with us again in the future and you are not entirely happy with your room please do let reception know and we can transfer you rooms (providing rooms are available) so that we can ensure that you have a wonderful time with us and a good nights sleep.

Again I would like to apologise for the sleep quality during your stay.

We hope that we see you again visiting us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Great location and only 2 mins from tram stops so access to anywhere in Manchester is easy

Obviously nothing spectacular if you're looking for something special. But if you're familiar with Premier Inn and other such chains this place does not disappoint. Great facilities, clean rooms, great service, low cost. Only problem was that the bed was a bit squeaky.

Have already booked to stay here again for another gig in February and will probably always stay here if the price is right whenever we visit Manchester.

Would recommend

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CptChunderpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay here in Manchester Portland Street Premier Inn. We hope that you had a wonderful time whilst visiting the city and that in February you again have a great time. If you need directions to any location our staff have great knowledge of the local area and will assist you as much as they can.

If for any reason you were not entirely happy with anything during your stay I would recommend that you call down to reception. From there we can then assist you to ensure that your stay is a wonderful one.

Again, I would like to thank you for the review and we look forward to seeing you in February.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Once again this hotel gave excellent value for money. I would not stay in any other hotel when in Manchester. The staff were all really friendly and attentive. Our room was large with a double and single bed in it. The breakfast each morning was tasty and hot with plenty of variety. We went to visit the Christmas Markets and these were only a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The bus station was just along from the hotel and from there it was possible to visit the Trafford Centre which is worth a visit. I would say stay here you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 112
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maurjam70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you for leaving such a complimentary review about your recent stay. We are so happy to hear that the location, room and breakfast were ok for you. We appreciate your feedback and that you have taken time out to review your stay.

We hope that you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Stayed her from 03/11/13 to 06/11/13. Very clean and staff are very, very friendly and helpful ...they can't do enough. Overall stay was excellent. Would definitely stay here again. Ideal location as it's right on the edge of China town so lots of restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thanks for leaving a review about your recent stay here at Portland Street. We are glad to hear that the staffs were friendly and helpful. The feedback will be passed onto each team at the hotel.

We hope that you enjoyed your 50th Birthday break with us and that we see you again staying with us for the 51st.

Thanks again for leaving your review and we hope that we see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Had never stayed in a Premier Inn before. Most impressed with the whole experience. All staff were friendly and welcoming. Didn't expect to have such a big room. The bed was very comfortable. No noise from anywhere - so peaceful. Breakfast was excellent. Couldn't fault this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 13jennywrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thanks for leaving such a complimentary review about your recent visit to us. We are happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations and that your enjoyed your stay.

We hope that we see you checking in, in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We were made to feel welcome on arrival and although we arrived before the 2p.m. check in there was a room ready for us which was great.
The room had everything you need with a good size en suite lovely and clean with plenty of hot water. We had a quiet room and comfy bed giving us a good night sleep.
The breakfast was excellent all you could eat for £8.50 and was well cooked.
We will certainly stay again.

Thank you to all the premier staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you for taking time review your recent stay with us at Portland Street. We are glad that you enjoyed your time whilst you were staying in Manchester. If you ever need anything during your stay don’t hesitate to ask at reception.

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#37 of 120 in Manchester
2,887 reviews
0.3 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 120 in Manchester
1,366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Manchester Centre
Novotel Manchester Centre
#39 of 120 in Manchester
1,610 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#18 of 120 in Manchester
2,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Address: The Circus 112-114 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4WB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Best Value Hotel in Manchester
#12 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £50 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Manchester, Piccadilly train station is just a 10 minute walk and there are tram links to Manchester Old Trafford stadium, Manchester City stadium, and Media City Uk. Attractions nearby include Canal Street, Oxford Road, Palace and Opera House theatres and lots of bars and restaurants. Passes for nearby gym facilities are available please enquire at reception. Parking is available at a discounted rate (approx £14.50 per over night stay) at the Q Park on St James St - M1 4LX. Voucher is available from hotel reception upon departure. Our Manchester (Portland Street) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Portland Street) Hotel Manchester
Premier Inn Portland Street
Travel Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing