We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, typical premier inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Ranked #27 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good location, typical premier inn”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Good location right next to china town and near the town hall. Not too far to stations, restaurants and bars either. Inside it's a typical premier inn: new, clean, and has all the amenities you'll need for a few nights

Has a bar / restaurant that is open till 1am with basic typcial hotel decor

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveL1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thanks for taking time to leave a review about your recent stay here at Portland Street. We are happy that the location was ideal for you to explore the city.

We hope that we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,293
    875
    283
    92
    63
See reviews for
563
840
190
399
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
northern ireland
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Arrived after a late evening flight to be greeted by very friendly staff.
Room was cosy, & clean. Bathroom was really good, good bright lighting, powerful shower, plenty of hot water, ample toiletries & towels for our 2 night stay at end of October.
Comfy large bed. Not much of a view but I wasn't there to sit & look out of the window!
Nice bar area and again friendly staff. Didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment on that.
Had no issues with this hotel whatsoever & would stay here again if I return to Manchester.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reviewqueen18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thanks for leaving a review about your recent stay. Your feedback is very important to us good or bad. We would like to thank you for leaving a very kind review and hope that you had a pleasant stay whilst you were here with us.

We look forward to seeing you in Manchester some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The people at this hotel were all wonderfully friendly and the hotel provides excellent value for money. It's location is perfect - in particular because of its proximity to the coach station. Do make sure you go to the Visitor's Centre just up the road from the hotel to get yourself orentated if you are staying for a while.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for taking time to leave a review about your stay here with us at Portland Street.

We are happy to hear that the location of our hotel suited your needs. We are also glad to hear that our staff made you feel welcome. Your feedback will be passed onto the team. We take all feedback very seriously at the hotel so we appreciate your kind words towards our staff.

If you decide to stay with us in the future our staff have great knowledge of the local area if you are in need of any directions.

Again I would like to thank you for the review and that we hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Really pleased with this hotel. We walked from Piccadilly Railway Station which took around 10 minutes and we passed the coach station on the way. On arrival, although we were a little early for check-in we had no problem and the receptionist checked us into our rooms straight away. She was very pleasant and helpful, and gave us two rooms next door to each other when we asked. The rooms were fine, nicely decorated and clean and the beds and pillows were very comfy. There was also a kettle with teabags etc and a hair dryer, and flat screen tv with remote. The bathroom was small but fine except that the bath was a bit worn on the base. Nothing too drastic though. Had a good nights sleep and in the morning we were able to leave our luggage at the hotel to collect later, free of charge. We paid just £29 for a Sunday night stay, booked in advance which was a real bargain! Would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mousepractice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay here with us. We are glad to hear that you were happy with everything during your stay. If you ever need anything from any member of our team please don’t hesitate to ask. We operate 24 hours a day and are always happy to help.

We hope that we see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Typical budget hotel experience..... The moment we arrived the place, you can already tell the difference in terms of what they can offer. I always wanted premier inn and choose it over holiday inn or travelodge because you know what to expect......

The rooms are very average... Not so pleased about the receptionist who is very abrupt but hey, it was a saturday so maybe she was not pleased with working on a weekend.

The cleanliness is ok too. The room smelt a bit but not a major issue to be honest.

Check out was nice and quick which is handy!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Great location within walking distance to Arndel shopping center, Canal street, China Town and everything else in the Northern Quarter. They have the friendliest staff I have ever met at a hotel, budget or otherwise!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kojiro12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us here at Portland Street. We are glad to hear that the staffs here at the hotel have made your stay even more enjoyable. Your feedback will be passed onto the staff.

We hope that you visit us again soon in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here recently for one night - first time we have stayed in Manchester city centre. Excellent location - very near the main attractions and Christmas Market and just a few mintues from pay car parking.

Staff were great - nothing was too much trouble - a special mention must go to Tom on reception.

The only gripe really would be the very hard bed with springs very near the surface. Must admit we didn't really sleep well as they poked us in the back and ribs all night. Even considering the bed problem, we would stay here again - hope the next time we get a softer, more comfortable bed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMBER24121993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thanks for taking time to review your recent stay here at Portland Street. Firstly we would like to say that we are glad that the location was ideal for you and that the staff mentioned stood out for you. All your feedback will be passed onto the staff member you have mentioned above.

Secondly, I would personally like to apologise for your quality of sleep that you endured during your visit with us. If you decide to stay with us again in the future and you are not entirely happy with your room please do let reception know and we can transfer you rooms (providing rooms are available) so that we can ensure that you have a wonderful time with us and a good nights sleep.

Again I would like to apologise for the sleep quality during your stay.

We hope that we see you again visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Property: Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Address: The Circus 112-114 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4WB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#11 Best Value Hotel in Manchester
#12 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Manchester, Piccadilly train station is just a 10 minute walk and there are tram links to Manchester Old Trafford stadium, Manchester City stadium, and Media City Uk. Attractions nearby include Canal Street, Oxford Road, Palace and Opera House theatres and lots of bars and restaurants. Passes for nearby gym facilities are available please enquire at reception. Parking is available at a discounted rate (approx £14.50 per over night stay) at the Q Park on St James St - M1 4LX. Voucher is available from hotel reception upon departure. Our Manchester (Portland Street) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Portland Street) Hotel Manchester
Premier Inn Portland Street
Travel Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing