We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to complain about”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Ranked #34 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My partner and i stayed here recently for an event at the Phones 4U arena, the hotel is ideally located with many shops nearby and within walking distance of the arena and the Manchester Piccadally train station.
Upon arrival we were kindly greeted by reception staff who showed us how to use the quick check in kiosk which was done quickly and easily, we had booked a standard double room, the room was satisfactory, it was very clean, only downfall of the stay was some drunken idiots outside our room at around 3am banging which woke us up and seemed to go on for quite some time, other than that we were very pleased with our stay and would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your recent review about your stay with us.

I would to firstly apologize for the disturbance, this is not acceptable and we here at Premier Inn are very serious about keeping noise levels down so our guests can have a great night sleep. I’m sorry that on this occasion we have failed you.

Other than the noise that woke you I hope that you had a fantastic time in Manchester and you had a good time with us at the hotel.

We hope that you visit us again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,819 - 1,825 of 2,810 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

QUIET night, excellent family room, outstanding service, very child friendly.West Side Story and Xmas Market and 2 kids. Needed good hotel and good breakfast and got it. Recommend to any Nan on a W/E|




  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilaryking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thanks for the review about your recent visit to Manchester.

I hope that you had a wonderful time at the Christmas Market and your trip to the theater.

I hope that you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed here on Friday 20th as a party of 8. Booked a few months ago as on the mailing list for deals for Premier Inns. Only paid £35 plus £16.50 for breakfast for 2 people.
Location is brilliant.
Not experienced online check in for hotel before but was very easy. On arrival at the hotel you use a computer to confirm your details and get your room keys (but there is a receptionist if help is needed).
The rooms are quite spacious and very clean.
We didn't use the restaurant but had breakfast in there which was self service buffet style, eat as much as you like (eggs can be ordered cooked differently if requested). It is gorgeous!
Late night bar which was very good too.
Would definitely stay here again.
The room was warm and there was no noise at night at all.

Room Tip: Bar/restaurant is on the 1st floor which we stayed on and there was no noise, no issues where ever y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruth d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for you and your 7 friends for choosing Portland Street Premier Inn.

We hope that you had a great time with us, and that the computer was ok for you whilst checking in.

It is fantastic news to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast I’m sure the Food and Beverage team will be very pleased to hear that.

We hope that you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

I stay at loads of premier inns throughout the year, great room and great staff as usual, but, I can't understand the heating set up, the heating is on and available throughout the day( when you're not in the room) but is off at night( when you are definatley in the room) the staff told me the heating should keep a minimum temperature through the thermostat but it didn't in our room.The stay was marred by the cold, we did complain to the manager who was genuinely concerned and did indeed carry out the premier inn promise and refund our money.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jiak2781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Stayed here for my Old Trafford game.
Good: Near to the Metrolink station, rail.
Plenty of takeouts, restaurant, halal food.
Aleef convenient shop for your drinks, tidbits, pay as you go card. McDonald's for fast food and breakfast.
Shower is perfect temp always. Wonderful.

Bad check in. Staff were busy talking to another guy, not guest, and delayed my check-in. Not happy, especially after long flight and day. Lobby was smelling of urine every time we enter the hotel. Not good. Took deep breath always. Room was too noisy from the noises down the street outside till late night, early morning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zulnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of customer service in all our establishments and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Excellent service again, no room for our luggage(hotel was fully booked) in the luggage room so they checked us into one room early, always stay here if we can as staff are excellent, thankyou again xx

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay here with us at Portland Street Premier Inn.

I would like to apologize for the luggage room being so full but I’m sure as you are aware the hotel can get very busy at peak times. On the other hand I am glad that we was able to check you into a room early.

I hope that you had a wonderful time, and that we see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Large hotel but no noise in the room
Very accomodating staff who went beyond their initial duties to ensure customers were happy
Very efficient check in and check out which saves time in the foyer/reception area
Large very clean rooms
Could have done with a mini bar or fridge for ease but other than this very good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belle1828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thanks for leaving a review about your recent visit to Manchester. I hope that you had a wonderful time whilst with us at the hotel.

At Premier Inn we pride our selves in customer service so it always nice to hear when guests feel our staff have gone above and beyond for them.

I hope that I see you visiting us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel
0.3 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Address: The Circus 112-114 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4WB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#12 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £44 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Manchester, Piccadilly train station is just a 10 minute walk and there are tram links to Manchester Old Trafford stadium, Manchester City stadium, and Media City Uk. Attractions nearby include Canal Street, Oxford Road, Palace and Opera House theatres and lots of bars and restaurants. Passes for nearby gym facilities are available please enquire at reception. Parking is available at a discounted rate (approx £14.50 per over night stay) at the Q Park on St James St - M1 4LX. Voucher is available from hotel reception upon departure. Our Manchester (Portland Street) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Portland Street) Hotel Manchester
Premier Inn Portland Street
Travel Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing