We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Ranked #22 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New years eve”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

The location of this hotel is really good, close to shops. clubs and restaurants are all close by. The service is great, nothing was too much trouble. Staff are friendly and very helpful. Bedrooms are spacious with king size beds and there is no noise from the street below, if you are on the front . Breakfast was self service but very good choices to suit everyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1947sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thanks for the review,

I am pleased that the hotel was the perfect location for you and that our staff made your stay and enjoyable one.

I hope that you had a wonderful time in Manchester and that you return and visit us again in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,256
    837
    261
    85
    59
See reviews for
540
801
183
379
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Perfect location for our stay. We only paid £29 as well and could not fault the hotel. The Room was clean and the staff were excellant. I weill deffinatley come back and would tell anyone to saty here if they want a cheap break.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Portland Street Premier Inn
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and our location suited your needs. Your compliments to our staff members will be passed on and we will let them know you were pleased with the service provided.

As you have mentioned our £29.00 rooms are good value for money. To get the best deals its always a good idea to keep a look out on our website for all the latest offers.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Manchester in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Big fan of Premier Inns in general. Always the best value for money. Only paid £29 for this room. Everything was spot on apart from the second bed not being made up when we got in our room but we switched rooms immediately, both the soap dispensers in the bathroom were not working but we'd taken soap (we let reception know on departure and they said they'd get onto fixing them), and there were no spare toilet rolls but what we had was just about enough anyway. In general though for what you pay at a Premier Inn, the rooms are always spotless and the service second to none. Breakfast is fantastic too. I stayed in a Raddison Blu hotel recently and the brekkie wasn't a patch on a Premier Inn one. One suggestion, if you stay here get a room that is not roadside. It was noisy (but I am a light sleeper and I was on the bed next to the window), my Mum did not hear anything but I would ask for a room not on the road if possible. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for one not on the roadside if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank localgirl030780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us here at Portland Street Premier Inn.

I would firstly like to apologize for checking into a room that did not have the second bed made up for you, the soap dispensers and the toilet roll. This is not acceptable by the standards of Premier Inn and I’m sure to what you have come to expect from us.

I will be looking into this as of why it has happened to ensure that it doesn’t happen again. Regarding the toilet roll, if you ever find yourself needing more just pop down to reception and they can provide you with the essentials.

If in future you are not entirely happy with your room please call to reception so that we can put you in a quieter room to ensure your stay with us is as you have come to expect from Premier Inn.

Secondly I would like to say thank you for the kind words about our breakfast and I’m glad you enjoyed it.

I hope that this did not dampen your stay too much and I hope that you will return to us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and the service was amazing. The staff were always very friendly and helpful (unlike many of the Manchester locals haha ;) ) and were always very welcoming. We had a lovely 3 course meal in the restaurant, the portions were massive and very good value for money - 3 course meal with breakfast the next day for only £22.99!! The breakfast was also very good with a wide range of hot and cold treats to choose from. Overall, excellent value for money and I would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a place to stay only a few minutes walk from the city center. Special should out to Lisa and Becky who work at the hotel who were lovely! Thanks very much Premier Inn!! :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 323Ash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
It is fantastic news that you had a great time in our restaurant and our hotel. This makes us very proud of our team.

We have recently had our restaurant and bar refurbished so I’m sure if you were to come back you would not be disappointed.

We appreciate your feedback regarding the food and restaurant and I’m sure Lisa and Becky will be very happy to hear your comments.

I hope that we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

As usual a warm welcome and clean rooms. The location was excellent to visit the city centre. Also good for train and bus station. A number of good restaurants nearby. Easy the access to Canal Street.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thanks for taking time to review your recent stay with us here at Manchester Premier Inn Portland Street.

I am pleased that our location was well suited for your needs and that everything else was ok for you.

I hope that you visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Fantastic location in city center, close to Piccadilly and Oxford street stations, very good rooms (most not facing the road) lovely breakfast served until noon and staff who seem to genuinely care about guest satisfaction - well done Premier Inn team!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
It is fantastic that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will pass your feedback onto the teams at the hotel, as I am sure they would love to hear your kind words.

I hope that we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nantwich
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

I come to Manchester often and this is where I usually stay. Yeah, people sometimes look down on these 'budget' hotels, but I've travelled a lot and I've paid a lot more for a lot less...

A very comfy bed, a very clean room, a great shower and excellent service on the front desk... whats not to like?

Deffo worth a look if you are coming to Manchester...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevfromthenorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us.

Your kind words about our hotel are very much appreciated. I am happy that you have returned from previous visits this makes us very proud to see our guests returning.

I hope that you come and visit us again soon; we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Property: Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Address: The Circus 112-114 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4WB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#12 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Manchester, Piccadilly train station is just a 10 minute walk and there are tram links to Manchester Old Trafford stadium, Manchester City stadium, and Media City Uk. Attractions nearby include Canal Street, Oxford Road, Palace and Opera House theatres and lots of bars and restaurants. Passes for nearby gym facilities are available please enquire at reception. Parking is available at a discounted rate (approx £14.50 per over night stay) at the Q Park on St James St - M1 4LX. Voucher is available from hotel reception upon departure. Our Manchester (Portland Street) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Portland Street) Hotel Manchester
Premier Inn Portland Street
Travel Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing