We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Ranked #29 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Just had an excellent one night stay to see a concert at Gorilla. Great location for shops and bars. Nice hotel which was very clean. The reception staff were so nice and friendly and this was the case for every member of staff we encountered in the corridors too. Only downside is the television in the bedroom was far too small as we are all used to much larger sizes nowadays. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank squirevenus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thanks for leaving this review about your recent visit to us here at Portland Street.

I am pleased that the location was well suited for you and what you had planned during your stay with us. If you ever need any directions or recommendations our staff have a vast knowledge of the local area.

I am so pleased that you would stay with us again; it makes us feel so proud when our guests return from their previous experience.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,732 - 1,738 of 2,746 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed one night with my boyfriend for a Manchester United game in late December. Rooms only available after 2pm but the staff were willing to store our luggage as we arrived early. Room is typical Premier Inn style, clean but looked a bit worn out compared to other branches. Staff were friendly and helpful. The room price is a bit high but it was the case for all hotels in the area during weekends with football games.

The hotel is near to pubs and restaurants too. Just 5 minute walk to bus and metrolink station. Would recommend it for short break.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chanhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for your review about your recent visit to Premier Inn Portland Street.

Rooms can sometime be available earlier than this, it depends on the occupancy of the night before and on this occasion unfortunately we was fully booked.

It is always nice to hear guests recommending us; it makes us feel like we are giving you a good customer experience.

We hope that we see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Good location for a budget hotel. Close to bars, shops, clubs etc. Will probably use again sometime. Q parks car park close by and hotel offers discount voucher, 24 hours for 14 quid. Quite a few parties staying at hotel but never heard any noise or disturbance's. Good security with card needed for lifts as well as room.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrNHNailsworthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for your recent review about your visit to Manchester. I hope that you had a wonderful time on the stag night. The parking discount that you receive is 30% from your time in the car park.

I hope that we see you again soon, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I definite recommend this hotel to anyone, very comfortable beds,no other noises from room to room and room are clean and tidy and have all the facility you need.and good value for money!great location!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uniqueyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thanks for your review about your recent stay.

I hope that you had a wonderful time whilst visiting us in Manchester. We always appreciate it when our guests say they would recommend other guests to the hotel. It makes the team feel like they are doing a good job and making guests feel happy.

I hope that we see you again visiting us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for one night whilst attending a manchester united game, the rooms are only available after 2pm so bear that in mind if arriving early.

The check in (as per most premier inns now) is done via a machine and it dispenses your keys etc

Room standard for a premier inn very clean,only one minor issue was a towel that was grubby and had hair dye on, not good standards for this hotel.

Breakfast is curently served at another hotel whilst they refurbish the restaurant, not a major hassle as the other premier in is 5 minutes walk away. But wasnt made clear at check in until we asked on sunday morning.

Cheap enough and perfectly acceptable for a night!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank steevo86186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent visit with us here at Portland Street Premier Inn.

As you have mentioned about that check in is only available at 2pm. We do allow early check in it all depends on the occupancy of the night before. Which unfortunately on this occasion we were fully booked.

Check in can be done via machine or at the desk with one of our reception team members.

I would also like to apologize for the towel that you had in your room, this is not acceptable by our standards and I am sorry that on this occasion we have failed. I will now take a look into why this has happened to ensure that this does not happen to guests in the future.

Regarding the breakfast I would again like to apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you.

I hope that you come back and visit soon; we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night early jan efficient friendly staff clean room good central location
and comfortable bed does what it says on the tin . No outside noise tv and tea making in room adequate shower and clean bathroom I would rev commend this hotel for a short city break

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Smudger1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you very much for your review about your recent stay here at Portland Street Premier Inn. I am so pleased that our hotel was ok for you and the room was adequate for you.

I hope that you visit us again soon, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

In short: avoid. Staff was unfriendly and lazy. Although the hotel itself is in a great location and the rooms are good the staff and security people really spoiled our stay and overall experience. When we returned from a night out one of our friends who was staying at a different hotel came with us because he couldn't find some of our other friends and he didn't have the keys to their hotel room. At the entrance the security staff and reception desk people wouldn't let him wait a while in our room. They didn't even let him into the hotel. Where was he supposed to go? As he was our friend and we had paid for the room it was our decission to allow him to our room. The staff mentioned that the terms&conditions didn't allow guests into the rooms between 11pm and 7am, but nowhere in the t&c there is anything mentioned about it. They didn't even care when we tried to discuss this with them. Frankly Premier Inn doesn't seem to care about customer rights! We've been to many hotels around the world and never experienced something like this. It could be a nice place with some effort, but it's not because of the unwilling, unhelpfull staff. And the security makes it even worse. Don't go there, there are better customer friendly hotels in Manchester who actually care about you as a paying guest.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pacificblueboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#55 of 120 in Manchester
98 reviews
0.3 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Address: The Circus 112-114 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4WB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#12 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £48 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Manchester, Piccadilly train station is just a 10 minute walk and there are tram links to Manchester Old Trafford stadium, Manchester City stadium, and Media City Uk. Attractions nearby include Canal Street, Oxford Road, Palace and Opera House theatres and lots of bars and restaurants. Passes for nearby gym facilities are available please enquire at reception. Parking is available at a discounted rate (approx £14.50 per over night stay) at the Q Park on St James St - M1 4LX. Voucher is available from hotel reception upon departure. Our Manchester (Portland Street) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Portland Street) Hotel Manchester
Premier Inn Portland Street
Travel Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing