We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it needs to”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Ranked #29 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We picked this hotel up as somewhere to base a night out from- at £37 a night in the sale we figured it wasn't too much of a loss if it were terrible!

The hotel was a little tricky to find- primarily because of the narrow frontage onto Portland Street- we arrived in heavy rain so were getting a bit wet finding the way from the car park. Having got inside checkin was a breeze with the self-service machines. Magda was also very helpful in explaining why the reservation numbers were different in the confirmation and in making rue we knew how to contact reception in case of noise.

The room (119) was functional rather than luxurious, but perfectly acceptable for the price paid- we particularly liked the shower- very powerful and no shortage of hot water. One extra advantage of it's location was that we could receive free wifi from the Novotel across the road ;-)

Fine hotel for a night out- we weren't disturbed in the night (mind you we'd had a skin full so it would have taken an earthquake to get us up) probably wouldn't want to stay too long though- just a bit too functional.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abomination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

It is always appreciated when our guests leave a review about their recent stay with us.

If you ever have trouble finding the hotel if you decide to stay in the future, if you contact reception are always on hand to help you find your way. (If you were to get lost again)

I am glad that check in was ok for you and that our lovely Magda was there to assist you.

I hope that you had a wonderful time whilst in Manchester and that our location was ok for you.

If you visit us again we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,765)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,744 - 1,750 of 2,766 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

an overnight stay with all the amenities required for a city break with friends, good location for restaurants & nightlife.Nearby car park at reduced price . Staff very friendly, brilliant breakfast..


  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maffjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for your review,

It is always nice when our guests say that they had a good time whilst with us at the hotel.

I hope that our team made you feel at home and you and your friends had a great time in Manchester.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This was the second time we stayed at Portland Street Premier Inn. Magda on Reception was extremely friendly and was quite excited to inform us of the recently opened bar & restaurant. We took the opportunity to eat at the Restaurant and have to say we were extremely pleased by the attentive service and value for money.
We would definitely stay again and recommend to friends. Location extremely convenient for gig venue and shops. Parking is at Q Park and you receive a receipt from the hotel to get 30% off the car parking fee. For some reason, this didnt work (we tried it more than once to no avail) but had worked on our last stay. Unfortunately, we didnt have time to go back to the hotel to get another one. This was the only down side to an extremely enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: we stayed on the first floor as we wanted Wifi - apparently any higher than first and poor signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PBower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for your recent review about your stay here with us at Portland Street Premier Inn. It is always very nice to hear when our staffs are being singled out for how friendly they have been.

I will let Magda know about your kind words, as I am sure she will be very pleased to hear them.

Regarding the parking I would like to apologize. I am not too sure how this has happened but I would like to apologize for it. If this does happen in future please don’t hesitate to come back to the hotel and get another discount card. Or alternatively speak to a car park attendant.

It is also very pleasing to know that you would stay here again and that you would recommend us to your friends, we take customer satisfaction very seriously at Premier Inn and are glad that we have got it right for you during your stay.

I hope that we see you again checking in with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This is such a friendly place to stay. We had a party of 16 and the staff made sure we were all on the same floor which was really nice. Its so close to everything. The only downside is that it does not have its own car park so could be a bit expensive.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for your recent review about you and your 15 friends stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback about your stay and hope that you had a wonderful time whilst in Manchester.

Regarding the car park, We have a car park which all of our guests get 30% discount from which is located the first left after the hotel called the ‘Q Park’ You can pick the discount card up from reception and they will send tell you the steps to claim the 30%.

We hope that you come back and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Booked on the Friday for a Sunday Check In, was asked online if we required breakfast which we did, and was asked by text the next day if we required dinner which we didn't (luckily). Room was clean and comfortable - no problem. On checking in we were informed that the kitchen was being refurbished and food was unavailable and was directed to the nearest Wetherspoons! Plus side was location, nearby is theatreland, China Town, shops, bars and luckily for us restaurants.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quiter at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thanks for your feedback. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible service. Once again thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

A great hotel in central Manchester. Near the town hall and library and about 15 minutes walk to the Universities. Room had all the facilities you could want and was immaculately clean. Staff were friendly and very efficient (especially Reception). Overall a hotel hard to fault especially for the price paid.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 533John_C533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay here at Portland Street Premier Inn.

I am happy that our location was well suited for you and what you needed to do whilst staying with us.

I will pass your kind words onto the reception team. We look forward to you visiting us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Excellent hotel and a good value for money paid. Pretty Nice rooms, Very Clean and it is situated in the city Centre just 3 minutes walking distance from the best Shopping Locations and also from the Train and Tram Main Station Piccadily Gardens. Also the staff are super friendly and they look forward to help you during your stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scoglitti-Malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

It is very nice to hear customer reviews about how friendly our staff have been during your stay. I hope that you had a lovely time exploring the city and had a nice time shopping.

I hope that you visit us again soon; we look forward to it checking you in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#55 of 120 in Manchester
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Address: The Circus 112-114 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4WB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#12 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £46 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Manchester, Piccadilly train station is just a 10 minute walk and there are tram links to Manchester Old Trafford stadium, Manchester City stadium, and Media City Uk. Attractions nearby include Canal Street, Oxford Road, Palace and Opera House theatres and lots of bars and restaurants. Passes for nearby gym facilities are available please enquire at reception. Parking is available at a discounted rate (approx £14.50 per over night stay) at the Q Park on St James St - M1 4LX. Voucher is available from hotel reception upon departure. Our Manchester (Portland Street) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Portland Street) Hotel Manchester
Premier Inn Portland Street
Travel Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing