We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, excellent stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Ranked #20 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great value, excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed our stay. The room was clean and the bed was comfy. It was excellent value and in a great location.
Will definitely stay again. Plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. Close to china town :)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lady_lolo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thanks for leaving a review about your recent visit with us here at Portland Street Premier Inn.

I am pleased that our location was well suited for you and what you had planned during your stay with us.

We are also very happy to hear that you will stay here again with us; it makes us as a team very proud when guests return from their previous experiences.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,246
    816
    249
    81
    55
See reviews for
524
781
182
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Great friendly staff. Used their iron and it left marks on a white shirt , not a problem they told us to buy a new one and refunded the cost with no problem just lots of apologies. Fantastic staff and location

Room Tip: Side or back is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbicanlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guest,

I am very sorry to hear this about the iron on your shirt. I am not too sure how this has happened but I will be looking into it so that this does not happen again in the future.

I hope that this did not dampen your stay with us and that you had a wonderful time in Manchester.

We hope that you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

A fan of premier inn as you know what your getting, room was clean tidy and all facilities working. Staff were brilliant, very helpful and friendly, which can often be lacking in budget hotels. Agree with below review about room being cold- thermostat didn't seem to do much and turned heater on only for a few minutes? Didn't effect sleep though, bed was very comfy. Had a room at the end of corridor so hardly any noise from other guests. Shower was very powerful. Had breakfast one morning, buffet style. Nothing to write home about but did the job-although for price would probably go the wether spoons next door! Great location,very central. As before, all staff we encountered, from recpetion,bar staff,waiters and cleaners were very friendly and polite. Can't fault them

Room Tip: We had room 234. End corridor so little noise, but long walk down corridor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katiemuka33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us here at Portland Street Premier Inn.

Thank you for the kind words about our staff, it is always nice to hear our staff doing a good job to ensure guests have a brilliant stay.

If you stay with us in the future please don’t hesitate to call our reception team who will assist you on how to ensure your thermostat heater stays warm for you.

We hope that you had a pleasant stay here in Manchester and that you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Premier inn used to be perceived as good value. These days there prices are pretty much comparable to hotels of a similar standard.

Portland street is a good location. However I did not have a good nights sleep, as I was freezing and could get the thermostat to work. Do I ask for refund based on the good night guarantee? No because last time I about noise I got told I should have called reception I.e. Always sense they came up with an excuse.

Though no complaints about staff, very friendly and helpful.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank RutgerKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your recent review about your stay with us here at Portland Street Premier Inn.

I would like to apologize for your stay with us, as you never got a good night sleep. And here at Premier Inn we take this very seriously. If for any reason you feel that you did not have a good nights sleep please let the reception staff aware of this and you will get a full refund from the nights stay under the ‘good night guarantee’

If in future your thermostat doesn’t seem to be working please call down to reception and they will come and assist you to make sure you have a good night sleep with us.

We will do everything in our power to ensure your stay with us is a pleasant one.

I hope that you give us a second chance, and that we see you again checking in soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

We have stayed in several Premier Inns now and have come to greatly appreciate the familiarity, value for money and good rooms. We checked-in with an exceptionally welcoming receptionist. The location was fab. Not too far from the train station and an easy walk to the shops. Our room was large (family room) but definitely in need of some tlc compared with other premier inns that we have stayed in. There was also a slight musty smell. My husband noticed a small hole in the ceiling and when it began to rain outside, the hole begin to drip water. Also, the extractor fan in the bathroom (which did not work and for which I could not find an on/off switch) was dripping water. Fortunately, we did not notice both of these things until the morning of our check out and when I notified the receptionist she was very apologetic. Restaurant was very pleasant and we had a lovely breakfast with a really lovely waitress looking after us. All in all you can't knock the value for money, the location and the staff but I have stayed in smarter Premier Inn rooms.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for leaving a review about your recent stay here at Portland Street Premier Inn.

All feedback is greatly appreciated good or bad and I would like to apologize about your room condition. This is not acceptable and is not to the standard that you have come to expect from Premier Inn. I will look into why this has happened to ensure that it doesn’t happen again.

Your kind words towards our staff are very much appreciated and I will pass on your kind words to our teams within the hotel.

I hope that we see you checking in with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feltre, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

This hotel was great value for money friendly staff and a great location. The room was clean and comfortable. The car park was easy to find and I thought good value for money. I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pboulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us here in Manchester.

I am glad that you found everything ok with your stay and that you would use us again.

I hope that you had a wonderful time whilst visiting the hotel and hope that we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
272 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Could not believe how cheap it was for two of us to stay for two nights especially with the location of this hotel. We were in Manchester for a show and this hotel was very close to this venue, great shops and many restaurants in the city centre.Automated Check in was quick and easy and the staff were very pleasant. Rooms were clean comfortable and functional, a few more teabags would have been good but Im sure we would have just had to ask. I wouldnt hesitate to recommened this hotel for location and value and would stay here again! We didnt eat in it so cant comment on the food.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mags1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your recent review about your stay here with us at Portland Street Premier Inn.

I am happy that you found our location good and was not too far a walk for your show.

Regarding the tea bags. If you ask at reception for tea bags they will be more than happy to supply you with them that is not a problem.

If you decide to stay with us in the future, I would recommend trying our breakfast to kick start your day. We have many selections such as a continental breakfast to an all you can eat breakfast. I am sure you would not be disappointed.

We hope that we see you checking in with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,675 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Property: Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Address: The Circus 112-114 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4WB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#9 Best Value Hotel in Manchester
#12 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Manchester, Piccadilly train station is just a 10 minute walk and there are tram links to Manchester Old Trafford stadium, Manchester City stadium, and Media City Uk. Attractions nearby include Canal Street, Oxford Road, Palace and Opera House theatres and lots of bars and restaurants. Passes for nearby gym facilities are available please enquire at reception. Parking is available at a discounted rate (approx £14.50 per over night stay) at the Q Park on St James St - M1 4LX. Voucher is available from hotel reception upon departure. Our Manchester (Portland Street) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Portland Street) Hotel Manchester
Premier Inn Portland Street
Travel Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing