We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good night's sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Ranked #24 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good night's sleep”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Excellent location in town centre so close to all amenities.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Rooms were clean. bed very comfortable.
Restaurant set out very well had a good selection of hot and cold drinks and choice of cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for leaving a review about your recent stay with us here at Portland Street Premier Inn.

I am happy that you found our location well suited for your needs and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope that we see you checking in with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,287
    867
    274
    90
    63
See reviews for
557
832
190
392
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Great stay here. Good location helpful staff and comfy beds what more could you want?! The alarm did go off at one point although this was mid-afternoon so we did not mind as it caused minimal disruption. The manager sorted this out quickly for us. Would stay again. Thank you

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahedenjanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thanks for reviewing your stay with us at Premier Inn Portland Street.

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that the problems with the fire alarm were resolved quickly and did not cause too much disturbance.

I hope that we see you checking in with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longford, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Weekend football trip with 12 year old daughter. Didn't book breakfast but under 16's ate free so buffet worked out cheap and well worth it.Hotel & room clean. Only negative things were it was a small bit hard to find, noisy outside at night with traffic & cud only book in after 2pm. Location was great.Staff were very friendly. Wud def stay again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Busby1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us,

I am happy that you enjoyed the breakfast with us and that it was sufficient for you and your daughter.

If you ever need directions to the hotel just give our reception team a call and they can assist you so that you arrive on time and don’t get too lost. Anytime you need directions or recommendations our staff have a vast knowledge of the local area and print you out maps accordingly.

We sometimes allow early check-ins, however this depends on the occupancy of the night before and on this occasion we were fully booked.

We hope to see you checking in with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed one night at this inn in the center of Manchester on the edge of China town. Room was excellent as were the very friendly and attentive staff. Breakfast was a must. Parking is at a car park close to inn and a voucher is provided to get 30% off, 1.30pm - 10am cost £14 with voucher. This inn was in a prime position to explore the city on foot, will definitely use this inn again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara-louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thanks for the review about your recent stay with us here at Portland Street Premier Inn.

I am happy to hear that our location was well suited for your needs. If you ever need directions or recommendations our staff have great knowledge of the local area.

We are also very happy to hear that you will be coming back to stay with us again.

We hope that we see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I stayed here with my daughter and a friend whilst going to a concert, we booked in for the 11/02/14. We were greeted by a lovely young man at reception and were booked in very efficiently , our room was very clean and comfortable, and the beds as usual very comfy. In the morning we went down for breakfast and was pleasantly surprised at how beautiful the restaurant was, the vast food available was spot on, variety of choices to suit everyone which we all thoroughly enjoyed and the staff were all very pleasant. As we were the last people there waiting to catch the train back home we got chatting to the staff about our journey, usually takes 3 hours but we had been warned about the stormy weather back home in North Wales, so because of this we were offered to take croissants and muffins that were left there, and also hot drinks to take us with us too, which were given to us in a little carrier, how lucky we were!! Because our journey home almost took 6 hours, due to damaged railway lines and blocked roads due to fallen trees, so this "extra" friendly staff and their kindness was a GREAT help, Thank you all so much for your generosity. We will return to this hotel for our next visit to Manchester.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review about your stay with us here at Portland Street Premier Inn.

I am so pleased that you had a wonderful time whilst visiting us in Manchester.

It makes me so proud to hear our team delivering you a fantastic service where you have come away and praised them for their efforts.

I hope that the train journey back to North Wales was not too intense and you were ok in getting home safely.

We can’t wait to see you come back to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here after all trains were cancelled home due to the high winds. I initially went to the dale street hotel who although full had very friendly staff booking people into their other city centre hotels. When I arrived at this hotel there was a long queue however the staff were very efficient and I was checked in within 10 minutes. As my stay over was unplanned I didn't have my phone charger with me, the staff were very helpful and offered to charge my phone in reception. The room was typical of a premier inn, clean and comfortable. My only gripe was the bathroom which was looking a little tired around the edges. The staff, although very busy for a Wednesday night, were great and very helpful, I imagine they had had a very stressful day with a large amount of unexpected guests but they dealt with everyone with a smile on their face.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank LMC86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your review about your recent unexpected visit to us at Portland Street Premier Inn.

I hope that everything was ok for you after you departed from us. But thank you for the kind words about our staff I’m sure they will be very happy to hear nice feedback.

I hope that we see you again checking in with us one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

just as the TV ad says a good nights sleep in an excellent hotel modern and comfortable the best.From the outside of the hotel it does not give the right impression of the facilities and decor which are inside which are of the highest standard . The hotel is id.ealy situated for visiting manchester city center and the theatres and restaurants




  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 53vince53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thanks for leaving a review about your recent stay here at Portland Street Premier Inn.

It is very nice to hear when our guests have nice things to say about us and are pleasantly surprised when staying with us. I hope that you had a wonderful time in Manchester.

I hope that we see you again visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 116 in Manchester
2,451 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
0.1 mi away
Novotel Manchester Centre
Novotel Manchester Centre
#43 of 116 in Manchester
1,553 reviews
0.3 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#8 of 116 in Manchester
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Property: Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Address: The Circus 112-114 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4WB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#12 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Manchester, Piccadilly train station is just a 10 minute walk and there are tram links to Manchester Old Trafford stadium, Manchester City stadium, and Media City Uk. Attractions nearby include Canal Street, Oxford Road, Palace and Opera House theatres and lots of bars and restaurants. Passes for nearby gym facilities are available please enquire at reception. Parking is available at a discounted rate (approx £14.50 per over night stay) at the Q Park on St James St - M1 4LX. Voucher is available from hotel reception upon departure. Our Manchester (Portland Street) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Portland Street) Hotel Manchester
Premier Inn Portland Street
Travel Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing