We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Ranked #32 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Loved staying here, the staff were friendly, place was big clean and just excellent all round!
One of the nicest premier inns we have stayed at so far. Will be coming back here if we are in Manchester again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christabel90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thanks for your great review on your stay at Portland Street Premier Inn

The team here at Portland street work really hard to ensure our guest have a great stay and enjoy there time while staying with us and its nice to hear that you had a great time and have chosen ourselves to be your chosen hotel when next visiting Manchester

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,848)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,734 - 1,740 of 2,848 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stopped at the hotel on a Friday night and got a really good deal for room and breakfast. The room was facing the main street opposite the cross street traffic lights and there was virtually no noise from the outside world, except the occasional siren which managed to wail through the secondary glazing. There were some noisy guests who had no regard for others trying to sleep but this can happen in any hotel and did not carry on long or I would have dealt with it myself. The breakfast, which we pre ordered when booking had usual choices of cereal, toast or cooked breakfast but had lots of choice e.g. many items on the cooked breakfast and even crumpets on the bread selection. The staff we encountered were very polite and helpful. We arrived before the 2pm check in allowed time but the receptionist said our room was ready so we could go straight up. The restaurant staff, Paulo in particular, were very cheerful and asked us if we had been before and explained what there was on offer and asked if we wanted different kinds of egg than the fried on offer or if we wanted any porridge. Very good stay at the Premier Inn, Portland Street and very good if you are going to the Palace Theatre as it is just around the corner.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room facing into the quad away from the street side of the buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllieChic99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

It’s always nice when guest take the time and trouble to review their stay with us.

Its especially pleasing to hear that the hotel and our teams delivered the standards and service levels that helped make your stay such a pleasant one. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding Paulo in our restaurants, I will be sure to pass on your comments to him.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Manchester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

A clean, modern, hotel in a great location. We both had an excellent nights sleep with minimal noise from outside. We were impressed as we haven't been in a Premier Inn for several years, so will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaFiddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review

It’s always nice to be able to feedback to the team that our guest enjoy their time with us and the hard work the team put in is really appreciated.

We hope to see you again the next time your visiting Manchester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Premier Inn Portland Street is in a perfect location - 5 minutes from the City Centre, Canal Street and the Coronation Street tour.
We had dinner in the restaurant on the first night. Breakfast was excellent with a varied selection and all well cooked.
Rooms were well appointed and comfortable, everything to a high standard.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, I was almost surprised by this in what is basically a budget hotel. We would like to make special mention of Sherina, who gave us lots of help with restaurants, bars and was very cheerful and welcoming.
Altogether, an ideal choice for a great weekend in Manchester.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plymsunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you for such a lovely review of your stay with us.

Myself and the team are always pleased when we receive such great feedback as they work exceptionally hard to make sure our guest have a Great nights sleep and are always on hand to assist where ever possible.
It's nice when our guest take full advantage of our all you can eat breakfast and find it to be fantastic like yourselves
Thank you for your lovely comments regarding Sherina which I will take pleasure in passing on.

We hope to see you again the next time your visiting manchester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights whilst visiting for my husband running the marathon. Staff on reception were lovely & our room was spacious. On our first morning housekeeping came to door at 10am wanting in but as I was just out shower I asked him to come back. We returned several hours later once marathon was finished to discover beds had been made but that's it. I had to request clean towels & toilet paper as we'd run out. On our next day we returned to our room to find housekeeping hadn't been at all. We made our own beds & when I phoned reception to request our room be cleaned I was told housekeeping had left for the day. After I complained a member if reception came up with clean towels & emptied our bins. So basically our entire stay our room wasn't cleaned. Totally unacceptable!! I complained to reception & was given a £60 discount on our stay which I was happy enough with. Overall I wasn't impressed with our stay & would choose a different hotel next time.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank shazbo92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a clean and comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This was our second visit to Portland Street Premier Inn. The check in staff were lovely and friendly. We were allowed to check in before 2pm which was very helpful. The position of the hotel is perfect for the Theatres and many cosy local pubs.The security is very good as you need to use the key card to enter the lifts, and main hotel door if you return late.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Val E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you for such great feedback

It's always nice to hear when returning guest have a fantastic stay and I'm glad you found the reception team to be freindly and helpful and you received a lovely welcome. The team do work so hard to ensure your stay is perfect
As you have mentioned we do have good security and only your key card will allow guest in the building

We're glad you enjoyed your time in manchester and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next vist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Great hotel, had a lovely stay! The staff were friendly and helpful as soon as we entered the doors. The room was fab, very clean and the most comfortable bed. High standards for a budget hotel. They also let us leave our luggage after check out which was very much appreciated. We definitely recommend and will be staying her again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sadie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you for your recent review

Sounds like you had a fab time while staying with us here at portland street premier Inn and you found the staff to be freindly and helpful throughout your stay which is wonderful to hear as they work so hard to ensure our guest have a great time while staying with us.
As you mention in your review we have a luggage room for guest to use, which is always a bonus if u have more shopping to do before you leave for home.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
0.1 mi away
Novotel Manchester Centre
Novotel Manchester Centre
#41 of 121 in Manchester
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Address: The Circus 112-114 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4WB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#12 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £51 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Manchester, Piccadilly train station is just a 10 minute walk and there are tram links to Manchester Old Trafford stadium, Manchester City stadium, and Media City Uk. Attractions nearby include Canal Street, Oxford Road, Palace and Opera House theatres and lots of bars and restaurants. Passes for nearby gym facilities are available please enquire at reception. Parking is available at a discounted rate (approx £14.50 per over night stay) at the Q Park on St James St - M1 4LX. Voucher is available from hotel reception upon departure. Our Manchester (Portland Street) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Portland Street) Hotel Manchester
Premier Inn Portland Street
Travel Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing