We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Ranked #19 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice clean hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed last weekend with my boyfriend and we had a great time. Room was clean bed was comfy.

We stayed on the 7th floor it was v.quiet which was great although house keeping came v.late around 2pm or so we had been out all morning and just arrived back. Perhaps it was just a busy day!

We only had one problem where we couldn't close the window and recieved no ans when I rang reception twice however when I went down the girl at reception was lovely.

We did eat in the resturant we had a starter to share it was good but wasn't as good as the one we had in the old trafford premier inn last yr. It was unreal!! We had asked for chips but the girl forgot to bring them and to be honest so did we until we were paying. We just had dessert after
The cookie oreo one was amazing.

We also found the cosmetics in the bathroom much nicer at Old Trafford. I would advise people to bring their own as those provided are quite cheap.

Breakfast was also really tasty... over all a nice premier inn walking distance from the train station and the shops.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laurz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,246
    816
    249
    81
    55
See reviews for
524
781
182
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Excellent location. Usual premier inn standard although rooms seemed a little smaller than in some of their hotels. Clean room and bathroom. Felt safe in hotel as security good. Outside of building needs redecorating! Would stay there again. Easy online check in prior to visit. Checkout great at 12 noon! Left our cases there until after 6pm when we were going for train. Kerry very friendly and helpful. Every little helps!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belle173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thanks for your recent review on your stay with us.
Its always nice to hear when our guest have a lovely stay and make the most of the services we provide, enabling you to make the most of your stay.
I will pass on your lovely comments to Kerry who will be pleased to hear you found her to be very helpful and friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Manchester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

This hotel is approx. 15 minute walk from Piccadilly Station. Appearance from the outside is very deceptive. The hotel is larger than it looks. Overall stay was quite good apart from noise from other guests/visitors (who can be inconsiderate!).

On the flip side, I was not too impressed with dinner selection - it needs more variety. On the other hand, the "all you can eat" breakfast certainly made up for it!! Great value for money.

On the whole, quite a good hotel for the money. Worth a visit if on a tight budget.

By the way, Manchester is excellent for shopping. I will certainly visit again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yetti1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thanks for your recent review on your recent stay with us here at Portland street premier inn

Its always nice when our guest take the time to review there stay with us and I am glad to hear you had a fab time, took full advantage of our all you can eat breakfast and had a great nights sleep

We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Manchester for a shopping trip or a night out
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

nice place to stay in the center of mancehster, wlaking distance from shopping , dining and business meetings. friendly staff and simple check in and fast , helpful staff , casual and friendly. no paperwork or lots of signing stuff. rooms comfortable and clean. TV screen could be more flexible and adjustable, otherwise room provisions wre excellent


  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yasein E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay with us

It s nice to hear you really enjoyed your stay with us and found the easy check in service to be beneficial and our hotel to be in a central location for all your needs.
The team here at Portland street work tirelessly to ensure our guest have a fantastic stay and I am very pleased to hear you found them to be very helpful and friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Loved staying here, the staff were friendly, place was big clean and just excellent all round!
One of the nicest premier inns we have stayed at so far. Will be coming back here if we are in Manchester again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christabel90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thanks for your great review on your stay at Portland Street Premier Inn

The team here at Portland street work really hard to ensure our guest have a great stay and enjoy there time while staying with us and its nice to hear that you had a great time and have chosen ourselves to be your chosen hotel when next visiting Manchester

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stopped at the hotel on a Friday night and got a really good deal for room and breakfast. The room was facing the main street opposite the cross street traffic lights and there was virtually no noise from the outside world, except the occasional siren which managed to wail through the secondary glazing. There were some noisy guests who had no regard for others trying to sleep but this can happen in any hotel and did not carry on long or I would have dealt with it myself. The breakfast, which we pre ordered when booking had usual choices of cereal, toast or cooked breakfast but had lots of choice e.g. many items on the cooked breakfast and even crumpets on the bread selection. The staff we encountered were very polite and helpful. We arrived before the 2pm check in allowed time but the receptionist said our room was ready so we could go straight up. The restaurant staff, Paulo in particular, were very cheerful and asked us if we had been before and explained what there was on offer and asked if we wanted different kinds of egg than the fried on offer or if we wanted any porridge. Very good stay at the Premier Inn, Portland Street and very good if you are going to the Palace Theatre as it is just around the corner.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room facing into the quad away from the street side of the buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AllieChic99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
It’s always nice when guest take the time and trouble to review their stay with us.

Its especially pleasing to hear that the hotel and our teams delivered the standards and service levels that helped make your stay such a pleasant one. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding Paulo in our restaurants, I will be sure to pass on your comments to him.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Manchester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

A clean, modern, hotel in a great location. We both had an excellent nights sleep with minimal noise from outside. We were impressed as we haven't been in a Premier Inn for several years, so will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaFiddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthQuinn, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review

It’s always nice to be able to feedback to the team that our guest enjoy their time with us and the hard work the team put in is really appreciated.

We hope to see you again the next time your visiting Manchester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,681 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Property: Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Address: The Circus 112-114 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4WB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Best Value Hotel in Manchester
#12 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Manchester, Piccadilly train station is just a 10 minute walk and there are tram links to Manchester Old Trafford stadium, Manchester City stadium, and Media City Uk. Attractions nearby include Canal Street, Oxford Road, Palace and Opera House theatres and lots of bars and restaurants. Passes for nearby gym facilities are available please enquire at reception. Parking is available at a discounted rate (approx £14.50 per over night stay) at the Q Park on St James St - M1 4LX. Voucher is available from hotel reception upon departure. Our Manchester (Portland Street) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Portland Street) Hotel Manchester
Premier Inn Portland Street
Travel Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing