We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Ranked #26 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Great location, fab friendly staff, lovely comfortable rooms. Very secure and modern hotel. Smooth booking experience with offers if booking well in advance. Easy checkin online or on arrival. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnmarieClayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,510 - 1,516 of 2,715 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here last week, and once again was wonderful.

Lovely clean room, everything you need, nothing more nothing less, parking was easy and fairly cheap £14 for 24 hours.

Breakfast was gorgeous, as always. cant wait to stay again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kezzerio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Hotel was ok, staff were friendly. No cot in room when arrived but soon sorted.
Had two rooms as could not fit all of us in one room. I stayed in a room at front with 2 of my children. My husband had a room the other side at back with our other 2 children. It wasn't particularly clean, straws and other rubbish on floor. There was also no toilet paper so had to go to a local shop to buy some. Went out and came back early evening and felt quite un comfortable going back in to hotel as there were homeless people out side every where. You practically had to climb over them to get in to hotel.

Windows in the room I was in were jammed open so first night did not sleep as all could hear was the traffic and drunks. Breakfast in the morning was a experience. Staff were polite but could barely speak or understand English. Tried to put us on a table for 4 when we were a family of six. Had to tell them 6 time before they finally understood and put us on table correct size.
Food was not that good. Scrambled egg rubbery, toaster beyond useless just moved too slow and burned toast. Rest of food not much better.

Second night a bit better staff managed to close window. So was bit quieter.

I had 2 rooms for 2 night including breakfast and spent just under £400. I don't think it was worth it.

I would stay again if had another hospital appointment for my children only because it is quite near. But I'm not sure I would have the breakfast again if did stay there again.

Not sure I would recommend hotel unless you have no other choice.

Staff did refund one night on one room which is some thing.

Room Tip: Get a room at back away from road where it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I've stayed at 3 different city centre Premier Inn's and they're all within easy walking distance of the centre. This was my least favourite, simply because the others seemed a little more fresh and modern. Nothing wrong with this place and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. But my room was cleaned, towels removed and not replaced, and the in-room wifi wasn't working. I'd stay again, but if other Premier Inn's have space, I'd choose a different one.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ethoscon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I'd never stayed in Manchester before and here on business. Having been placed on the third floor the room had been refurbbed so it was lovely. Big comfy bed, fab comfy pillows, tv on wall and the bathroom was great, good size bath and shower. The biggest point to make about the room was that it was spotlessly clean. Very nice indeed. The hotel is a great place to stay location wise for central Manchester!
The one thing that sticks in my mind the most is the staff! They are all wonderful, very friendly, welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. Their so polite and curtious! I have to say a big thank you to the restaurant staff! They are an asset to the Premiere Inn. Especially thanks to Luis the waiter. Luis is exceptional, so friendly, hospitable nothings too much, a great waiter. Luis is so friendly and it was wonderful to be able to make your guests feel so welcome, especially if your staying on your own. Luis also recommended a few places to visit as i was not a local and i did, they were fab! Thanks.
The food in the restaurant was great, i was not expecting anything fancy but it was better than expected, cooked superbly, very tasty and a great choice. Really good portion sizes too. I ate at the hotel all week sampling different meals and i was not disappointed. Lovely breakfast too, superb choice.
Happy hour on drinks Mon-Thurs 5pm - 7pm.
Great place all in all but the staff really make the stay pleasant. They really deserve a mention because they all looked and sounded happy in their jobs.
Thank you all

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Writei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

At first, fairly average but we were moved to a newly re-furbished family room which was much better. Service and security were excellent which is important for us trans people. Staff were really friendly and extra coffee supplies always cheerfully supplied. Showers were excellent and very quick to reach temperature and soap supplies adequate.

We also tried the restaurant on the last night and the food was excellent plus a sensible meal deal for breakfast the following morning made our stay rewarding and very pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I and my friend stayed at the hotel for one night, and it was a pleasant stay. The hotel was located near the railway station and it was clean and quiet. The staff was friendly, although we had to ask for an extra duvet twice. Breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Helpyourselfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#65 of 120 in Manchester
35 reviews
0.3 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 120 in Manchester
1,370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Manchester Centre
Novotel Manchester Centre
#38 of 120 in Manchester
1,615 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#17 of 120 in Manchester
2,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Address: The Circus 112-114 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4WB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Best Value Hotel in Manchester
#12 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £50 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Manchester, Piccadilly train station is just a 10 minute walk and there are tram links to Manchester Old Trafford stadium, Manchester City stadium, and Media City Uk. Attractions nearby include Canal Street, Oxford Road, Palace and Opera House theatres and lots of bars and restaurants. Passes for nearby gym facilities are available please enquire at reception. Parking is available at a discounted rate (approx £14.50 per over night stay) at the Q Park on St James St - M1 4LX. Voucher is available from hotel reception upon departure. Our Manchester (Portland Street) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Portland Street) Hotel Manchester
Premier Inn Portland Street
Travel Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing