We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New glam decor is faboosh!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Ranked #29 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is my second time staying here and the newly refurbished rooms on the 3rd room is amazingly luxurious. Wonderfully clean and the breakfast as always is lush. The staff are friendly and helpful day and night. As for the bed...I have to get that mattress as it is the best sleep ever.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,742)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,530 - 1,536 of 2,742 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed here on a Friday night due to a early train to London the next day, very helpful staff, great air conditioned room, good location for the Piccadilly train station 10 min walk, didn't eat so cant comment, but would stay here again definitely, we had a 6th floor room nice and clean no problems at all.

Room Tip: top floor very quite on a noisy manchester weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Crushtastica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great service from all the staff. rooms were really comfy like Lenny Henry says on TV. Breakfast was excellent, not greasy at all. The lady, Paz at breakfast was extremely helpful and made sure we all had enough to eat. The bed was so comfy and even though the day and night was very hot, the room was a good temperature.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Timely check in. All questions/directions promptly answered by staff. Our room was a recently renovated one, therefore very clean, fresh and nicely decorated as well. Mattress, linens and pillow all excellent quality. Location was great: close to Centre City, tram stops and Picadilly train station as well. A small safe and an iron with an ironing board in the room would be a definite asset.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFM64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel is a gem! We stayed for two nights for my friends wedding. We really had a great sleep as it was extremely quiet. |Really great price. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough--- brilliant location too!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lottielou15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Bit of a mixed review here. The hotel is currently going thru a refurb and we had no warning about this even after it been booked 8 month in advance.
1 couple received a brand new refurb room (249) and we received a room (229) in the middle of the building site, which to me should haven't even open to the public.
And then this leads me to my next bit, after arriving back in from a night out around midnight we was meet by the entrance to our room been blocked off by a big board saying no customers past this point.
The room was fine but we complained in the morning and received a refund. The staff member did tell us that they was fully booked thou.
To finish off we stay in 1 of these every month as a treat and a night out and this is the worst experience we've had in a premier inn.

Room Tip: Not in a building site
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here for the second time and as per previous review, the staff are still exceptional. I recognised some of them from the previous visit which I think is a good sign. Beds are comfy, rooms clean, breakfast excellent. The only drawback is that I looked back at my previous review and I paid £68 last time compared to £100 this time. Not sure if it was because it was a Saturday night or because I booked late but it's quite a difference! The location was perfect for me though so I was willing to pay the extra.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lathey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#55 of 120 in Manchester
98 reviews
0.3 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Address: The Circus 112-114 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4WB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#12 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £48 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Manchester, Piccadilly train station is just a 10 minute walk and there are tram links to Manchester Old Trafford stadium, Manchester City stadium, and Media City Uk. Attractions nearby include Canal Street, Oxford Road, Palace and Opera House theatres and lots of bars and restaurants. Passes for nearby gym facilities are available please enquire at reception. Parking is available at a discounted rate (approx £14.50 per over night stay) at the Q Park on St James St - M1 4LX. Voucher is available from hotel reception upon departure. Our Manchester (Portland Street) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Portland Street) Hotel Manchester
Premier Inn Portland Street
Travel Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing