We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT VALUE FOR CITY BREAK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Ranked #29 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at the Premier inn 26/7/2014 and when we arrived we were informed that they under renovation, that must have passed us by because we saw nothing to indicate this, we were given a Beautifully clean fresh room worthy of the more upmarket hotel chains and very very good value indeed.
Centrally located, Oxford St Station few minutes walk,
Metrolink again a few minutes walk,
As we got back late from the cricket we did not try the restaurant nor the breakfast but we did hear 1 couple who thought it was good,
Would we go back? of course we would

WELL DONE PREMIER INN

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiClarke, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Thanks for your recent review regarding your stay with us at Portland street Premier Inn

It's always nice to hear when our guest have a fantastic stay and I'm pleased to hear you wasn't disturbed by the renovations currently ongoing within the hotel.
We do try our hardest to ensure noise is kept to a minimum

Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back the next time your visiting manchester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,742)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,528 - 1,534 of 2,742 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

Planning ahead, in January, I booked and fully paid for a two night stay in this hotel for my family when we returned from our holidays in July. Arrived at approximately 06.00 tired and exhausted from a long flight. Could not believe receptionist when she told us our room was not available as it was presumed we were not coming and the room had been released. I was informed that a room could be made available but I would have to pay more than my original booking and that I would have to liaise with Premier Inn HQ for a refund for my original booking. I refused to pay and was very angry about the way we were being held to ransom. We left the hotel and drove home utterly disappointed with Premier Inn. I have been advised that I will receive a full refund and was given a basic apology for the confusion that was blamed on a misunderstanding by the receptionist. I have stayed in Premier Inn's on numerous occasions but will think long and hard before I use Premier Inn hotels in the future. This experience ruined the ending to a perfect holiday.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel at all costs and watch you don't trip over the homeless people at the entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Jackdaniels26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is my second time staying here and the newly refurbished rooms on the 3rd room is amazingly luxurious. Wonderfully clean and the breakfast as always is lush. The staff are friendly and helpful day and night. As for the bed...I have to get that mattress as it is the best sleep ever.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed here on a Friday night due to a early train to London the next day, very helpful staff, great air conditioned room, good location for the Piccadilly train station 10 min walk, didn't eat so cant comment, but would stay here again definitely, we had a 6th floor room nice and clean no problems at all.

Room Tip: top floor very quite on a noisy manchester weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Crushtastica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great service from all the staff. rooms were really comfy like Lenny Henry says on TV. Breakfast was excellent, not greasy at all. The lady, Paz at breakfast was extremely helpful and made sure we all had enough to eat. The bed was so comfy and even though the day and night was very hot, the room was a good temperature.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Timely check in. All questions/directions promptly answered by staff. Our room was a recently renovated one, therefore very clean, fresh and nicely decorated as well. Mattress, linens and pillow all excellent quality. Location was great: close to Centre City, tram stops and Picadilly train station as well. A small safe and an iron with an ironing board in the room would be a definite asset.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFM64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel is a gem! We stayed for two nights for my friends wedding. We really had a great sleep as it was extremely quiet. |Really great price. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough--- brilliant location too!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lottielou15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#55 of 120 in Manchester
98 reviews
0.3 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Address: The Circus 112-114 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4WB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#12 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £48 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Manchester, Piccadilly train station is just a 10 minute walk and there are tram links to Manchester Old Trafford stadium, Manchester City stadium, and Media City Uk. Attractions nearby include Canal Street, Oxford Road, Palace and Opera House theatres and lots of bars and restaurants. Passes for nearby gym facilities are available please enquire at reception. Parking is available at a discounted rate (approx £14.50 per over night stay) at the Q Park on St James St - M1 4LX. Voucher is available from hotel reception upon departure. Our Manchester (Portland Street) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Portland Street) Hotel Manchester
Premier Inn Portland Street
Travel Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing