We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quieter Than Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Ranked #28 of 119 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Staff very helpful as i find in all premier inns :-)
main restaurant was quiet but hotel is situated around lots of eating establishments. my room on the 3rd floor was very modern, apparently refurbishments are going on at present to update all rooms
even had air con
As hotel is in a very busy area expected it to be nosier, but rooms have double windows to help with noise.
would recommend and visit again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sk1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiClarke, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Thank you for your recent review on your stay with us here at Portland Street Premier Inn

I’m pleased to hear you had a great stay with us and found the location to be quieter than you expected, loved the newly refurbished rooms and found the staff to be very helpful

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,678)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,442 - 1,448 of 2,678 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

another superb night at this hotel staff are great with a good central location to all amenities in manchester the breakfast was wonderfull freshly cooked with excellent service will stay there again with pleasure

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank le_chef_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiClarke, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Thank you for your recent review on your stay with us here at Portland Street Premier Inn
I am delighted to hear you had a great time while staying with us, found us to be in a great location and took full advantage of our all you can eat breakfast

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Had stayed at this hotel last year so was interested to find when booking this time that there is refurbishment work going on and was hoping it wouldn't spoil the stay this time, and it certainly didn't. we were on the 2nd floor and on exiting the lift you could smell fresh paint in the corridor and everywhere looked fresh and clean, The room we stayed in was one of the newly refurbished ones and it was lovely and clean and beautifully decorated so couldn't fault it, Bathroom was lovely as well and the shower was very lovely, only complaint is that the bath is ok if you're very slim as not much room when sat in it. Breakfast is well worth the money as a brilliant selection of cooked food as well as cereals, yoghurts and bread products as well as tea, coffee and juices and on a weekend it's served till 12 so no having to rush and get up early which was nice. Didn't use the hotel restaurant for any other meals as went to the weatherspoons next door to the hotel but plenty of other restaurants around as well. Staff were welcoming from the moment we arrived to drop bags off in the luggage room as we were early to the moment we checked out and were even helpful with arranging taxis back to the station. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank svjoc1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiClarke, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

I would like to thank you very much for your wonderful review on the Portland Street Premier Inn. I am delighted that your stay exceeded your expectations and that we were able to make your stay so enjoyable. The team here works tirelessly to ensure our guest have great stay and will happy with your lovely comments. I’m glad you took full advantage of our all you can eat breakfast and you stayed in one pf our recently refurbished rooms, which we a very proud of.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The room we occupied was much bigger than I expected. It was very spacious and perfect for a family of 3. As far as room size, compared to the other 3 Premier Inn's we stayed in during our 2 week visit to the UK, Premier Inn (Portland St.) ranks number 1. Thankfully, we had no issue with noise from the construction work which was taking place on our floor.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiClarke, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Thank you for such a fantastic review on your recent stay with us at Portland street

It’s always nice to hear when our guest find our family rooms to be of a good size and perfect for there stay
The team here work really hard to ensure our guests have a brilliant stay through a great nights sleep and I’m glad to hear this was the case on your recent stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Have stayed in this hotel on and off for a couple of years, never had any reason to complain, glad to hear that the rooms are being renovated.
Also handy that there is a Weatherspoons 2 mins walk for a pint before bed.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiClarke, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay with us at Portland street Premier Inn

I am very to pleased to hear you had a great time on your recent return to portland street and the next time you return the refurbishment to the rooms should be completed
we look forward to welcoming you back very soon when you next return to manchester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Location: Excellent
Checking in: Fast, efficient and very pleasant.
Room: Not one of the recently refurbed rooms, but better than many I have stayed in. Room comfortable, bed very comfortable. Only problem no tea/coffe or milk (sorted at front desk no worries).
Breakfast: Plentyfull, tasty and fresh. All staff excellent. Asked kitchen staff to warm up croissant, he said "leave that one, let me get you a fresh one from the oven".
Staff: All very pleasant, curteous and smart.

If I came to Manchester again, would look for availablity here first.

Congratulations! For once the adverts are lived up to in the flesh!

Room Tip: Third floor are the refurbed rooms and have AC
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krull1863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiClarke, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Thank you for such great feedback on your recent stay with us here at Portland Street

The team here at portland street work really hard to make sure our guest have a brilliant stay and are there to meet all your requirements wherever possible . Our refurbished rooms are due to be finished towards the end of October and we hope you have the pleasure of staying in one on your next visit to manchester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

First room was very noisy,just above the bins. Asked to change rooms and that was fine. Away from the noise. No view. Looking out onto a flat roof. Put the aircon on and the fan rattled like mad. Early hours of the morning woken by laughing shouting screaming and running in the corridor. I did complain to reception staff and she offered us the Goodnight Guarantee Refund. Not my favourite Premier Inn. Have to add we only paid £29 for our stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors away from the bins and the main road.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank anassa62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#36 of 119 in Manchester
2,855 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 119 in Manchester
1,362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#18 of 119 in Manchester
2,543 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Address: The Circus 112-114 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4WB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#12 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £53 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Manchester, Piccadilly train station is just a 10 minute walk and there are tram links to Manchester Old Trafford stadium, Manchester City stadium, and Media City Uk. Attractions nearby include Canal Street, Oxford Road, Palace and Opera House theatres and lots of bars and restaurants. Passes for nearby gym facilities are available please enquire at reception. Parking is available at a discounted rate (approx £14.50 per over night stay) at the Q Park on St James St - M1 4LX. Voucher is available from hotel reception upon departure. Our Manchester (Portland Street) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Portland Street) Hotel Manchester
Premier Inn Portland Street
Travel Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing