We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Nearby Hotels
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$84
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$111
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$161
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Princess St. Hotel(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$158
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$240
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$150
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$136
US$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Reviews (2,901)
Filter reviews
2,901 results
Traveller rating
1,418
975
324
108
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,418
975
324
108
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalace theatrecity centreq parkmeal dealall you can eatcomfy bedbudget hotelgood nights sleepexcellent locationquiet roomold traffordnight's sleepexcellent stayfamily roomcar parkmin walktrain station
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,657 - 1,662 of 2,901 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I usually stay at a Premier Inn at Trafford Centre when I visit Manchester but after staying with my son at Portland Street when we went to see a couple of football matches We decided to give this hotel another go after quite a positive experience. This time i traveled with my wife and two children and was adjudicated one of the newly refurbished rooms which are quite nice and spacious. The staff are very nice both at reception and dining area. As usual the breakfast is great value. Although most of my experience was positive there were a couple of negatives. Firstly my room was not cleaned on three of the seven days I was there. I suffer from back problems and was leaving at about 11:30 to 12pm and returning at about 3:30 to 4pm a few days as my back was giving me problems and these days my room was not being cleaned even though I informed reception about this after the room was not serviced the first time. Even after complaining I found rubbish had not been removed as well as the carpet was bot being vacuumed plus on a couple of occasions we had no toilet paper. On the third time this happened I requested to speak to the head of cleaning and they apologised profusely and gave me an explanation as to why this might have happened. Although I did not agree with a fee of their excuses I have to say they were extremely nice and promised this would not happen again. Lastly they have locked the TV volume so as customers do not molest one another and had to strain a little at top volume to be able to listen to the TV especially when next door the had a portable speaker on at maximum level with lots of bass with the same song over and over again from 10am in the morning. That said I would still consider returning here as I feel this might have just been a hiccup.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Rowby68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiClarke, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Thank you for your recent review on your stay with us here at Portland Street Premier Inn

Its nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to very friendly and helpful in both reception and the dining area.
I do apologise that your room wasn’t cleaned on a daily basis and I m very happy this was dealt with by our head of housekeeping an will ensure this does not happen again

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

One of the worst experience in a hotel. It was dirty, nopisy and even some of the staff members were rude and not attentive to their guests at all. I will never recommend this hotel to any one at all.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naveen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of customer service in all our establishments and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your review details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

No consideration given when allocating rooms, was given a small cramped room at the front of hotel, looking out onto the crossroads immediately adjacent to the hotel. I had a baby (1 yr) the travel cot I'd requested was not in the room as promised and when it did finally arrive it was broken so had to wait for another. Was not offered the opportunity to move rooms when I mentioned it. Upon checking in it transpired I was being charged a different price to what was on the original booking and the receptionist was a little short with me when I queried it. When I checked out the lady did offer a refund, she was very pleasant and helpful. On a positive note, the breakfast was very pleasant and there was lots of different food types available. Staff member was kind and helpful when I asked for a teaspoon to feed the baby instead of the large dessert spoon already on the table. All in all I probably wouldn't stay again, certainly not with the children.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Sarahjayne00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Staff very helpful as i find in all premier inns :-)
main restaurant was quiet but hotel is situated around lots of eating establishments. my room on the 3rd floor was very modern, apparently refurbishments are going on at present to update all rooms
even had air con
As hotel is in a very busy area expected it to be nosier, but rooms have double windows to help with noise.
would recommend and visit again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sk1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiClarke, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Thank you for your recent review on your stay with us here at Portland Street Premier Inn

I’m pleased to hear you had a great stay with us and found the location to be quieter than you expected, loved the newly refurbished rooms and found the staff to be very helpful

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

another superb night at this hotel staff are great with a good central location to all amenities in manchester the breakfast was wonderfull freshly cooked with excellent service will stay there again with pleasure

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank le_chef_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiClarke, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Thank you for your recent review on your stay with us here at Portland Street Premier Inn
I am delighted to hear you had a great time while staying with us, found us to be in a great location and took full advantage of our all you can eat breakfast

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews