We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect simple one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Ranked #26 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night for a gig at Castlefield bowl. The location was good & we walked where we wanted to be as it was very central.
Rooms were nice & clean, breakfast wax good & staff were friendly..All you need.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miss0Piggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiClarke, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Thank you for your recent review on your stay at Portland street Premier Inn

I’m very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, found us to be in a central location to attend your gig, had a fun time while in Manchester, enjoyed our all you can eat premier breakfast and found our staff to be very friendly

We hope to see you again the next time you visit Manchester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,474 - 1,480 of 2,715 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

Although the hotel has recently benefited from an overall in decor, the beds are certainly a step backwards, new bathroom, new wallpaper, new carpets, new lighting, new and awful beds, but given a full refund under the "Good night guarantee," so can't complain.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiClarke, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Thank you fro your recent review on your stay with us at Portland street Premier Inn

I do apologise on this occasion that you found our new beds to be uncomfortable but did like the overall refurb of the hotel. I am also pleased to hear you were offered a full refund under the good night guarantee

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Manchester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I usually stay at a Premier Inn at Trafford Centre when I visit Manchester but after staying with my son at Portland Street when we went to see a couple of football matches We decided to give this hotel another go after quite a positive experience. This time i traveled with my wife and two children and was adjudicated one of the newly refurbished rooms which are quite nice and spacious. The staff are very nice both at reception and dining area. As usual the breakfast is great value. Although most of my experience was positive there were a couple of negatives. Firstly my room was not cleaned on three of the seven days I was there. I suffer from back problems and was leaving at about 11:30 to 12pm and returning at about 3:30 to 4pm a few days as my back was giving me problems and these days my room was not being cleaned even though I informed reception about this after the room was not serviced the first time. Even after complaining I found rubbish had not been removed as well as the carpet was bot being vacuumed plus on a couple of occasions we had no toilet paper. On the third time this happened I requested to speak to the head of cleaning and they apologised profusely and gave me an explanation as to why this might have happened. Although I did not agree with a fee of their excuses I have to say they were extremely nice and promised this would not happen again. Lastly they have locked the TV volume so as customers do not molest one another and had to strain a little at top volume to be able to listen to the TV especially when next door the had a portable speaker on at maximum level with lots of bass with the same song over and over again from 10am in the morning. That said I would still consider returning here as I feel this might have just been a hiccup.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Rowby68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiClarke, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Thank you for your recent review on your stay with us here at Portland Street Premier Inn

Its nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to very friendly and helpful in both reception and the dining area.
I do apologise that your room wasn’t cleaned on a daily basis and I m very happy this was dealt with by our head of housekeeping an will ensure this does not happen again

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

One of the worst experience in a hotel. It was dirty, nopisy and even some of the staff members were rude and not attentive to their guests at all. I will never recommend this hotel to any one at all.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naveen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of customer service in all our establishments and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your review details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

No consideration given when allocating rooms, was given a small cramped room at the front of hotel, looking out onto the crossroads immediately adjacent to the hotel. I had a baby (1 yr) the travel cot I'd requested was not in the room as promised and when it did finally arrive it was broken so had to wait for another. Was not offered the opportunity to move rooms when I mentioned it. Upon checking in it transpired I was being charged a different price to what was on the original booking and the receptionist was a little short with me when I queried it. When I checked out the lady did offer a refund, she was very pleasant and helpful. On a positive note, the breakfast was very pleasant and there was lots of different food types available. Staff member was kind and helpful when I asked for a teaspoon to feed the baby instead of the large dessert spoon already on the table. All in all I probably wouldn't stay again, certainly not with the children.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Sarahjayne00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Staff very helpful as i find in all premier inns :-)
main restaurant was quiet but hotel is situated around lots of eating establishments. my room on the 3rd floor was very modern, apparently refurbishments are going on at present to update all rooms
even had air con
As hotel is in a very busy area expected it to be nosier, but rooms have double windows to help with noise.
would recommend and visit again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sk1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiClarke, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Thank you for your recent review on your stay with us here at Portland Street Premier Inn

I’m pleased to hear you had a great stay with us and found the location to be quieter than you expected, loved the newly refurbished rooms and found the staff to be very helpful

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

another superb night at this hotel staff are great with a good central location to all amenities in manchester the breakfast was wonderfull freshly cooked with excellent service will stay there again with pleasure

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank le_chef_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiClarke, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Thank you for your recent review on your stay with us here at Portland Street Premier Inn
I am delighted to hear you had a great time while staying with us, found us to be in a great location and took full advantage of our all you can eat breakfast

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#65 of 120 in Manchester
35 reviews
0.3 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 120 in Manchester
1,370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Manchester Centre
Novotel Manchester Centre
#38 of 120 in Manchester
1,615 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#17 of 120 in Manchester
2,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Address: The Circus 112-114 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4WB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Best Value Hotel in Manchester
#12 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £50 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Manchester, Piccadilly train station is just a 10 minute walk and there are tram links to Manchester Old Trafford stadium, Manchester City stadium, and Media City Uk. Attractions nearby include Canal Street, Oxford Road, Palace and Opera House theatres and lots of bars and restaurants. Passes for nearby gym facilities are available please enquire at reception. Parking is available at a discounted rate (approx £14.50 per over night stay) at the Q Park on St James St - M1 4LX. Voucher is available from hotel reception upon departure. Our Manchester (Portland Street) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Portland Street) Hotel Manchester
Premier Inn Portland Street
Travel Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing