We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Ranked #27 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We are a family of 4 and stayed in the Premier Inn Portland Street Manchester Aug 19th-21st. We were recommended to use the Q piazza car park which was easy to find and a very short distance from the hotel. The hotel gave us a 30% discount card off our parking fee. On arrival the staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The receptionist knew the area well and gave good advice on the trams and local attractions. The room was a good size, very clean and of an excellent standard. My children had a comfortable put up bed each and the double bed was so comfy. We paid for wifi which was only £3 per day and it was very good. Breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice and of a very high standard. The staff in the restaurant explained everything and also said the chef would prepare any alternatives e.g boiled, porches egg, omelette etc if we requested them. The restaurant was very clean and tidy and had a friendly atmosphere. There were choices of milk from full cream to skimmed, hot drink machines and everything was self serve. Whenever we passed a member of staff in the corridors or around the hotel they always spoke and were very friendly. We asked for extra pillows and they were brought to the room within a few minutes. The hotel is in a great area for shopping and eating out. The tram stop at St Peters Square was right behind the hotel and was very cheap to use. We used the tram to go to the theatre in Salford Quay which was so easy a family ticket only costing around £6. The Salford Quay area also had great restaurants for families. We visited the coronation street tour (well worth a visit) which was within walking distance of the hotel, a staff member gave us directions and also a map. We had a fab time at this hotel and would highly recommend, we can't wait to stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet, we were overlooking the main busy street and didn't hear any noise at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank macandloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,462 - 1,468 of 2,714 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

Very pleasant stay. Room spotless. Breakfast very good value, free breakfast for two children u-16,with one paying adult. Allowed to check in at 8am, very welcome as we started our day at 2.30am! About 10 mins walk to Granada studio's for Coronation Street tour and about 5 mins to Arndale shopping centre.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mart123y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

i have only praise for our one night stay.....hotel perfect staff great rooms/beds great only downside is no mini fridge and the wifi is not free i did pay but was'nt impressed at all i ended up using my own provider.....and when i asked at reception was told i could have a refund but had to ring number (as i was on my way out and was catching a train so didnt have timei did'nt do this)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcfc50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiClarke, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2014

Thank you for your recent feedback

I am delighted to hear you only have praise for your stay with us here at Portland Street Premier Inn
When you stay with us again, if you purchase wifi at reception via cash or card we can refund the amount at reception for you. As you chose the option to pay via your device it's unfortunate we are unable to issue a refund for you personally

We hope to see you again the next time your visiting manchester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed on the 20th of august,2 adults one child, excellent clean hotel staff couldnt be more helpful.we stayed for breakfast which is great value from full english or toast to cereal somet for everyone.We were gonna eat out but decided to have the meal deal in the hotel which to be honest was excellent value for what u get our waiter louis who was very friendly and went out of his way to be very helpful and also very knowledgeable about the area. Location very good clean tidy we had a refurbed room which was ezcellent pkenty of space abd beds excellent, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, whenever I go anywhere now I always price up a premier inn as tgey really are great value, ice stayed in some 5 star hotels and the staff and cleanliness arent a patch on the premier inns.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank 80scasual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiClarke, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2014

Thank you for leaving such a great review on your stay with us at Premier Inn Portland Street

I am delighted to hear you found the rooms to be very clean, comfortable and tidy and also found the hotel staff to be very helpful. The team work really hard to ensure our guest have a brilliant stay through a great nights sleep and I will be sure to pass on your comments to Louis in the restaurant and the rest of the team

We look forward to welcoming you back to manchester very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

we arrived at the hotel and was made to feel very welcome. We stayed for 4 nights and all the staff especially the restaurant staff couldn't do enough for us. would stay there anytime. There only let down was paying for car park next to it even at a discount, but the stay was so good I would pay the car park price again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiClarke, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2014

Thank you for your wonderful response on the Premier Inn Portland Street

I am delighted by your positive comments on the hotel overall and was made to feel very welcome on arrival. I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

In the heart of Manchester this is in a very good location for all the places that i wished to visit, situated 5 mins from Manchester oxford rd train st. The stay was very pleasant the room was clean and tidy and the noise level was very good considering its situated on a main rd. I would stay there again in the future and would recommend this to people if they where staying in central Manchester


  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiClarke, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2014

Thank you for your lovely feedback on the Premier Inn Portland Street and recommended us as a good place to stay in manchester

I'm delighted to read such good feedback and you had a pleasant stay, found the room to be clean and tidy and also found us to be in a great location

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stopped in this hotel on a Saturday and Sunday night, Saturday night seemed a little pricey for a budget hotel but Sunday was good value, that said it was better than the competition.

The Portland Street Premier Inn is not my favourite for location as a lot of Beggars/vagrants seem to congregate in the area.

Checkin was friendly and efficient, the receptionist offered to change our booking to a refurbished room on the 3rd floor as this would be quieter, makes me wonder about the other rooms and why this move is not done anyway with out informing the guest.

The room was very modern and upto the standard I expect from Premier inn. This room was on the side of the building, external noise was a small issue, seemed to come through an air vent behind the sofa/3rd bed.

The TV remote did not work, this was changed at the 2nd time of asking.

Breakfast was the usual high standard, I did not try any other meal, this looked like the usual mass produced pub food that you always get.

There are I think 5 Premier Inn's in Manchester City Centre, I chose Portland Street because of its competitive price.

Nothing really to dislike except for the area

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart0742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiClarke, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2014

Thank you for your recent review on portland street Premier Inn

The team work really hard to ensure our guest have a great time while staying at Premier Inn Portland Street. Its nice to hear you found checkin to be friendly and efficient and breakfast to be off the usual high standard.
If you stay with us again our reception team are available 24hours to assist you if you encounter any problems during your stay by dialling 1234 from the phone in your room.

We hope to welcome you back to manchester very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#37 of 120 in Manchester
782 reviews
0.3 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 120 in Manchester
1,368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Manchester Centre
Novotel Manchester Centre
#39 of 120 in Manchester
1,612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#18 of 120 in Manchester
2,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Address: The Circus 112-114 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4WB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Best Value Hotel in Manchester
#12 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £51 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Manchester, Piccadilly train station is just a 10 minute walk and there are tram links to Manchester Old Trafford stadium, Manchester City stadium, and Media City Uk. Attractions nearby include Canal Street, Oxford Road, Palace and Opera House theatres and lots of bars and restaurants. Passes for nearby gym facilities are available please enquire at reception. Parking is available at a discounted rate (approx £14.50 per over night stay) at the Q Park on St James St - M1 4LX. Voucher is available from hotel reception upon departure. Our Manchester (Portland Street) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Portland Street) Hotel Manchester
Premier Inn Portland Street
Travel Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing