We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hendham house brilliant for gigs at etihad and brilliant staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hendam House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hendam House Hotel
Ranked #22 of 26 Manchester B&B and Inns
1 review
“Hendham house brilliant for gigs at etihad and brilliant staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

stayed for 2 nights 31/5/13 - 2/6/13 for the muse gig at the etihad was greeted and shown room and was very clean and tidy just what we needed. met arther just as we were leaving and was very nice. dominic offers a very well priced shuttle to anywhere in manchester. people on here need to relise that for the price you pay for a stay it is just perfect if people want a 5* hotel book one. hendham house did everythingit said on the tin

Cheers dom and all the staff for a nice stay

David Andrews

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishmonger26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    42
    21
    21
    152
See reviews for
39
39
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boncath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stayed for the one night when going to see Muse. The rooms were clean and tidy. Served as a great place to crash after a long night! Made so much better by the amazing staff. Nothing was to much! Arthur made our trip, life long buddies now!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1992_Nicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed with a couple mates on a night out and it was quite pleasant the staff were great especially a young gentleman by the name of Ahmed he provided us with everything we needed and more including a transfer service into the city centre will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stunnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
accrington
Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

Arrived to be greeted by the friendly Arthur who was very welcoming and pleasant. Unfortunately thats where the niceness ends. Now I was on a girly night and we are not snobs and can rough it with the best. But as we went into the room it was clear it wasnt looked after. Cigarette butts in the bin and a plastic bag covering the smoke alarm?! Broken lighting and we had to pull the bed back to turn off the radiator pumping out heat. Clearly not cleaned before we got there.

The fact that there was no bathroom did not bother us however the fact you are unable to shut the broken shared bathroom door was a worry and made using the bathroom a scary lottery. Went to get a cup of the free tea facilities on offer to find no cups at all in the dining area-gave that a miss.

This place could be so much better if little things were sorted. Plus the whole place is pretty filthy. I dont mind roughing it and I wouldnt stay again. They need to improve standards dramatically the whole place looks and feels very unloved.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lancsfoodiefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic s, Owner at Hendam House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
hi archie sorry you never had a good stay but we are working hard to inprove our standard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

stayed with a few colleagues of mine due to attending a course. driving into the run down street we were all surprised as it does not look like any of the pictures. walked in to find there are two toilets between all of the bedrooms, inside of the doors looked like they had of been broken into, chewing gum stuck to the beds. wouldn't even sleep in the beds because they were minging, had to sleep on top of the bed underneath a towel with both radiators on full. it is more like hostel!
we packed the night before & slept with all our belongings to the side of us to make sure we could just get dressed and go and we would leave with everything we came in with. NEVER Again!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

How can this place be justified as some sort of hotel?! It was more of a doss-hole. How in a hotel is it ever acceptable to share a bathroom with other guests? How was this also acceptable not to have a hair dryer, kettle or the usual you would expect staying at any hotel? Please, don't insult people by doing this! This should be a hostel, with hostel prices! Truly awful.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CatWoman444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

We were somewhat apprehensive of staying here after reading some of the reviews, but I think improvements have been made! Our room was clean, if a little rough round the edges (hey, nothing's perfect!) Comfy beds and a new TV that took a little working out, but we managed! The shared bathrooms, while not ideal were also clean - and well stocked with soap and shower gel etc. The hotel is quite busy and the staff are all very helpful - Arthur kept us entertained and made sure we had everything we needed - we were particularly impressed with the kitchen offering free tea, coffee and cakes etc in the morning and with the taxi service straight to the town centre - highly recommended as we found this cheaper than the local cab firms. Not ideally situated in a bit of a rough area, but if you're getting a taxi into town this isn't a problem! We also had the opportunity for a photo-shoot while we were there which was a good laugh!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.4 mi away
Westlynne Hotel/Apartments
Westlynne Hotel/Apartments
#63 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
1.3 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#77 of 116 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Elton Bank Hotel
Elton Bank Hotel
#11 of 26 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
4.2 mi away
Luther King House
Luther King House
#3 of 26 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
3.7 mi away
Rampant Lion Hotel
Rampant Lion Hotel
#4 of 26 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hendam House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hendam House Hotel

Property: Hendam House Hotel
Address: 3-4 Beech Mount | Lancashire, Manchester M9 5XS, England (Formerly Citi Mansions)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hendam House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hendam House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citi Mansions Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing