We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money booking in here”
Review of Hendam House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hendam House Hotel
Ranked #25 of 29 Manchester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My nephew and his friends live in Norfolk and came to visit Manchester for the weekend. He booked in to Hendam House Hotel in Harpurhey, Manchester. . After arriving at this Hotel they went to there room. What a dump no lighting no toilet and no shower it was all on the next floor, which was rather inconvenient if you had to get up in the night. I have read many different reviews on this Hotel and it definitely gives a false impression of the staff and the place. My Nephew asked for his money back and they refused point blank. The woman there was called Jennifer and she was very rude talking to him. After all that he had to leave the Hotel and find a more suitable accommodation for the night. My advice to you all is if you ever visit Manchester stay well clear of this dodgy Hotel.

Room Tip: Keep well away from this Hotel, everyone because it is the pits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rockstarOldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

In all fairness came with a party of fourteen girls, but as entered street buildings across the road all boarded up. Thes staff were helpful when arrived and rooms quickly sorted ot as arrived early, other gusets looked like homeless residents, first room offered no lock on door and smelt of cats pea, were told staff would lock door as availabe 24 hours, complained offered other room small but appeared clean other party rooms on first site okay. furnishings all very nice. Discovered all bathrooms were disgusting not cleaned toilets with faeces all over broken tiolet seats, taps on sink broken very dirty covered in scum and hairs, showers dirty marks on floor of shower and would not come off disgusty mould on ceilings and floors covered in hair. ligkts did not work, whole weekend we were unwashed thank god for baby wipes a must if you stay here.
Lots of people arriving going mad as they had paid £40 a night.
TVS not worked in room lighting terrible in some rooms and wires hanging from room 22 ceiling, bedroom floors not washed and room 22 had what apperaed to be a very large snot on the floor. Hair all over bedroom on closer inspectionpillows stunk and mattresses terrible
Offered continental breakfast the coffee vey foul cheap powdered smart price coffee and cakes and fruit stood all day, room covered in flies dont eat there ever.
They state they offer room service, full english breakfast and other food on menu this untrue.
As for 24 hour staffing untrue so how the hell was there staff to unlock doors for room 21 . Iam reporting this hotel to the approriate authoritys

Room Tip: find a room with a lock on. take lots of clean equipment and cleaning products, bleach a most
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 725murray12725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We came here for my birthday on Saturday the 21st of September. I booked a deluxe double, a double and a triple room. When we arrived we were showed to a double double room which was a dive! The beds were rock hard and mirror was snapped off the wall, the whole building stinks and the staff are rude and not bothered at all about customer rights. We went down and complained as we weren't happy with our rooms. We were told that we would have to wait for the manager as no one can deal with this sort of problem but him (Dominic) Jennifer told us that she didn't know when he would be back. She was very rude and spoke to us like dirt. We booked somewhere else to stay and came back the next morning to be faced by Jennifer again who was again extremely rude to us and wasent bothered at all about us. She walked off from us and started to clean the rooms. We sat in the bar area and waited for hours and still no manager. We asked Jennifer for some kind of letter with proof that we would get a refund and she wrote it on a piece of scrap paper with no proof that it was her. The whole place is an absolute joke and I advise very strongly for anyone not to stay here!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katiem1224o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Four of us stayed here for two nights during Gay Pride. The staff were very helpful ( Jennifer & Arthur). The room was ideal for what you pay for, and there are bathrooms scattered around the building which are all kept quite clean. Jennifer called a taxi for us whenever we asked and both her and Arthur were very friendly. For the price you pay to stay here it is obviously not going to be luxurious, but our stay was very enjoyable and we would all stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This Hotel was beyond dire! On arrival the gentleman didnt not check our booking properly and said we had not paid however we had. After saying this a few times he checked properly disgruntled to find we had paid. We were shown to our room which wasnt too bad, clean enough on appearance. The hotel has numberous bathrooms and showers, most did not lock, there was no hot water, no lights in a some, taps were not attached to the baths/sinks properly. It was quite obvious that the bathrooms and shower rooms were not cleaned very regularly at all. The lady there was quite polite to start off with, then faded into the back ground. I had approached her and advised that the shower tray in the shower room closest to our room was full and needed plunging. An hour later i noticed this still had not been done and someones dirty shower water was still swimming about. Im very grateful we had only booked to stop here the one night. I would not even advise my worst enemy to stop here! Avoid at all costs!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Keep a minimum of 1 mile distance from the front door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MilangeMilange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

we stayed at hendham house hotel in Manchester last weekend for gay pride ,and we had a great time theire , rooms very spacious and very clean ,the staff especialy Arthur and jenny were great from the time we checked in till the time we left they were so helpful they book you taxis whenever you want and are very promt we cant wait to go back again , a very happy customer .mr rob lacey . and mr mark rose from Birmingham ,26 08. 2013 at 19.25 pm thanks again hendham house hotel and all the lovey staff

Room Tip: we stayed on ground floor was great but think the rest of hotel was the same exelent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobbysox2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I stayed here one night. The staff were friendly and paid us lots of attention
The room was furnished to a very acceptable standard and everything was very clean (including toilets and bathroom areas) Do take a towel though as these are not provided.
It is noisy, people coming back in the early hours, but we were there for a night out ourselves so this didn't bother us at all, I wouldn't recommend going if you want a weekend city break or are a family its not really appropriate but perfect for party goers. I think you need to bear in mind the price here, its good for what you pay just be realistic about it. Simple breakfast of tea/coffee toast cereal and cakes were included - self service and you can order a fry up and hot food round the clock at additional prices.
Location wise in the day its just over £5 for a taxi into the City. There is parking available also.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supernic5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.3 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#75 of 120 in Manchester
104 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mitre Hotel
Mitre Hotel
#93 of 120 in Manchester
967 reviews
5.5 mi away
Old Trafford Guest House
Old Trafford Guest House
#17 of 29 in Manchester
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Luther King House
Luther King House
#1 of 29 in Manchester
374 reviews
4.1 mi away
Elton Bank Hotel
Elton Bank Hotel
#16 of 29 in Manchester
13 reviews
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Queens Guesthouse Manchester
#22 of 29 in Manchester
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hendam House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hendam House Hotel

Address: 3-4 Beech Mount | Lancashire, Manchester M9 5XS, England (Formerly Citi Mansions)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range: £19 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hendam House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hendam House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citi Mansions Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing