We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was worried after reading the reviews”
Review of Hendam House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hendam House Hotel
Ranked #22 of 28 Manchester B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Was worried after reading the reviews”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Myself, a friend and our 2 teenage daughters stayed here on the 1st June 2014 for the 1D concert. I had booked the room after looking at the pics, and was later quite worried after reading the reviews. I really had no need to worry. We arrived before the 2pm allowed time and was met by a courteous young man who booked us in and showed us round, no problems. The hotel smelt very clean and fresh and was bright and airy. We stayed in room 14 which is a family room with 2 double beds. It was really clean, with fresh bedding, a sofa, tv and plenty of storage space. The bathroom was right next door to our room and was spacious, and clean with an over bath shower and complimentary shampoo, conditioner and shower gel. No cracked tiles or broken locks as stated in other reviews. We were given a key for our room on arrival and the security code for the main door as were going to be back late. The parking was ample and there were hanging baskets around. I certainly didn't get the impression I was in the middle of a rough estate. It is at the bottom of a residential street. Surrounded by a school, and other residential accommodation. There is a boarded up building across the road, this is an old NHS building. Around the corner there are numerous takeaways, McDonald's and an Asda, perfect for any supplies you may need. The hotel was quiet, functional and absolutely met our needs. I can't speak for the rest of the hotel or rooms but I would go as far as saying that if I have reason to return to Manchester I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic s, Owner at Hendam House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back in Manchester so thank for the positive feed back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    42
    23
    21
    157
See reviews for
40
41
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed as a party of 9 in this hotel in April 2014 and as a person who is usually quite good with words, I am finding it quite difficult to truly convey just how bad this "hotel" was. I have stayed in budget accommodation before but seeing as though this was not even particularly cheap I feel compelled to warn people away. Where to start?
Of our 3 rooms that were booked, one had been cancelled on our arrival to which we received no apology. In fact, the staff made our party feel as though it was our problem. We were laughed at, spoken down to and instantly made to feel unwelcome, something which also seemed to be happening to another party trying to check in. I have never experienced such poor customer service. Now as we were there for just the night, basic rooms would be fine but all we would ask for is cleanliness - something that once checked into our rooms we discovered we would not experience. Beds held up by car jacks, dirty sheets, holes in the walls, sick in the communal bathroom, no lock to the door- you name it we had it! There was a group of males smoking marijuana to which the staff (who could clearly witness this) did nothing at all. When finally getting a taxi to pick us up (after being refused by many companies based on out location) the taxi driver discussed with us the bad reputation of the hotel. It was beyond a joke what we had experienced. Like I said earlier, it is difficult to truly convey this into words so please look at the photos I have uploaded and see for yourself.

Please do not stay at this hotel, if you think "oh it'll be fine we just need somewhere to rest our heads" then I beg you, for your own good, look for other budget accommodation that at least has welcoming staff and a cleaner.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leannehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I arrived to stay at Hendham House this weekend as a group of 9 on a hen do.
The "hotel" is situated in the middle of a rough estate in Manchester.
On arrival we were told that one of our three rooms was no longer available as somebody had asked the extend their stay, but they had organised a room for us at the hotel a mile down the road. As a hen party this was simply not an option we were willing to accept. Their solution being that the 9 of us could squeeze into two rooms. The staff were utterly rude to us and could not understand why we were annoyed... We even had to call booking.com ourselves to cancel the other room.
After entering the rooms which we were allocated we immediately noticed the smell of smoke and saw that the people next door were smoking marijuana in their room.
There were holes in the walls, the sheets weren't clean and for some reason out bed had no legs and was being held up by a car jack. I kid you not.
There was only one bathroom per floor, ours was out of order and the one downstairs had vomit in the bath and a pair of dirty boxer shorts on the floor.
I cannot put into words how unhelpful the staff were and how appauling the rooms really were. We didn't actually have a key for our door so when we got back after our night out we had to wake up the manager to let us in.
Not only that but one of the beds collapsed in the middle of the night. Honestly, how this place is still open I cannot comprehend.
Please avoid this place like the plague as it was absolutely horrific. You will only be dissapointed.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amylkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I am struggling to put into words how bad this hotel actually was. We booked this hotel as a party of 9. Arrived on saturday andwe were told by extremely rude staff that one of our three rooms had been cancelled as somebody had extended their stay (which I find extremeley hard to believe). We were told that 6 of us would stay at this hotel, and 3 of us had to go to another hotel which was a mile away. We explained this wouldnt happen as we had travelled (for 2 and a half hours) as a party of 9 and that we would either squeeze into two rooms or all go to a seperate hotel. We agreed to squeeze into 2 rooms. When it came to paying we refused to pay for the 3rd room and we requested a discount as we all had to share 2 rooms, meaning 3 people would share a bed. This resulted in us being laughed at in our faces by staff - I have never experienced such bad customer service. In the room, one of the beds was held up by a car jack - not even a joke, the other bed collapsed during the night which has resulted in one of the 9 people to leave with a very bad back. There was holes in the walls, vomit and underwear in one of the bathrooms (one of the only ones that was in working order) a group smoking drugs in the room above, the whole hotel smelt of smoke. It was so bad, we were told that taxis did not collect from the hotel! Before leaving for our night out, the owner gave us his number and we had to ring them to be let back in the hotel as one of the doors did not lock. This obviously made us feel very uneasy about our valuables being left in the room. I was disappointed with our overall experience at this hotel and the customer service. Never again! Do not EVER stay at this hotel!

Room Tip: Just don't even bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Booked Hendham house as the website looked nice and modern and the price was ideal for a night away. We booked for 7 people, a room of 4 and a room of 3.. or so we thought.
When we first arrived we were told they didnt have 2 available rooms in this house however they had 2 available in their 'sister hotel' which was just 5 minutes down the road. We followed the directions they gave us however upon arrival of what seemed to be a terrace house in a run down council estate we were sure we'd taken a wrong turn. How wrong was we. This WAS the 'sister hotel'. We knocked on the terrace house door and were shown in by a polite couple, this was just someones house with x2 double beds in the living room & 2 small bunkbeds in a very small bedroom. The house was freezing and the smell of stale smoke was over powering.
We went back to the original house and asked for our money back, the money was waiting on the side so i'm sure the receptionists were fully aware we not be staying in the 'sister hotel'. (Receptionist's were really helpful!. probably the only perk to the hotel) - We went straight onto Booking.com & managed to get 2 rooms at the Ibis budget hotel for just £6 each, this was fab!
The hotel states on its website it is a short distance away from the city centre & only just over £5 in a taxi, not the case! it was about a ten minute taxi journey, they also had a very strange drunk man sitting on the doorstep which in itself is enough to put anyone off.

Room Tip: No good rooms available - Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The worst place I have ever been!!!! We were a hen party of 9 people (needing 3 rooms) the extended someone else's stay meaning they gave one of our room away. We had to squeeze into two room still playing full price.... And the customer service! The worst I have ever encountered! And there were a group of people freely smoking drugs down stairs, with the bathroom covered in vomit! Please never EVER stay here!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachelleboylen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This so called hotel is the worst place I have ever stayed avoid!!! The place was dirty, bedsheets or towels hadn't been washed in months and has weird stains over them and we were told we had to move to a sister hotel for the 2nd night. A cardboard box would be more hospitable than this 'hotel'

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hansolo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.3 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#73 of 116 in Manchester
72 reviews
4.2 mi away
Elton Bank Hotel
Elton Bank Hotel
#11 of 28 in Manchester
11 reviews
4.2 mi away
Luther King House
Luther King House
#2 of 28 in Manchester
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Rampant Lion Hotel
Rampant Lion Hotel
#4 of 28 in Manchester
33 reviews
1.0 mi away
New Central Guest House
New Central Guest House
#19 of 28 in Manchester
49 reviews
3.7 mi away
Verdene Hotel B&B
Verdene Hotel B&B
#3 of 28 in Manchester
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hendam House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hendam House Hotel

Property: Hendam House Hotel
Address: 3-4 Beech Mount | Lancashire, Manchester M9 5XS, England (Formerly Citi Mansions)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hendam House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hendam House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citi Mansions Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing