We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good, modern hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Ranked #42 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
285 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
“Very good, modern hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

Spent a night at the Hilton on a leisure break.

This is a very impressive modern hotel, housed in the bottom half of the highest skyscraper in the city. It is relatively new and all the facilities are consequently in top-notch condition.

Our room was on the 13th floor and was very well equipped, with a very comfortable double bed and flat screen TV. There were floor-to-ceiling windows giving a superb view of the city.
The bathroom was furnished with a bathtub with shower over. Toiletries were of high quality.

We upgraded to executive lounge access, which gave us free coffee and snacks, wine and spirits in the evening and a very good and extensive breakfast.

We also tried the 23rd floor bar, Cloud 23, which was very good fun.

Slight downsides were noisy neighbours slamming doors at 2:30 a.m. (not the hotel’s fault) and the fact that the lounge closed at 8:00 p.m.

The Hilton is well situated in the Manchester’s shopping and restaurant district and is immediately adjacent to the GMEX conference centre.

A very good, well kept hotel, which I can recommend without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the higher floor rooms for wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prospero1b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernadetteFGilligan, General Manager at Hilton Manchester Deansgate, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us recently and I am glad that you had a comfortable stay and that our guest rooms offered you everything that you needed.

I am glad that like many other guests, that our location worked well for your visit and that you found the views from the hotel to be stunning.

Please accept my apologies that you were disturbed by a fellow guest and that you were disappointed that the Executive Lounge closes at 8.00pm. Due to fire regulations we are restricted to 200 guest’s maximum at any one time on the 23rd floor and the Executive Lounge shares the 23rd floor with our Cloud 23 bar; therefore we have to stagger the opening times of both outlets to demonstrate fairness to all interested parties.

Thank you for recommending us to others and I hope that you are able to return to the hotel in the future.

Best wishes
Bernadette Gilligan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,665
    1,296
    633
    310
    253
See reviews for
339
1,869
154
958
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (785)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

This hotel has no atmosphere. Visited on New Years day cloud 23 was closed. This left the Podium bar which has no intimacy whatsoever. Our room was grubby, check in was difficult. The clientele left lot to be desired particularly when checking in. I would not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank barlow1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernadetteFGilligan, General Manager at Hilton Manchester Deansgate, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
Dear Guest

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to complete this review following your stay at Hilton Manchester Deansgate.

I was disappointed to receive your feedback, and as such, I would be grateful if you could provide us with your telephone number so that we may contact you at your convenience to discuss your experience in detail. Please e-mail me via my Personal Assistant on Christina Lyons on christina.lyons@hilton.com.

In the meantime, please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointing experience. I am only sorry you didn’t receive our normally high standards of service.

I look forward to hearing from you at your convenience.

Best wishes
Bernadette Gilligan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atyrau, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Only stayed for one night but it was good, from the checking in to the checking out. Staff excellent and really helpful, room good with great bathroom (1601) and views over the city. Executive lounge was OK for a coffe and a quick drink after 5.00pm, didn't bother with the sky lounge as other things to do/see.
Hotel located within easy reach of all the shops/bars/restaurants/clubs so no need for taxi's.
Parking across the road at the NCP was a rip off though, over 18pounds for 24hrs!!

We hope to use this hotel again in the near future for our next night in Manchester/Deansgate.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trubby01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernadetteFGilligan, General Manager at Hilton Manchester Deansgate, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback with everyone, we really do appreciate it.

I am delighted that you had a great stay with us and that you found our facilities, location and service to be excellent.

The team here at Hilton Manchester Deansgate are pleased to be able to offer you a friendly service and I hope that you return when business or leisure brings you to Manchester.


Best wishes
Bernadette Gilligan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHESHIRE
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Gorgeous views, fabulous setting, fantastic staff (especially Said), average food. Worth it for the experience and would go again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEBDIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernadetteFGilligan, General Manager at Hilton Manchester Deansgate, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback with everyone.

I am delighted that you chose to have High Tea with us recently.

Thank you very much for all of your positive feedback, it is great to know that you enjoyed your visit and that you will return to us in the future.

I look forward to being able to welcome you back again soon.

Best wishes
Bernadette Gilligan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

Everything was great except the exceedingly over priced evening meal. It was very dissapointing. I havent ever paid so much for such a small amount of food. Brussels were also burnt!! Would never stay again even if it was free.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SiloamCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernadetteFGilligan, General Manager at Hilton Manchester Deansgate, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to complete this review.

On the whole I am pleased that everything was great during your stay.

However, I am saddened to read your comment regarding your dining experience as our Executive Head Chef and his team do a wonderful job for us here and we have served in excess of 4,000 covers in Podium Restaurant in the month of December with no similar feedback.

I do hope that you have a change of heart and stay with us again in the future.

Best wishes
Bernadette Gilligan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

Manchester just keeps getting better. On a work trip and stayed in this hotel. It is by Deansgate tram and train station which is great to get to Piccadilly, Media City and the airport without having to Taxi. asy walk down Deansgate to St Annes Square and all the bars and restaurants. Stunning new tower, with great views. Very comfortable and quiet rooms. All the staff I met were all superb, very friendly and helpful, without the annoying affected "have a nice day" chain hotel manner. Good breaktfast too. There is a gym, which I didn't use but looked useful.

I am in Manchester a lot, so very pleased to find this.

Room Tip: Higher up better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugardoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernadetteFGilligan, General Manager at Hilton Manchester Deansgate, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback with everyone, we appreciate it.

I am delighted that you had a great stay with us and that you found our facilities, service, location and team members to be excellent.

I really hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel when your travels bring you back to Manchester, when you may have time to use our leisure facilities.

Best wishes
Bernadette Gilligan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
400 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

Stayed for the fifth time, still a great hotel, fantastic location and staff.

Really well placed for the nearby bars and attractions, rooms very good, the usual high Hilton standard, would recomend it to anyone, well worth a visit.

Big tip, book (or pay for) an excecutive room on the higher floors, this will give you access to the 23rd Floor Excecutive Lounge, 5pm drinks breakfast in the morning, very good value!

Room Tip: Pick an excecutive one, great value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacmac00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernadetteFGilligan, General Manager at Hilton Manchester Deansgate, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback with everyone, we really appreciate it.

I am delighted that you choose to return to stay with us and I am pleased that you booked to stay in one of our Executive rooms which gives you access to our 23rd floor Executive Lounge,

We are very fortunate to be ideally located with in the city and it is great to know that you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel, our service and offerings.

I hope that you are able to stay with us again soon.

Best wishes
Bernadette Gilligan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.3 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#9 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Manchester Deansgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Manchester Deansgate

Property: Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Address: 303 Deansgate, Manchester M3 4LQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Manchester
#25 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#33 Family Hotel in Manchester
#36 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Manchester Deansgate 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Manchester Deansgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manchester Deansgate Hotel Manchester
Manchester Hilton
Hilton Deansgate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing