We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Enjoyable Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Manchester Deansgate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Ranked #42 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Cambridge, Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Deansgate for two nights prior to us flying back to Canada. Check in was excellent under the circumstances, I understand they were fully booked for the Robbie Williams concert. Tony the Concierge immediately asked us our plans for the evening and when we suggested a chinese meal recommend and booked a reservation at Wings. (which was excellent). We had a standard room which for a city hotel I thought was clean and spacious. Breakfast was a hot and cold buffet and had everything you could want and Chelsea kept the coffee coming. After a busy day shopping, we spent our second night at the hotel. Cocktails at Cloud 23, which was a nice concept but the view was nothing to rave about. The meal at the hotel restaurant was very tasty and presented beauitfully, we opted for the 2 course Table d'hote menu at 21.00 GBP each. John our waiter was professional and extremely attentive. Hotel was very central - Overall a wonderful stay and I would definately recommend it to others and stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanHCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at Hilton Manchester Deansgate, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to the UK. I am pleased that we formed a convenient base for your visit to Manchester.

I am delighted that you had a great stay with us and thank you for taking the time to visit Cloud 23 and Podium Restaurant. I am also pleased that you found our facilities and service to be suitable for your stay.

My team and I are more than happy to look after you and we hope that we are able to look after you once again should you return to Manchester.

Best wishes
John McLaughlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,643
    1,280
    625
    308
    251
See reviews for
335
1,849
150
942
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (781)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

I checked into my room at 7pm. The corridor smelt unpleasant and I was disappointed that the room did as well. Beautiful floor to ceiling windows don't open so there was no chance for any fresh air. I went back to reception to see if they could check me into a different room, but they were fully booked. They sent up someone with some air freshener, which I declined. On my return later in the evening the room still smells pretty nasty.
I won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggiAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at Hilton Manchester Deansgate, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to complete this review following your stay at Hilton Manchester Deansgate.

I am sorry that you found the corridor outside your guest room and your guest room to have an odour present during your stay.

Our Head Housekeeper has been given visibility of your comments, however unfortunately without a room number I am unable to offer feedback. I can confirm that our Housekeeping have sophisticated equipment that eliminates odours and I apologise for this shortfall. I am also sorry that we were unable to offer you an alternative room for your to continue your stay due to the hotel being full.

I can only apologise that the building design dictates that we do not have any opening windows. However we are fortunate to be able to rely on a sophisticated air conditioning system, which circulates the air, cools and heats the building as required.

I am very sorry to read that you feel that you will be unable to return to stay with us on your next visit to Manchester and I hope that you have a change of heart and that you have the opportunity to stay with us again. I can assure you that you have not experience us at our best.

Best wishes
John McLaughlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxon, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

I'd booked a double room but on check-in I was told there were no doubles left. The receptionist did try to be helpful and offered a bottle of wine. I requested a NZ Sauv Blanc. A Chilean Sauv Blanc arrived as they'd run out of NZ. The room and bathroom tasteful but I'm surprised that stain on the carpet which is approx 45 cm has not been cleaned up.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suepat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at Hilton Manchester Deansgate, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write this review following your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us.

I can only apologise that you were not offered a double room on arrival when you had booked this room type. Unfortunately, all of our double rooms were occupied at the time of your arrival and this is why we were unable to fulfil your original room type request on arrival. Whilst we do our utmost to honour our guest requests, sometimes it simply isn’t possible to fulfil all of them. I am pleased that you were offer a complimentary bottle of wine to enjoy during your visit.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your guest room and I can confirm that we are in the process of replacing a number of carpets throughout the hotel to bring them back to standard.

I do hope that you visit us again soon.

Best wishes
John McLaughlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Stayed here for one night after the Robbie Williams concert, I can only say good things , from getting greeted at the entrance, being allowed in our room at 10.45 in the morning an over all Fab Experience , would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky140366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at Hilton Manchester Deansgate, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Manchester Deansgate whilst in the city attending a concert.

I am pleased that you found the hotel to be suitable for your visit to Manchester and that we were able to offer you an early check in to enhance your stay.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you experienced a warm welcome to the hotel, our team members are always happy to help.

Thank you for highlighting that you will return to stay with us in the future, my team and I look forward to having that pleasure.

Best wishes
John McLaughlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Attended a conference at the Hotel with overnight accomodation. Large spacious room, very large comfortable bed. Clean bathroom, Food very good but breakfast was a disaster. The hotel were short staffed supposedly and it took ages to re fill the dishes resulting in a large queue.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TS21Cent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at Hilton Manchester Deansgate, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Guest

It was a pleasure to have you with us recently whilst you were attending a Conference, it was our pleasure to have you with us.

I am so pleased that your guest room was to your liking and that you were able to relax in our comfortable beds.

I am sorry that you did not have a positive breakfast experience. I can assure you that our breakfast items are replenished on a regular basis to ensure that our guests receive a high quality experience. I am sorry that the team did not have the opportunity to replenish the plates as quickly as they normally would. I can confirm that we always have a full complement of team members to serve our guests.

I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the hotel for business or leisure in the near future.

Best wishes
John McLaughlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Hotel was clean breakfast and restaurant food exceptional, service from staff was excellent. Rooms cleaned every day brillian location in Manchester to shops and bars. Would stay here again if in Manchester

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at Hilton Manchester Deansgate, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Guest

We are delighted that you chose to stay with us on your recent trip to Manchester.

I am pleased that you found our location to be suitable for your needs. Manchester certainly does have ample shops and attractions for our guests to visit.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience in Podium Restaurant. We are very fortunate to have a great team of Chef’s lead by Executive Head Chef, David Gale, who create wonderful dishes for our guests to enjoy. Your kind words have been shared with the kitchen brigade.

Thank you for highlighting that you will return to stay with us and we certainly look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes
John McLaughlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

My sister decided to treat me to afternoon tea here so she booked by phone and we arrived 15 mins before our pre-arranged time.
Shown to our window seat on the 23rd floor next to a floor to ceiling glass panel , the view of Manchester was fantastic.
As soon as the food arrived we were expected to pay the whole bill!
The food was lovely. Three kinds of petite sandwiches , three delicious cakes each plus a scone, with a pot of thick clotted cream and jam.
We ordered cappacino coffees which were hot and frothy.
My sister had been before and said although the staff didn't tell you we could have as many cups of tea and coffee as we wanted , included in the price.
We ordered 2 individual pots of tea . One pot appeared , no cups , and we waited and waited before walking , finding somebody else and finally getting the remainder of the order- by then pot one was cold and stewed.
Then.......... in came the entertainment.
Numberous staff and male guests started flooding in.Next to our table they errected a large display board .. Mens Health /Urology given detailed info on products to help with such problems with the male anatomy ,followed by long tables, loads of drinks and loads more loud, middle aged men.
Nice experience........ of course all 4/5 star !!

Room Tip: unsure wouldn't sleep much after our experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babyhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at Hilton Manchester Deansgate, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to make a reservation to enjoy Afternoon at Cloud 23.

I am really pleased that you and your sister enjoyed the food served in our Afternoon Tea offering; however I am disappointed that that you encountered below standard service whilst enjoying your Afternoon Tea. The team have been made aware of your feedback to ensure that that this is not repeated.

I am so sorry that you were disturbed whilst enjoying your Afternoon Tea, the team should have used their judgement and reserved your seating away from any disturbance, please accept my apologies.

I do hope that you are able to visit us once again in the future when your visit will be perfect.

Best wishes
John McLaughlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.3 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#3 of 20 in Salford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,347 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Manchester Deansgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Manchester Deansgate

Property: Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Address: 303 Deansgate, Manchester M3 4LQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Manchester
#25 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#33 Family Hotel in Manchester
#36 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Manchester Deansgate 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Expedia, Hotelopia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Manchester Deansgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manchester Deansgate Hotel Manchester
Manchester Hilton
Hilton Deansgate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing