We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgrace and the cheek!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Ranked #41 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disgrace and the cheek!”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The window was so filthy so you could hardly see the view! This was a massive disappointment as I was looking forward to my partners expression of the view! Obviously it backfired! We didn't even have a drink out of the minibar it was full upon arrival and full on departure, but yet extra money has been took from my account so I rang them up and was told that we had a bottle of prosecco, a bottle of Chardonnay and a red bull! We don't even like wine we don't like red bull and to be honest don't even know what prosecco is! This is a disgrace and is practically robbery!! Absolute joke!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thurst1567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Hilton Manchester Deansgate, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us recently and for completing this review.

The views from the hotel are amazing and I note your comments regarding the window cleaning. We are aware that a number of windows require cleaning. Our contractors need near perfect weather conditions to operate the high level cradle to carry out these works. This is an ongoing project.

I am sorry that you were charged for items not consumed during your visit. I am confident that this was down to human error and I do hope that you accept our apologies. I do hope that following your call to the hotel that you were offered a credit, if this is not the case please contact us on 0161 870 1761 and we will gladly organise this for you.

My team and I do hope that you are able to return to stay with us in the future.

Best wishes
Laura McEwan
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,759
    1,352
    654
    329
    263
See reviews for
368
1,945
163
1,014
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (808)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I have not arrived yet, but my experience of trying to enquire about services and facilities, as well as verifying my reservation is amongst the worst I have received in my short time on this planet

Trying to find out the parking facilities seemed to be a real stretch. I called the 0161 number purporting to be the Hotel Direct - but who knows these days. It was the third individual I was transferred to who could tell me if there was a car park and the costs (not sure if £25 per day is good value - but that's for another day and another review)

Then, I had the temerity to ask to verify my booking. I was placed on hold for a long time, then someone from a cross the globe couldn't trace my name or details, I was then pin-pronged back to the reception of the hotel I had originally called - this person could at least track me down and confirm my booking.

I just hope the actual stay is better than the pre-amble. My company has made some of the arrangement and insist I stay here otherwise I think I would sleep in the car

Get your phone contact system sorted out Mr Hilton - this is not good service - or even moderately acceptable service for a world-wide-brand

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genie_v1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Hilton Manchester Deansgate, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to complete this review.

I am disappointed to receive your feedback, and as such, I would be grateful if you could provide us with your telephone number so that we may contact you at your convenience to discuss your experience in detail. Please contact Damian Gilvary on damian.gilvary@hilton.com or 0161 870 1761.

In the meantime, please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointing experience. I am only sorry you didn’t receive our normally high standards of service.

We look forward to hearing from you at your convenience.

Best wishes
Laura McEwan
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, Reading
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Excellent views from the bedrooms and good quality rooms, as you would expect from Hilton. Drinks on the 23rd floor are very special with a great atmosphere.

Dinner and breakfast was good - although I've had better, here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllaBella47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at Hilton Manchester Deansgate, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write this positive review following your recent stay with us.

I am pleased that like many other guests that you found the views from the hotel to be stunning.

I am glad that we were able to offer you all the amenities to make your stay an enjoyable and comfortable one.

My team and I really hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel when your travels bring you back to Manchester for business or leisure.

Best wishes
Laura McEwan
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I booked this hotel for an anniversary weekend, and booked a long time in advance. We were fortunate to be eligible for an upgrade at the time of booking to an executive double on the executive floor.
We were checked in promptly by a very friendly receptionist, who offered us a complimentary breakfast for us both for our anniversary which was a really welcome addition!
The room was excellent, very comfortable and really well designed. I had the best night sleep in a long long time! The bathroom had a rainfall shower cubicle, a seperate large bath, and really great toiletries. I was disappointed that there was no power socket near the bed, but to be honest, I have found this in nearly every hotel I've stayed in!
The view from the room was really excellent, unfortunately however, the windows were very dirty on the outside and although this was the 19th floor, if a hotel sells its-self on the views, the windows should be clean enough to enjoy it fully!
If you are tempted by the Cloud 23 bar, I would suggest you book into an executive room... you get access to the executive lounge on the same floor as Cloud 23, but your drinks and snacks are complimentary!
We were also very grateful and impressed to find a congratulatory message from the hotel in our room when we returned from a night out. However, I was slightly disappointed this wasn't waiting for us on our arrival as I had attempted to prebook a welcome gift by telephoning the hotel earlier in the week.
The choice of breakfast was excellent, full english and continental and very well cooked.
A little tip; if you are coming into Manchester on the train, you can use your train ticket to travel to other stations in the city. The hotel is next door to Deansgate station, but is a very long walk from Piccadilly!

Room Tip: Upgrade to an executive floor; the lounge, more spacious room and high floor makes it well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Hilton Manchester Deansgate, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest

We are delighted that you chose to stay with us to celebrate your anniversary; it was our pleasure to be able to look after you during your stay and form part of your celebrations.

Thank you booking to stay in a one of our Executive rooms which allowed you to enjoy the hospitality of the team in the Executive Lounge.

The views from the hotel are amazing and I note your comments regarding the window cleaning. We are aware that a number of windows require cleaning. Our contractors need near perfect weather conditions to operate the high level cradle to carry out these works. This is an ongoing project.

The team at Hilton Manchester Deansgate are delighted to be able to offer you friendly and helpful service and we hope that you are able to return to the hotel when your travels bring you back to Manchester.

Best wishes
Laura McEwan
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

After looking forward to coming here for a special birthday for so long I honestly wished I would have stayed at home!. Upon arrival we were told the payment would be taken straight away from my card for the room which I would have been happy to do this if I was the one paying, my mother booked the room and paid for it especially for my birthday she was told the payment would be taken from her card either when we checked it or checked out which was fine with us but this was a different story when we tried to explain this we were made to feel on the spot and very embarrassed it took about 20 minutes stood there before we even managed to get in the room, after saying I wanted to speak to a manager we were then given out room card and sent away. Having my mood already ruined from the check in experience we were told there would be something in the room for my birthday there was nothing, it took my mum to get on the phone and complain about how we were treated for them to send anything up and even when they did they shouldn't have bothered I received a lousy plate with a few pieces of fruit and several small chocolates what a joke considering my friend received a bottle of champagne when it was his birthday!. After all this we wanted to go to the cloud bar for cocktails I will not be making this mistake again after being told on the phone we wouldn't need to book we stood waiting in the queue for at least 45 minutes while people who they classes as VIPS happily pushed in front of us and went up before us I've never felt like such a second class citizen in all my life we were as good as anyone else yet we were made to feel like we shouldn't be there. After standing there for so long I said to the host it's my birthday we were told we didn't need to book and we've been stood here so long she simply said she would aim to get us up within 5 minutes she did do this but whilst I was talking to her she was very arrogant and didn't seem to care at all I was talking to her. I will not be returning to this hotel again I will be putting in a formal complaint about the way we were treated and will be informing my friends and family cannot believe how belittled you were made to feel when you spend so much money for 1 night.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Beccy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Hilton Manchester Deansgate, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to complete this review.

I am disappointed to receive your feedback, and as such, I would be grateful if you could provide us with your telephone number so that we may contact you at your convenience to discuss your experience in detail. Please contact Damian Gilvary on damian.gilvary@hilton.com or 0161 870 1761.

In the meantime, please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointing experience. I am only sorry you didn’t receive our normally high standards of service.

We look forward to hearing from you at your convenience.

Best wishes
Laura McEwan
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I booked a surprise birthday stay here for a friends birthday.
We had lunch in the Executive Lounge, dinner at Podium and enjoyed cocktails in the evening at Cloud 23.
However, having visited the Executive Lounge and Cloud 23 we noted how clear the windows were in there, compared to the windows in our room (1911) which gave a completely different view !!
I asked reception staff if there was a film over the bedroom windows for some reason and they confirmed not. I informed them that having seen the other windows our view was disappointing as the windows very obviously just very dirty.
On checking out the following day the response was not great either as I was told "I'll have to get the cleaners up there then".

The above was simply raised as a concern as this is a main feature of the hotel and certainly of our trip - it was the main reason I booked to stay.
It was not a complaint as everything else was lovely throughout our stay.
However, I am disappointed having emailed the hotel on our return twice and having heard no response whatsoever other than the automatic mandatory Thank you for staying with us.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lesleyuk66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Hilton Manchester Deansgate, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to complete this review.

I am disappointed to receive your feedback, and as such, I would be grateful if you could provide us with your telephone number so that we may contact you at your convenience to discuss your experience in detail. Please contact Damian Gilvary on damian.gilvary@hilton.com or 0161 870 1761.

In the meantime, please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointing experience. I am only sorry you didn’t receive our normally high standards of service.

We look forward to hearing from you at your convenience.

Best wishes
Laura McEwan
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We've stayed in a lot of Hiltons and this is by far one of the best in the UK. Modern, clean, executive lounge stylish and great views.
Great location and concierge extremely helpful.
Only let down was the room service... It was really expensive and very poor quality.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Caz-Windsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Hilton Manchester Deansgate, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us, we are absolutely delighted to learn that you rank us as your number 1 Hilton hotel in the UK.

I am thrilled that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed our facilities and service.

We are very fortunate to be centrally located within the city and I am glad that our location worked well for your visit to Manchester.

I am very sorry that you were disappointed by your room service order. The kitchen team are very skilled in preparing high quality dishes for our guests to enjoy and I am exceptionally sorry that we failed you during your visit. The team in the kitchen have been made aware of your comments to ensure that this is not repeated in the future. I can assure you that Hilton Manchester Deansgate is competitively priced with other hotels in the city and completed a cost analyst when putting our Room Service prices together.

The team here at Hilton Manchester Deansgate are pleased to be able to offer you a friendly service and we hope that you will be returning to stay with again.

Best wishes
Laura McEwan
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.3 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 118 in Manchester
4,994 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
0.2 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#6 of 118 in Manchester
1,610 reviews
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 118 in Manchester
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Manchester Deansgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Manchester Deansgate

Property: Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Address: 303 Deansgate, Manchester M3 4LQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Manchester
#23 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#33 Family Hotel in Manchester
#36 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Manchester Deansgate 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Manchester Deansgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manchester Deansgate Hotel Manchester
Manchester Hilton
Hilton Deansgate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing