We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Larger than normal rooms - great views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Manchester Deansgate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Ranked #42 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Larger than normal rooms - great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2009

I stayed here with my husband who was attending a conference. Our room was on the 9th floor which gave decent views over the city. The room was much larger than normal city centre hotel rooms. The bathroom was a bit on the small side but adequate and was clean which is always a bonus. We only had breakfast in the hotel which was the usual self-service buffet. Some of the cooked breakfast food had been standing a while so was hard and inedible (black pudding, in particular). There was a good choice. My pet hate is having to stand and make your own toast - the machines never work properly and the Hilton was no exception. We did sample the Cloud 23 bar which was great, although expensive. We did enjoy the views, and could see across to Old Trafford cricket ground where Take That were performing that night. Champagne at £60 a bottle was expensive but as we were celebrating our recent marriage with friends it was unavoidable. We would stay again if in Manchester. It is a littleout of the way for the shops - probably a 20 minute walk to Harvey Nicks but as the weather was good it was not a major problem.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarrface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,645
    1,283
    626
    308
    251
See reviews for
335
1,852
151
943
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (781)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2009

Overall a very comfortable, modern, hotel with great service. I've stayed several times at this hotel for business travel and have no complaints whatsoever. It is a very nice hotel, not a resort, but efficient. The rate can vary widely, but I plan to stay here again next trip to Manchester. The bar at the top and view are worth checking out when you are here as well.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swavess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

Stayed in Hilton Deansgate 21.06.09 for a weekend break. Parking accross the road (Euro Car Parks) was £11.90 for 24hrs and plenty of spaces there. Got to reception and checked in with no fuss and given a room on the 19th floor.

Room was a decent size (smaller than rooms in the Macdonald Hotel in Piccadilly) but very clean and fantastic views. Went to the Executive Lounge and this was the best bit of the stay! You help yourself to alcoholic or non-alcoholic drinks, coffee, tea etc and a few nibbles, with plenty of seats and great views again. Free internet was also a bonus.

Went out for a meal and then cme back to Cloud 23. Was Ok, same views as you get in your room really and drinks were expensive (but nice). Nice to have been here but don't think I would return to this bar.

Would recommend upgrading to the Executive rooms just to get access to the lounge and can't wait to return here! Great hotel!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhionm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

I am staying here long term on a project for work.

Generally this hotel is fine as a base, they are happy to store a bag over the weekend to avoid lugging stuff back home. Staff are friendly and efficient and the service overall is good, however the room service food quality isn't great and the limited selection starts to get very boring after a while!

This hotel tends to get very busy so its a good idea to book well in advance as any events such as Man Utd or concerts result in it being full.

Overall a nice hotel to stay on business, would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2009

I was lucky enough to stop at this hotel for free, whilst working at a conference at the hotel for a client of mine.

I admit, that this does bias my opinion, but I'd definitely return to the hotel again for a paid stay.

With being in the city centre, the hotel has
no parking, however there's a conveniently located NCP car park over the road from the hotel.

When arriving at the hotel, the reception staff were extremely efficient and friendly, and I was soon in my 8th floor room.

As I didn't have a say in the room I got, I was allocated a twin room. That said, it was absolutely brilliant. The room had floor to ceiling windows looking over Manchester city centre.

The bathroom was luxurious, with fine towels and a relaxing bath.

The room had a mini bar and 32" LCD TV.

I didn't eat in the hotel restaurant, however the food that we were served was delicious, but did take time to arrive (we ate in a conference room on the evening of arrival)

After dinner, our group proceeded to the much talked-about Cloud Bar to pass the night away with cocktails.

The Cloud Bar is a VIP bar in the hotel and accessible via a single lift overlooked by a bouncer. There are stunning views over the city.

A double shot of sambuca cost £11, which to me is expensive, but having not paid for the hotel, I could hardly complain.

After retiring to the room rather worse for wear in the small hours, I had a comfortable night in the room. The pillows were very soft and comfortable.

I didn't make it up for breakfast, but I hear it was very good.

On a different note, the conferencing facilities were very well organised.

I would definitely return to the hotel for a short break.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LincolnAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
337 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 453 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2009

Stayed here 2 nights. Car parking over the road ( ask for hotel discount) and city centre very nearby .
Nothing wrong with the hotel, but dont book it expecting it to be out of this world because its the Hilton. I would describe it as a posh travelodge.
Although our room was clean we did find a tab end ( thats a half smoked cigarette)on the floor so attention to detail was lacking in the cleaning department - I must stress though that the room was clean.
On arrival there was short queue for reception - dont expect doors opening and red carpet treatment here.
After a night out we rang room service and was told of a very limited memu, in other words cheese and ham toasties at £7. We declined - dont expect to be fed like a king.
I would say stay here if you are paying a similar price to Holiday Inn type places as overall it is a nice hotel in a good location.
Dont plan on keeping your own booze in the fridge, its locked.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bestyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2009

I stayed here for a saturday night and got a good rate in the hotel sale they did in January. Check in was as to be expected at a 4 star hotel, efficient and polite. Valet parking only £20.00. We travelled in a group so i had booked a few rooms. The executive rooms have a slightly bigger bathroom and a larger bed but seemed no bigger than a standard room. The views are amazing from any floor so i wouldn't worry about being high up. Went to cloud 23 which was nice but way to expensive and to be honest a little overrated - £11.50 for a glass of champagne and there is a queue.
I think there are better hotels in Manchester, but its good if you get a good rate. The hotel needs to lower drinks prices, as it would be lovley to spend time in the hotel, but it would just be too expensive for most.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travel123Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.3 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#15 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.2 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#9 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Manchester Deansgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Manchester Deansgate

Property: Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Address: 303 Deansgate, Manchester M3 4LQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Manchester
#25 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#33 Family Hotel in Manchester
#36 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Manchester Deansgate 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hilton Manchester Deansgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manchester Deansgate Hotel Manchester
Manchester Hilton
Hilton Deansgate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing