We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is this the best Hitlon in the UK?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Ranked #43 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Is this the best Hitlon in the UK?”
Reviewed 30 July 2009

Third time I've stayed here and no deterioration in what was a high Hilton standard. I got a great rate on the Hilton website (Rack for Exec floor £300 gbp +) and I paid less than £150 midweek. Views from Exec lounge stupendous albeit the free breakfast is ok but a bit limited compared to Hiltons Glasgow and Waldorf London. Service is excellent and rooms brand spanking new with all the bits - big plasma etc. If visiting in summer ask for the "cool side of the hotel". Thats in temperature not trendiness. Apparently one side really catches the sun and the rooms are high in the sky witjh an entire wall of galss. I've been looked after each time I've gone and only got the news thru chatting with the staff. The "uber cool" Cloud 23 Cocktail bar sometimes has queues at the lift to access it. Book in advance for VIP express entry and bribe yourself a table by the window at night .Gaze at the whole city light panaroma and glance round inside for talent spotting. I'm normally not up for these things but liked it. Do note you get the same view free from the exec lounge. (The lights only though).

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belleraphon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,696
    1,311
    637
    314
    257
See reviews for
343
1,894
158
976
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (795)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North East England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We booked a 2 night stay here to do some shopping and exploring in Manchester before we caught a flight from Manchester Airport. We got a good deal at £75 per night for the pair of us, so we thought we may as well book up.

We were greeted by the friendly concierge who happily took our baggage from the taxi into the hotel. The entrance to the hotel is large and somewhat modern-looking although the revolving door was undergoing maintenance at the time of our stay. There is free WIFI in the lobby which is helpful. The check-in process was as pain-free as one could hope and we made our way up to our room on the 12th floor.

The room itself was immaculately clean throughout and, with floor-to-ceiling windows you really do have a great vantage point over Manchester. We would have liked to have had 2 chairs by the window table. but can't have everything! The bed was very comfy and had large modern artwork above the head of the bed.

We had the breakfast buffet included in the room price, so we went down bright and early each morning where we were greeted by friendly staff, although a lot of them seemed to be Foreign, which made a couple of them a little difficult to understand for myself and my girlfriend. The breakfast buffet is good with a large selection of cooked breakfast foods as well as fruit and continental breakfast to choose from. We were stuffed when we left the restaurant and didn't need to eat anything else until the evening which saved us some more cash along the way - it all helps!

We spent a large portion of our stay in the pool and gym facilities. The pool - whilst it is rather narrow - is still spacious enough to comfortably swim lengths in it or simply splash around and relax. There is a steam room and sauna which were both available and empty the whole time we were there. The gym is a pretty bare-bones affair, with only a handful of cardio machines but they are in good condition at least. At first we (and a lot of other people) got confused with the locker room layout, as there is a distinct lack of signposting around that area making it a little more confusing than it should be. Not a big deal, though. There is a Pro Shop which sells all swimming and gym equipment and drinks etc. which could be useful if you forget something.

Overall, we had a very enjoyable stay in this hotel and found the standard to be very good throughout. You will certainly enjoy your stay here!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Memvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We have just returned from The Hilton Manchester after staying for two nights in an Executive Plus room. We have stayed before approx eighteen months ago and had no complaints whatsoever. Unfortunately this stay was less than perfect. Only niggly things but important too. We were staying on the 16th floor which had a musty/stale smell, as did the room. The room's furniture was chipped and damaged. There was quite a lot of dust and the carpet was baggy and loose. The bathroom was spotlessly clean though although the robes left out for us were soiled and tatty. Housekeeping replaced them straight away when asked. The Executive Lounge was nice and there was a good range of drinks and snacks on offer although they did appear to be recycling the sausages from the breakfast at one point. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were attentive. Overall we enjoyed it but the room was bit of a let down. They just need to keep on top of the maintenance and make sure they are cleaned properly. The £15 charge for internet access was a shocker too.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MorrisseyfanLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Stayed here on business for one night for a conference. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and efficient and ran a large conference very well eg having all the hotel room bookings sorted so just had to pick up keys from separate desk, plenty of tables for serving buffet food at lunch time so no huge queues. Room was spacious and clean, bed comfortable, bathroon small but modern and good bath and shower. Had breakfast in room - arrived on time and food was good. Went to Cloud 23 bar - there was a queue to get up the lift but residents can go straight to the front of the queue. Great views of the city and worth trying once for the experience.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, KENT.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Having originated my life in Rochdale some 70odd years ago and leaving some 40 years ago, it is always nice to go back and experience the changes. The HILTON DEANSGATE, MANCHESTER is an ideal location to experience any changes to the town(and there are some). It is ideally situated for the Bridgewater Canal, Museum for Science& Technology, Coronation Street Set etc. etc. and a 12 minute walk to Marks & Sparks, Arndale Centre etc. etc. We stayed at the Hilton for 3 nights B&B on a slightly better than 1/2 price offer in conjunction with SAGA and took advantage of the executive class upgrade, an extra £18.78 per room per night. Well worth it. The benefits were a dedicated check in/out, access to the Executive lounge on the 23rd floor, a larger room with a larger bed. The towelling gowns and slippers were a nice touch as it saved us having to travel with our own. Access to the executive lounge was by your executive room key and they served complimentary refreshments all day. 15.30 to 20.00hrs Sun/Mon, 17.30 to 20.00hrs Fri/Sat they opened the compimentary bar serving a variety of beers and spirits and hot savoury snacks. One situation the Hilton needs to address is quite a few wily locals are aware of this feature, wait in the lobby outside the lounge and gain access when a bona fide guest opens the door. When we entered at 18.30 hrs Sat. night there were 8 people waiting to get in because their key did'nt work. I refused them access with my key but it was a futile gesture as the next guests let them in and all I received was dirty looks. Inside it was like a football match, packed, noisy and food and drink disappearing at a rate of Knots. 3 female hotel staff were replenishing as fast as they could. We felt pushed out and left for a city bar. Breakfast was plentiful and adequate for anybody's needs but the A/C was too cold. Being on B&B we needed lunch/Dinner and one of our meals was in China Town at China Buffet opposite the Chinese Arch. At lunch time it costs £6.50, the evenings more expensive, there was a good selection of food soups,main dishes and sweets and cakes and you ate as much as you liked. The staff were pleasant and efficient. The approach to it is down steps and it is crowded once in there but if you don't let this put you off you will be well satisfied. another meal was at Cafe Rouge overlooking the river. They had a local offer on which escapes me now but it was very good value and very good food, I had 1/2 chicken, my wife Sea bass fillets. If it had'nt been raining we could have sat outside, that would have been nice. Saturday we travelled by City tram to Bury to visit the world famous market. A wonderfull experience where we picked up some of my favourite delicacies unavailable in the Southern Counties. Definitely recommend Manchester and definitely recommend the Manchester Hilton Deansgate.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackhardacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2009

I stayed for 2 nights while on business. The hotel is sleek and modern. By definition there are good views from all rooms because it's a very tall building towering above all adjacent ones. The room was clean, comfortable and attractive. I joked with my colleague that one needed a degree in engineering to figure out the mechanical systems (air, shower, etc.) - I think form won out over function in some cases. Still, it was a good experience staying there. There is a lovely bar overlooking the city.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHOakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2009

We've stayed at the Hilton once a year for the last three and this is my second review. Last year was not as good as the first - but not worth mentioning. This year, it was clear that it is losing its shine.

The room was clean, but the wooden surfaces were badly scratched. Even a brown crayon could have masked these, but they were left and the room looked tatty as a result. Also, the little complimentary extras had been cut back to only a couple of bottles of shower gel. There was no iron in the room and we had to ask a couple of times and wait a few hours before they supplied one.

Cloud 23 has changed also. When we arrived, we were shown to a table with no stools - so had to stand. We asked if they had any and were told to grab one from another table when someone leaves. This attitude is OK for a pub - but a bit off-hand for a place like this. Half of the room (the bit with the glass floor) was roped off and inaccessible with no explanation why (the room was fully open last time we were here). We went in anyway to see the glass floor and were astonished that the room was half empty with many free seats. If they'd opened this part to all guests, everyone queuing downstairs would have got in with room to spare. I wonder if they restricted half - to the inconvenience of the guests - to make the place look busy.

We put the drinks on the room, which involved checking the signature on the room card against the room number. When the bill came, we'd been charged for two extra drinks. Not cheap at £8 a pop - but they removed them eventually.

Breakfast at this Hilton has always been something special - and I've commented on it in the previous review. How times change. The recession has obviously hit here as the previous sumptuous spread has been cut back to the basics. Cheap sliced bread, production-line hot food and bread rolls fresh from the freezer. Not terrible - and what you may expect at similar hotels, but nowhere near the choice and quality of previous years.

When we checked out, the bar bill for Cloud 23 had doubled. Having already been over-charged, this was inexcusable. However, the receptionist didn't believe us and insisted on searching through all the tabs in front of all the other guests. Eventually they discovered drinks booked to another room had been added to ours. How this was possible with the card-checking process is not clear.

In all, the Hilton is a decent hotel which is starting to show cracks. In the past, it felt like something special and the guests were treated accordingly. The gilt has definitely gone off the gingerbread, though.

I'd stay here again, but I wouldn't look forward to the visit like I used to.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryFXD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.3 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#8 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 117 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Manchester Deansgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Manchester Deansgate

Property: Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Address: 303 Deansgate, Manchester M3 4LQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Manchester
#26 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#33 Family Hotel in Manchester
#36 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Manchester Deansgate 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Manchester Deansgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manchester Deansgate Hotel Manchester
Manchester Hilton
Hilton Deansgate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing