We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Ranked #65 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 30 November 2011

whe have stayed at the Mercure hotel a on a number of occasions and have always found the staff to very helpful and friendly ,accommodation and food was excellent ,while the hotel is in a great location .we will most definitely stay in this hotel again

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAINTPATS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
So pleased that you have taken the time to place your review on Tripadvisor and to hear also that you will definitely return. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    708
    1,124
    648
    268
    145
See reviews for
216
1,053
165
805
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Faultless, great location, excellent accommodation, not much else you can say.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshleyVaughanWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to place your glowing review on Tripadvisor, it really is appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimbledon
Level Contributor
171 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Stayed for one night for a work conference. 10 min slow walk from Manchester Piccadilly station or if you"re feeling lazy or got luggage there"s a free shuttle bus that drops you close by. Arndale centre and other shops close by. Breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Thank you for posting your review, we really do value you taking the time to do so. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birtley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Have stayed at the Mercure(Ramada) every 3 months on business. This time my husband and I stayed for 2 nights for the Manchester Christmas Markets, so booked a better room which was huge and had a sofa in, agree it needs updating, but the bedding and towels are very clean.
Staff are very helpful, especially Panos the Maitre D on our 2nd night, a TRUE PROFESSIONAL. Meals included in the price were okay, Breakfast PLENTY choices, but only 4 choices for the mail evening meal but it was the same on both nights.All staff very helpful. Location could not be better Would recommend this hotel every time.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annerobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. They are very much appreciated and my team (especially Panos) will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was also extremely pleasing to hear that as a result of your experience this time, as well as on previous occasions, you would have no hesitation to recommend us every time.

Thanks again and we look foward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

When I stayed there the hotel was newly part of Mercure and in the process of changing over. Great location, walking distance from Train Station, plenty of shops nearby. Reception staff very friendly. Nice rooms, although standard rooms quite small, but comfortable and slept well even with the large (and sometimes rowdy) functions the hotel was holding.

Took ages to be seated in the restaurant, a few times the bar staff were assisting with the seating, and one gentleman was particularly unfriendly and unwelcoming. The waitresses were super polite and efficient in contrast once seated. The food took a while, but when it arrived it was amazing!

Overall a good stay, and I would go back, however needs some work and attention to bring it in line with the Mercure brand of service.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happynation500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay, however, I was disappointed to hear that we let ourselves down slightly in terms of the welcome that you initially experienced in the Restaurant, which I will act upon accordingly. I was glad to hear that once seated, we did redeem ourselves and you found the waitresses polite and efficient, and when your meal arrived, you thoroughly enjoyed it.

So glad to hear that you would consider returning to us and with this in mind, we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

This is one of the hotels we would stay in most often when visiting Manchester and it is usually quite reasonably priced if you watch for the deals.
Earlier this year the Ramada was bought over by the Mercure name, I think the Jarvis remains.
Unfortunately I have noticed a marked increase in the price since then.
Our last stay was around the Manchester Utd / City match and the dining room was crammed in the mornings.
The dining room is spacious and bright,overlooking Picadilly Gardens.
However the re-stocking of the breakfast items was extremely slow , with guests having to stand for some time to get their meal. Did not feel very nice.
The rooms are a little on the small size, but have all you need, toiletries supplied in Bathroom.
If you can get a good deal price wise I would recommend this hotel.Iy is very central to all you need for a Manchester visit, Buses, trams and trains all in walking distance.

Room Tip: Quieter room away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bambireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for posting your review. On a future visit to Manchester, I hope that you may consider staying with us again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Stayed here in May 2011 (as the Ramada) as part of the Thomas Cook Manchester United Package - Great location in the city, public Transport at your door - rooms were basic, but clean and well maintained. Very nice breakfast. Plus United beat Chelsea for the title - great couple of days!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us.

We trust that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 116 in Manchester
2,455 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Property: Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Address: Piccadilly Plaza Portland Street, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#40 Business Hotel in Manchester
#42 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#49 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME. The Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible from the M6 and the M60 motorways. Making it the perfect location to discover one of the livliest cities of the North. This vibrant city has a fantastic array of shops, theatres, clubs, bars and restaurants, guaranteed to meet all customers' needs. RELAX IN ONE OF OUR STYLISH ROOMS: Each of the 280 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press/iron, climate control as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded rooms are also available on request. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms. THE PLACE TO UNWIND: Enjoy a visit to ARTS Brasserie, serving modern food in stylish surroundings with a friendly atmosphere. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Brasserie Restaurant is the perfect location to unwind at the end of the day. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. THE PLACE TO MEET: The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary wi-fi access, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates. With the added benefit of natural daylight, soundproofing and climate control.Of course, its not just conferences that we're renowned for. Whether you're booking a wedding, gala dinner, private party or a company award ceremony, the International Suite is the perfect choice. Complete with its own private reception area, bar and stage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS INCLUDE: Old Trafford - Manchester United's Stadium Manchester Central, The Palace and Opera House Theatres, Manchester City Etihad Stadium/Sportscity, Imperial War Museum, Trafford Shopping Centre, Manchester Art Gallery. By rail: Manchester Piccadilly Station 1/2 mile. By Air: Manchester Airport 10 miles. Parking: Chargeable parking. Limited spaces - subject to availability. Dry gym: Free use to residential guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Manchester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing